980 Ti Owners Thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by AvengerUK, Jun 1, 2015.

  1. holystarlight

    holystarlight Master Guru

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    62
    GPU:
    Nvidia 2080 TI SLI
    Yeh I couldn't resist it for the price, and the cooling/noise on the card is amazing, the review on here also helped push me to grab it too!
     
  2. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    Was just asking a question about the card, and it was aswered.
     
  3. wrathloki

    wrathloki Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980 Ti G1
    No I mean MSI. Why wouldn't MSI use afterburner for those custom profiles on that card? Seems a bit silly to add in another program.
     
  4. Barry J

    Barry J Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,780
    Likes Received:
    128
    GPU:
    RTX2080 TRIO Super
    I agree would have been better included in afterburner
     

  5. Fusion_XT

    Fusion_XT Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080 X 2139/5400
    Hey guys,

    New to the club, came from a GTX Titan. Quick question for you all.

    See my rig <--, in GTA 5 im getting some low gpu usage. Around 75%. This is at 1080p, 4xMSAA, TXAA on, everyting else on very high.

    Fps wise is around 55~75.

    With my Titan i played at the same settings and got around the same performance but my usage was pinned at 98/99%.

    My i7 980X is running at 4.3Ghz. Is my 980X being the bottleneck?
     
  6. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,173
    Likes Received:
    1,921
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    ^
    Yep slower per core performance.
     
  7. Fusion_XT

    Fusion_XT Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080 X 2139/5400
    I know newer generation i7's are faster per core but ...Gotta be kidding me right... :bang:
     
  8. wrathloki

    wrathloki Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980 Ti G1
    GTAV seems to be very CPU intensive.
     
  9. fellix

    fellix Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    KFA² GTX 1080 Ti
    I have X58 + Xeon X5650 (3.6GHz) and my 980 Ti is loaded ~98% in GTA5. The CPU is barely sweating.
     
  10. Fusion_XT

    Fusion_XT Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080 X 2139/5400
    Im getting lost!.. The xenon is basically my 980X right?
     

  11. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,173
    Likes Received:
    1,921
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Well 980Ti asks for more driver/gpu/dx api power and cpu just can't keep up, I saw GTA5 grass distance and view distance can be cpu bound. Unless you add extra AA and ingame downsampling..



    Most newer games use the latest/faster cpu instructions, looks like GTA5 uses AVX too - saw higher cpu load and temp if I used my own music.
    Serious Sam3 mp, Crysis 2, 3 mp, HardReset, X3-TC bench is also a good example, lol by X3-TC (part 1) it bottlenecks even Haswell @ 4.7ghz.
     
  12. Fusion_XT

    Fusion_XT Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080 X 2139/5400
    Ok i got something messed up here, im using AB and i have Power and Usage under the same name.

    So i watched it and i got the 2 of them mixed up. Im getting 90/98% usage but my power is only at 60~75%.

    :bang: sorry.

    So ok usage is ok then, but im not getting the most out of the card. I have a Asus 120hz monitor, running vsync but stil only getting 75%


    Edit:

    Witcher 3
    99% usage and 84% Power.

    Heaven 4.0 (Extreme settings)
    99% usage and ~84/88%
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2015
  13. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    Got the gaming 980ti sli up to 1493mhz on stock voltage.
    Nah stock voltage did not work dropped it to 1455/7712 for now.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2015
  14. Spets

    Spets Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    I'm looking at going SLI, just unsure if my 1000w PSU will be enough considering everything is overclocked. SLI 980 Ti's need 900w but I also have a wireless adapter, SSD, 3 HDD's and like to overclock.
    What do you guys think, change PSU to something a bit more or would I be fine?

    Screw it I'll just get a new PSU.
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2015
  15. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    243
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    Where did you read 980 Ti SLI need 900w?
     

  16. Spets

    Spets Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
  17. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,594
    Likes Received:
    243
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
  18. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    Your fine with current psu
     
  19. Spets

    Spets Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,070
    Likes Received:
    166
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
    Alright, thanks. I'll pick up the second card on Monday :D
     
  20. wrathloki

    wrathloki Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980 Ti G1
    I could run 2 overclocked 290s on my 1000 watt PSU so you're good.
     

Share This Page