970 memory allocation issue revisited

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by alanm, Jan 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,106
    Likes Received:
    1,246
    GPU:
    Asus RX6700XT
    I couldn't take a petition seriously that looks like it was written by someone in Kindergarten.... That's just me though.
     
  2. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,495
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Slightly confused, if it can't access both at the same time the why are there claims of performance tanking once it goes over 3.5GB?

    None of this would affect me getting this card anyway, even after this I still wouldn't pay the extra for a 980.

    I would not complain about a sweetener from Nvidia though.
     
  3. 53RKZ

    53RKZ Banned

    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4600
    SuperAverage, where did you get these sheets from? I'd like to get my hands on the full reviewer's guide
     
  4. WoenK

    WoenK Active Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    Please reread it again and then explain what GIGABIT PER SECOND (GB/s) have to to with a 256 Bit wide bus. One is speed and the other has something to do with adressing.
    They have not changed the bus, only the 0.5 GB part are accessed at a slower speed because of a part of the chip is not functioning and they used a workaround to use the chip. Would they have not done that, they would have to throw the chip away.
    Would that part have worked correctly, the 970 would have been a 980.

    And from the infos on Anandtech normaly you should have never noticed anything wrong, it is a cut down 980 and behaves like one.
    People nitced it quite possibly by accident or rather...Nvidia felt that what they noticed caught them in the act and it was due to something completely else.
     

  5. SuperAverage

    SuperAverage Master Guru

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Gigabyte xtreme 1080
    Because it has to interrupt one feed to get to the other.
     
  6. SuperAverage

    SuperAverage Master Guru

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Gigabyte xtreme 1080
    They're around. I don't have the whole thing.

    Just google for gtx 970/980 reviewer's guide.
     
  7. SuperAverage

    SuperAverage Master Guru

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Gigabyte xtreme 1080
    Looked at a few other pages of the guide, some of the 970 spiel appeared to be a cut and paste from the 980 spiel, to the point of where they actually missed changing "980" to "970".

    Was in reference to memory system...
     
  8. Headd

    Headd Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX970
    Dude just read this i dont know what else you neeed to understand.
    196GB/s=224bit on 7Ghz memory
    28GB/s=32bit on 7Ghz memory
    GTX970 cant use both at same time and if gtx970 cant use them both at same time how it is 256card with 224GB/s bandwidth?
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2015
  9. rflair

    rflair Don Coleus Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,337
    Likes Received:
    832
    GPU:
    5700XT
    Yes 224bit card.
     
  10. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2015

  11. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
  12. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,109
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    They also state the 980 is affected as well?
     
  13. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,495
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
  14. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    They're saying the 970/980 is affected by low GPU usage lol

    Funny, I get 99% out of mine fairly regularly, unless the game is pap
     
  15. Turanis

    Turanis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,780
    Likes Received:
    489
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RX500
    Feels like false advertising.I was so close to buy this card...
    Feel sorry for the guys who buy this card but not sorry for nvidia lying gamers.

    They said 256bit but actually is 224bit,less L2 cache even than GTX750.
    In games less than 3.5GB are used if are unlucky and one game want more than 3.5 Vram then expect stuttering. :(
     

  16. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    lol oh dea this is getting really silly what next?
     
  17. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,562
    Likes Received:
    1,634
    GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    People are just on a witch hunt looking for cash back or freebies me thinks because of this whole 970 thing
     
  18. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,495
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    don't feel sorry for me, my 970 is twice as fast as your 270. I'm ok.
     
  19. Twiddles

    Twiddles Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,155
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    MSI 2080 2190-7550
    Don't forget the bait!
     
  20. Major Melchett

    Major Melchett Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 280X @ 1100/1500
    This is how far the wrong ROP specs go.

    [​IMG]

    I can maybe understand the mistake on the spec sheets/info sent to reviewers, but on the info reported in GPU-Z? - that's pretty weird.

    Is GPU-Z reporting the wrong specs for every 970?.

    EDIT.
    Seems its coming from a database and not the card itself - so fair enough.
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2015
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page