9.3's are up

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by m.3ck, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,173
    Likes Received:
    2,004
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    hmm got these installed on Win7.
    indeed the 2nd clockbug is still there. creating a new profile doesnt work anymore for me :(

    -edit- fixed with a reboot.

    testing so far.

    opengl bug is fixed.
    jericho seems to run smoother.
    farcry2 runs a bit worse. crysis warhead now has stuttering :(
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2009
  2. salanos

    salanos Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX980 4GB (Ref.)
    Should I install 8.12 or 9.3 for Vista x64 for my 4870X2?
     
  3. buddyfriendo

    buddyfriendo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    Try 9.3, if it doesn't work for you then give 8,12 a try.
     
  4. Acid Twin

    Acid Twin Active Member

    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire ATi 4870 X2 2GB
    Microskipping in HAWX now :/
     

  5. buddyfriendo

    buddyfriendo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,408
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    [​IMG]

    ?
     
  6. Project2501

    Project2501 Master Guru

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS EAH4870 DK TOP
    Anyone else have issues with The Last Remnant? I'm getting weird blackish texture pop-ins everyone once in a while that last only a few milliseconds. It's not very noticeable but it's still annoying. It happened on 9.2 and now it's doing it on 9.3

    No other games have ever given me issues with this 4850 :bang:
     
  7. masterchan777

    masterchan777 Master Guru

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 OC
    Can anyone post a detailed workaround for the bloody 2D/3D bug on 4870X2?
     
  8. Exodite

    Exodite Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,048
    Likes Received:
    224
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 56
    That's excellent news!

    Just got my 4870 back from RMA so as soon as I can be arsed to swap chassis again I'll try it out myself.

    DVXA not working with MPC:HC the last couple of revisisions have been one of my pet peeves though so this sounds good.

    Oh, I also sent back a red PCB Sapphire with the original cooler and got back a blue PCB one with the new, non-reference, cooler so this might be a good week. :)
     
  9. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,173
    Likes Received:
    2,004
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    have a look at this

    http://articles.directorym.co.uk/Radeon_HD_4870_Overview-a1033482.html

    i set both to 307/300 btw.

    remember to activate the profile , then reboot. or it wont work for 9.3. (atleast for me it did)

    i only changed clockspeeds with this. for fanspeeds i used rivatuner. hope this helps :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2009
  10. diddly

    diddly Active Member

    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    KFA2 GTX 970 Infin8
    thanks, sounds like 9.3 has something going for it. I'll give it a try as I play TF2 too.:) BTW I'm on XP SPK3
     

  11. nutyo

    nutyo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,589
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vapor-X HD5870
    You might want to try to uninstall the drivers, do a driver sweep/clean in safe mode and then reinstall the drivers.
    Unlock the ATi Overdrive tab.
    Create a Profile, naming it whatever you want, making sure that the profile is only for ATi Overdrive.
    Save the profile but don't activate it.
    Then go to C:/users/<username>/Appdata/Local/ATi/ACE/Profiles.
    There will be an xml file named whatever you named the profile.
    Edit these registers.
    [​IMG]
    These are mine so the actual numbers will be different.
    Make sure the 'Want_0' values are not the default ATi ones. Even if you change them a little. The rest can be left at default.
    Save and close the xml file.
    Open up CCC and activate the profile.
    Reboot computer.

    If after that it doesn't work give ATi support an earful. Best of luck.
     
  12. vbetts

    vbetts Don Vincenzo Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,128
    Likes Received:
    1,703
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    This just makes me want to go back to vista 32-bit or something...D:
     
  13. TDurden

    TDurden Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 390 Nitro
    How do you know it's my problem? You dont even have the same card, not to mention OS might be different too.
     
  14. TDurden

    TDurden Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 390 Nitro
    Yes, Desktop icons are messed up here too.
    When screen refreshes on drive change
     
  15. ezodagrom

    ezodagrom Master Guru

    Messages:
    599
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1660 Ti 6GB
    Those that have problems with the HD4870X2 (the 2d/3d bug or whatever it is), just use the the oldest drivers where it worked (8.12? I don't know if it had that problem in an old version of CCC, since I never used a X2 card, but if it worked fine on an old version, the ones that have problems could just use it).
    Those that have the shadow problem on wow, just use the 9.2 until a new one is released...
    It's not like we're forced to upgrade to the most recent drivers, right? ._.

    Anyone that has problems that didn't exist in a previous version can just go back to that old version and wait until a new one (9.4) is released...
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2009

  16. Quicks

    Quicks Master Guru

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Red Devil RX 470 / 4GB
    Ati's every second driver seems good

    8.10 good
    8.11 sucked
    8.12 good
    9.1 sucked
    9.2 good
    9.3 sucks again ?

    Guess I'll be waiting for the 9.4 then
     
  17. salanos

    salanos Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX980 4GB (Ref.)
    I think I'll stick with 8.12 for now...
     
  18. Liniuxs

    Liniuxs Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI HD5770
    You know it's funny, but true. They put all time in bugfix or couples features, if they have just couple bugfixing work they doing performance improvement. Maybe they have small team, I don't know, but need put more money for drivers.
     
  19. Sharoth

    Sharoth Master Guru

    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Aorus RTX 2080 OC
    Agreed.. And not only the shadow bug, but in crysis, the damn game just bombs after loading a save game. Back to 9.2 for me...
     
  20. El3ctro

    El3ctro Active Member

    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SapphireHD4890@960\4675
    Huh am still on 9.1 they gave me best performance and IQ on MSI HD4870 OC

    i dunno bout 9.3 but seems there was a lot of buzz bout them...guess that all for nothing.
     

Share This Page