970 memory allocation issue revisited

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by alanm, Jan 23, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pbvider

    pbvider Master Guru

    Messages:
    989
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX
    ^ Yeah,don`t worry ,you will not see any money back from nVIDIA.I wonder if the older gen. cardz,Kepler, have the same problem...
     
  2. VultureX

    VultureX Banned

    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX970 SLI
  3. UZ7

    UZ7 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,523
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    GB Vision 3080 10GB
    lol something like this?
    [​IMG]

    taken from: http://www.overclock.net/t/1537725/...o-gtx-970-3-5gb-memory-issue/50#post_23452598

    If they had a 3.5 and a 4GB version of the same card I would still pony up for the 4GB... but when they have "4GB" w/ 3.5GB fast/.5GB slow then I dunno, but in the back of my head when I'm playing games and I see slow down on a game that uses more than 3.5GB.. it'll be like ohhh its slow because the ram is slow :/
     
  4. cpy2

    cpy2 Active Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    30
    GPU:
    ****
    So far 670GTX have this problem and some 5xx ti card reports 4000TB/s or 4 000 000GB/s in this benchmark. Someone fked up here!
    Looks like x70 and lower got ripped off!
     

  5. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Welcome to the forum, your comments haven't gone unnoticed .:)

    What did u want to test exactly?
     
  6. FrAnTiC

    FrAnTiC Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus STRIX GTX1070 OC
    Well I am a little bit dissapointed from the outcome of this situation especially from NVIDIA's attitude but it is still a great card with great performance and I'm very happy with it.And yes I'd buy it anyway.
     
  7. Cakefish

    Cakefish New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 980M 4GB
    Does this mean that all cut down GM204s are affected by this design decision to segment the VRAM allocation? Or is it because desktop 970 has odd number of SMMs (13) while all mobile GM204s have an even number of SMMs (12, 10, 8)?
     
  8. FrAnTiC

    FrAnTiC Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus STRIX GTX1070 OC


    Nice one
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2015
  9. Garra

    Garra Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Gigabyte G1
    The VGA VRAM.

    thanks.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2015
  10. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,495
    Likes Received:
    267
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    If this is officially confirmed by Nvidia then it is quite crap and they have been dodgy about it.

    Would it have affected the purchase though?
    Definetly not as there was no other card I wanted, a 980 didn't look like good value and a 780 has even less vram.
     

  11. Öhr

    Öhr Master Guru

    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    AMD RX 5700XT @ H₂O
  12. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,347
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
  13. Headd

    Headd Active Member

    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    GTX970
    no its old bios from 21.1 i think
    I dont think this can be fixed Its hardware problem.
     
  14. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
  15. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Even though it's been copypasted into frontpage news I think I'll wait till Hilbert or Manuel verify it as legit. I'd rather trust them than unsourced material from another site.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2015

  16. tarasis

    tarasis New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Gaming GTX 970
    There is a new one dated the last couple of days. I just installed it yesterday.
     
  17. stevevnicks

    stevevnicks Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    Don't need one
    Nvidia has been looking into the issue and has now issued the following statement:


    The GeForce GTX 970 is equipped with 4GB of dedicated graphics memory. However the 970 has a different configuration of SMs than the 980, and fewer crossbar resources to the memory system. To optimally manage memory traffic in this configuration, we segment graphics memory into a 3.5GB section and a 0.5GB section. The GPU has higher priority access to the 3.5GB section. When a game needs less than 3.5GB of video memory per draw command then it will only access the first partition, and 3rd party applications that measure memory usage will report 3.5GB of memory in use on GTX 970, but may report more for GTX 980 if there is more memory used by other commands. When a game requires more than 3.5GB of memory then we use both segments.

    We understand there have been some questions about how the GTX 970 will perform when it accesses the 0.5GB memory segment. The best way to test that is to look at game performance. Compare a GTX 980 to a 970 on a game that uses less than 3.5GB. Then turn up the settings so the game needs more than 3.5GB and compare 980 and 970 performance again

    http://techreport.com/news/27721/nvidia-admits-explains-geforce-gtx-970-memory-allocation-issue

    so no bugs here nothing to see pls move on ...
     
  18. Garra

    Garra Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980 Gigabyte G1
    So, I did the test...

    My VGA has the same problem?

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Pandelas

    Pandelas Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970 dual x
    I think this is a great example for the buyers to reconsider where their money goes, about Intel's and Nvidia's tactics. What a shame
     
  20. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    DWM can't be disabled in W8.1, hence the reason why your bandwidth drops off at the end.
    The only way of testing without the results being skewed is with DWM turned off, and that can only be done in W7.

    If your bandwidth dropped to 12mb/s in game your fps would come to a standstill no doubt.....as long as your gameplay is fine I wouldn't worry about it, but that's just me....



    According to these benchmark scores at TechReport, there isn't really a problem.....
    http://techreport.com/news/27721/nvidia-admits-explains-geforce-gtx-970-memory-allocation-issue
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2015
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page