970 memory allocation issue revisited

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by alanm, Jan 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    nah, the guy needs to learn to use paragraphs. I couldn't read that wall of text.
     
  2. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    If I didnt have 2 780ti I would buy a couple 970/980 out of spite.
     
  3. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,248
    Likes Received:
    327
    GPU:
    GTX
    after the winter I am willing to trade a 290x for a 970 ref. for ref. or custom for custom(lightning)
     
  4. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    you might regret that move later on into the year, when you need a leaf blower :p
     

  5. death_samurai

    death_samurai Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Palit 970 GTX jetstream
    I just stumbled on this issue just today by reading about it on another forum and decided to come here to visit and it's already been out for a few days. Well does this affect one's gaming? Since my monitor isn't a 4k monitor i suppose it's fine for those on 1920x1080 or 1920x1200 res.
     
  6. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    you tell us. does it affect your gaming?
     
  7. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    208
    GPU:
    Strix 2080 Ti OC
  8. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    just correct myself on that maxed out setting in arma3 36fps in tanks part ram peaked only to 3.4gig then sat round 3.346gig so no stutter smooth fps no lag I couldn't get it to go over 3.4gig I try diff map later.

    forgot to add i was using max dsr setting in game. 3840x2160
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2015
  9. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,248
    Likes Received:
    327
    GPU:
    GTX
    lol I just turn the fan to 45% run gpuz render and its 94c in a minute or two but I get better with heating 55% fan and 92c mmmmmmm so cozy in here now

    I sweat when I get cf going lol
     
  10. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    See? AMD always give you a 2 for 1 product. a gpu, an ac unit, in some cases also a leafblower. I really don't see why some people hate them. TK you should be ashamed.
     

  11. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    I don`t hate them just prefer sli.
     
  12. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,974
    Likes Received:
    1,842
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Some random low vram thoughts, for those who think 3.5gb "faster" ram won't cut it anymore,

    I had both 570 and 580GTX and I hit vram limit by both and didnt stutter, they slowly capped the wall ~ 5-10mb lower and that stopped all stutters by games that might have had it, guess to reserve for extra stream pre-allocation or for extra driver overhead, 570gtx 1272 -1278mb, 580gtx 1530- 1534mb

    Same thing now with 780gtx and 3072mb, max i saw was ~3064mb in SoM.

    I wouldn't worry much about this current 3.5gb "limit", it will get fixed for sure, driver or bios, maybe its even Windows issue (mostly win7).
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2015
  13. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    I don't miss the 2 powercolor 290x's full leaf blower edtions the noise was that bad it was shameful when I showed my mates I admit they did take the piss but hay glad they where faulty and exchanged for the 970's lol
     
  14. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,248
    Likes Received:
    327
    GPU:
    GTX
    you don't hate them my dumpa the poor 7980 card i lent you came back all sorts of messed up you totally hate them don't lie:)

    not that I blame you with all the black screen crap they have to offer at the other camp
     
  15. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,248
    Likes Received:
    327
    GPU:
    GTX
    I did not even think that info was on the box

    wow a 380x? wowsers you might get it to work in the summer you Canadians stick tight
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2015

  16. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    thing is even if Nvidia did a recall what could you get that's as good for the same money ??

    the shop I got mine from would be well p!ssed off, because he already gave me a full refund of £840 for the 2 r9 290x that I had for 7 months let alone say hay fella guess what after 5 months you now have to give me another full refund that's 12 months of free high end hardware lol

    now I wouldn't mind if upgrading every year went like this .. bargin suppose its fair for beta testing hardware for them lol
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2015
  17. Gaizokubanou

    Gaizokubanou Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,247
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7970
    This is the weird situation... **** sucks that they were lying but in the end it doesn't even really matter?
     
  18. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    no it doesn't really matter if you're in the market for one of the high end gpus for a good price.
     
  19. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    sure... but here's one for you.. if nvidia said at the launch that the 970 had 1 rop. would you still have bought it? or not?
     
  20. death_samurai

    death_samurai Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,824
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Palit 970 GTX jetstream
    Nope it doesn't when it's on 1920 x 1200 but on shadows of mordor i find that i can increase the res upwards to 200% even on my 24 inch monitor and the performance drops obviously which is normal and i believe that is the 4k res which needs an sli to run smoothly.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page