9.7 rc3 (8.63)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by rflair, Jun 23, 2009.

  1. obiwan07

    obiwan07 Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD/NVidia
    The new CCC is real, you can easily install it on vista/seven.
    If you don't believe it, you can find it in the CCC directory of the driver.

    [​IMG]

    The old CCC was way better.
     
  2. raddy

    raddy New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EP 43 DS 3 4GB
    how i can install the driver on windows 7 ?!
     
  3. vebero

    vebero Member Guru

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS HD 5750 850/1075MHz
    :eek:

    Oops :O Looks like the new design is real, but it sucks. I don't see Saturation slider anymore. :(
     
  4. chuuey

    chuuey Guest

    i must say i really have the CCC ;) in terms of design it looks really bad ;) nvidias control panel isn't the best as well, it's just amazing why they cannot have a designer make something clean, fast, and functional ;) and is that damn .net programming of this app really necesary.. come on ;)
     

  5. Tranzmit

    Tranzmit Member Guru

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS HD 7970 X Turbo
    click on desktops and displays and right click on the monitor icon and click configure and there is the color sliders and avivo color
     
  6. Lozeritis

    Lozeritis Member Guru

    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    (2x) ATI 4870 1GB XFire
    Couldn't force these drivers in on my Win7 64bit... Error's out saying something about this driver does not support your version of windows etc.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2009
  7. Pyr0

    Pyr0 Master Guru

    Messages:
    592
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti FTW3
    maybe cos they are 32bit drivers :rolleyes:
     
  8. retiredat44

    retiredat44 Master Guru

    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Nvidia 2080-ti 11 G
    Cat 9.6 was a crap release. Too many little graphics problems in WinXP and my Radeon 2900. I can't wait for 9.7, but really would prefer to wait for the official 9.7 Cat release in a few weeks. I hate uninstalling and re-installing.

    btw, why are thr 9.7 RC3 85.6 mb? Why so large?

    also, I know I do not need the latest video drivers with an older video card, but I also have an install of Win7 RC on a sperate hard drive.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2009
  9. GhostXL

    GhostXL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,084
    Likes Received:
    54
    GPU:
    Merc 319 6800 XT
    Not true. Look at Rflair's original post. It says XP 32/64 bit. It is because XP 64 coding is different from Vista/7 64 bit, and driver signing is another issue if not disabled. This may be another problem.
     
  10. The General

    The General Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    FirePro W5000 2GB
    [​IMG]

    As i said, using Vista 32bit, install the XP drivers perfectly fine on my System. XP drivers are about 30% faster than Vista. So it looks like i will be using XP drivers for now on Vista 32bit and i love the new CCC.
     

  11. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    5700XT
    30% wtf? :S how?,


    you dont have dx10 anyways right?
     
  12. The General

    The General Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    FirePro W5000 2GB
    Copy and paste from another forum:

    Just played GTA 3
    Using Vista drivers, if i didn't put on " frame limiter " the game will drag horrible and stutter, but using XP drivers , i can leave off Frame Limiter and still get between 40-50 frames, with no stutter.

    Crysis Warhead 1280x1024 AAX2 Medium to low settings , i can't believe this, but WOW, i never got this performance using Vista drivers at this scene. I can even record now at 1280x1024 which was impossible before.

    http://www1.picturepush.com/photo/a/1905629/img/gamefolder/Crysis-2009-06-27-23-50-15-24.png
    http://www5.picturepush.com/photo/a/1905628/img/gamefolder/Crysis-2009-06-28-00-05-59-99.png


    So far i only tested out 4 games, all 4 games i get double or triple the performance now. I am really amaze at how good Warhead is running. But see the thing is, i always believe that XP was faster in gaming than Vista and well point proven. I am just glad that XP drivers work on Vista 32bit :wanker:
    I didn't have any trouble installing them too.

    Yes i do. I am using Vista 32bit/DirectX10.
     
  13. raddy

    raddy New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EP 43 DS 3 4GB
    and how i can install these drivers on my win 7 x64 ?!
     
  14. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,562
    Likes Received:
    2,958
    GPU:
    MSI 6800 "Ref"
    Does that even work properly what with the WDDM stuff and such (Vista using 1.0 W7 using 1.1)? interesting but I'm a bit sceptical though if it works for you and increases performance without any noticeable issues then it's a nice discovery. :)
     
  15. The General

    The General Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    FirePro W5000 2GB
    Well what i did, go to device manager install them that way, don't use setup. And after i got done install from device manager, i went to go install the CCC by using the CCC setup.exe and everything is working normal. I am using Vista 32bit, it should work the same way on Win7. I never plan to use that OS, so i am not too sure about how things work on it.

    If talking to me. whats WDDM?
    And yes lol nice discovery. Its like i am using XP perfomance with Vista install. And yea no issues, but everytime i watch a video in bsplayer, it says something about, no caption was found and the video plays normal. Not sure what that is about.

    Oh and another issue i found, when playing warhead, i can't record at 800x600, my monitor signal shuts off for some reason, but i can hear the game running. But i can record just fine at 1024x768 or 1280x1024.
     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2009

  16. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,393
    Likes Received:
    1,675
    GPU:
    6800XT/3080Ti
    Really... 9.6 is being wondeful for me so far. TF2 now plays stupidly fast with over 200fps even on big servers. Crysis now never dips below 45fps. And GTAIV plays at 60fps for most of the time, slowing to around 48fps whilst first loading.
     
  17. GhostXL

    GhostXL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,084
    Likes Received:
    54
    GPU:
    Merc 319 6800 XT
    9.6 is treating me very well also, except for Overlord 2. The card gets abnormally warm playing this, and the fan spazzes out for unknown reasons. Only game I see this in too, and it came out after 9.6 release. So I hope 9.7 resolves this issue.
     
  18. ForgedReality

    ForgedReality Master Guru

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD4870x2OC + 9600GT PhysX
    Sounds like it's not letting the card know it's going into a 3d mode, and so the fan never spins up until it gets too hot, then it hits 100% to keep it from exploding. Try manually setting the fan speed.
     
  19. The General

    The General Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    FirePro W5000 2GB
    Just to let everyone know, the 9.7 drivers are WHQL

    Driver Version 6.14.10.6973
    Driver Details 8.63-090610a-082777E-ATI
    Driver Date 6-10-2009
    Driver WHQL Certified true
     
  20. doodle333

    doodle333 Master Guru

    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD7870 2Gb
    do you meen there on there website as i just checked and showing 9.6
     

Share This Page