970 memory allocation issue revisited

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by alanm, Jan 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    has anyone one looked at the source code for this exe file ? im sure it can be downloaded from git-hub
     
  2. Kashinoda

    Kashinoda Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD R9 Fury
    What a cringe worthy post :puke2:
     
  3. SuperAverage

    SuperAverage Master Guru

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Gigabyte xtreme 1080
    The validity of the program in regards to the issue at hand is null.

    The author himself has said so, and even if he hadn't said so, and even had it worked as intended, the variable conditions it could be run under (that is, not a controlled environment) made it useless.
     
  4. WoenK

    WoenK Active Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    I do not believe we will EVER get an real answer, but I am not sure if a real specialised piece of software could test it.
    I doubt anyone would write some software that runs without an OS just for testing though because basicly one would have to write something OS-like from ground up. Not even sure if the BIOS does not also already use a few hooks in VRAM.
    It is simply not worth the effort to write something like that for the public, something like that only has some uses in manufacturing and runs on highly specialised hardware.
     

  5. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    the whole thing about this issue is and I said it before , is the fact this software is not an official peace of software by Nvidia to test there hardware.
    If the game is playing bad then just adjust settings like always until game is playable, its aways been that way. normaly because your pushing the cards or both system and cards beyond there there max limit...
    I more starting to believe its all a load of software reporting bull and error in software not a hardware level... how long have Nvidia been making gfx cards longer than this exe files been floating around, I never 100% trust what software tells me about my system setup anyway due bugs and other software that may be installed.
     
  6. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    oh just want to laff at those who say they going sue Nvidia LOL maybe Nvidia should counter sue them for misinformation and trying to cause the company financial harm :)
     
  7. omnimodis78

    omnimodis78 Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080FTW
    Seriously, what's up with the spectrum of opinions?! We now have official word about what's really happening, nearly all of us can agree that it's a non-issue in real world gaming under typical scenarios - heck, I could choke my card as easily as running benchmarks at absolute highest settings, so what, I should be angry at NVIDIA over that too? The 970 is not only a great card, but is at this point perhaps the best value also. Yeah it sucks that NVIDIA wasn't clear about this situation so that some of you could have made an educated decision about skipping it and going straight to the 980, but lesson learned on all your parts I suppose. Sell your 970, take a hit, but apply the salvage value towards the purchase of the 980 and move on.
     
  8. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
  9. harney

    harney New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16gb
    Hi All new here

    not one for posting in forums much but would like to add my bit...

    I run a small firm selling specialized gaming systems

    I have had over 26 clients so far who have purchased gaming systems off me that have contacted myself over the past 2 weeks regarding this issue with there 970's ...this number is increasing by the day

    There stating there is an issue allocating memory above 3gb at full speed i have since run some tests on some of the 970 cards i have stock and all show up with this issue... now i ran the same test on a 980 and no problem was found so it does seem to be an issue with the 970..As we know this allready

    Since the launch of the 970 i have built & sold over 100 pc's with that card so as you can imagine i am very concerned with these findings...

    I have two buyers so far demanding to return there pc's for full refund as they feel they have been miss sold a product..as you can imagine this is not good at all


    So unfortunately for me i have to take this matter very seriously ..

    Yes i understand the cards come with 4gb as advertised but the truth is as we all know this is not the case ...

    My supplier has told me to hang tight until they get full confirmation re this issue from the manufacture on this matter ...

    In the mean time i have peeps screaming at me to put it blunt...
    this whole saga has spread like wild fire and for me is causing a problem and for other small firms alike...
     
  10. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    all I can say is I feel sorry for ya, if true

    best advise is to say waiting for confirmation from Nvidia and you will update them on issue when you have been informed .. what else can you do, might not seem grat customer relations but its out of your hands for the time being

    you need your suppler you give you facts on returns as this is only been tested by people at home and how many of them really understand how the software works or should work ..

    if this all turns out to be bullsh** how stupid will your customers feel and those who keep shouting about it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2015

  11. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    now if I was a hacker I would of jumped on the band wagon with a virus saying Nvidia vram fix or test tool then the virus would be spreading like a wild fire rite now lol
     
  12. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,273
    Likes Received:
    345
    GPU:
    GTX
    I think your full of crap and if what you say is true you should stop building rigs and learn a little more about hardware,,,,,since this issue arised then your customers bitched lol your too funny....what happened to the 3 months before it all was ok?

    they got what they paid for, they cheaped out and passed on the 980


    *** I have to stop posting I seem like a nv troll
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2015
  13. harney

    harney New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    16gb
    Full of crap?

    This is the exact reason i do not post on forums is peeps like you ...

    Good luck.
     
  14. Darkest

    Darkest Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,121
    Likes Received:
    100
    GPU:
    HD7950
    I'd like to see some supporting evidence for your claim, I imagine it shouldn't be difficult. It sucks if true, but I'm having issues believing it if I'm totally honest.

    PS: I mean evidence you actually build and sell gaming PC's for a living and have had complaints, as well as in regard to the testing you've done. As what you've stated contradicts several reliable and trustworthy sources.
     
  15. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,495
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Oh man, just got in from my local Tesco, thought I bought enough food for the next few days but now that I'm reading this, I'm going back to get some popcorn. I don't think I'll even have to drink in the next few days. This thread will entertain me more than enough.
     

  16. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    and thinking about it you would only have to change gfx cards for replacements not there whole system as the rest of the system is fine.. but I don't believe the cards are at fault .. im guessing its just a software bug ..
     
  17. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,328
    Likes Received:
    2,461
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    What "tests" have you run? The Nai test to base your conclusion? If so, then FAIL on your part.
     
  18. WoenK

    WoenK Active Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    They will surely not feel stupid. They noticed the "problem" the moment they read about it and all the sudden had it before. They will not admit that it was just their imagination, most will even say that Nvidia is just covering the error up and that it is a conspiracy.
     
  19. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,273
    Likes Received:
    345
    GPU:
    GTX
    I have great luck I got 4 980's more like good luck to you
     
  20. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    if you are being honest then a friendly email to all your effected customers telling them you are aware of reports of an issue and are waiting for it to be confirmed by your supplier if proven to be faulty you are cover by your warranty so don't worry you will keep them updated as soon as your are.
    anyone who carrys on spatting I wouldn't want there custom anyway lol.. probs a spoiled kid.

    you have to make them understand that reports from forums do not make it fact until proven by real tech's.

    if we believed every forum post hell that means elvis really is still alive he's been reported everywhere lol
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2015
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page