1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

8x 30GB OCZ Core Series V2 Raid0 test and benchmarks

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by chispy, Feb 19, 2009.

  1. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    890
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    Test Set Up:
    -------------
    Vista 32bit full install SP1
    Asus Rampage extreme Bios 1104
    i7 965 @ 4.14Mhz on SS ( Batch #3838B044 Pack date 12/17/08 )
    Corsair Dominators GT 2GB x3 2000 @ 968 7-8-7-20 1T
    XFX GTX 285 xxx @ 756/1620/1472Mhz on H2O
    Adaptec Raid 5805 512MB DDR2 cache PCIx8 Raid0 256k stripe
    8x 30GB OCZ Core Series V2 SSds in raid0 256k Stripe
    PC Power & Cooling 1200w


    [​IMG]
    By chispy at 2009-02-18

    [​IMG]
    By chispy at 2009-02-18

    [​IMG]
    By chispy at 2009-02-18
     
  2. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,750
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    And what are you using this beasty array for?
     
  3. DSK

    DSK Banned

    Messages:
    17,919
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD5770/BenQ G2220HD
    Indeed thats actually F**ked how fast that is.

    Also i'm guessing this helps in game loading times ?

    any chance you could run a bench?
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2009
  4. sdamaged99

    sdamaged99 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    Inno3d GTX1080 Ti
    Would probably end up reinstalling your games on that a fair few times :)
     

  5. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    890
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580

    Hiya my good old friend :) , im testing new set up for PCMark05 WR bench , PCMark Vantage WR bench and also it will be used for my gaming OS as everything loads instantly in games , i have noticed the huge bottleneck the old hard drives are with a high end rig so the only way to overcome that bottleneck are SSds ,SSds are the future and the future its now. Good day
    m8.

    Angelo.
     
  6. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    890
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    @Kylser -i will run some benchies once i found the optimal Stripe size on the raid0 array.

    @sdamaged99 - you are right , but so far so good and i have been playing games for the last 2 weeks on it NP , if the Raid0 failed i got no problems rebuilding it again as i enjoy it installing fresh OS on this type of array it takes only about 3 minutes for a complete windows Vista installation :).
     
  7. kRze

    kRze Master Guru

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 280 SSC|24" Dell
    Wow, chispy. Thats is crazy fast, keep the benches coming man.
     
  8. damien666

    damien666 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,651
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx580 EK H2O @36'c load
    hi mate im getting 2x 30GB OCZ OCZSSD2-1SLD30G Solid Series tomorrow, i was going to get the faster ones but it seems that its point less,

    so u have the
    Read:170 MB/s
    Write:98 MB/s

    and with 8 of them u get alittle under 600 read rate, i would have expected 1300mb lol, well i hope my 2 get me at least 200mb as theyr are 155mb each
     
  9. kRze

    kRze Master Guru

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 280 SSC|24" Dell
    Anyway we can get an HD Tach bench as well? :)

    @damien - It doesnt work like that, it wont just double it self in speed. Just like SLI, it wont double your FPS, but it will improve it in games its supported in.
     
  10. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    890
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    @ kRze , i will update later today as im testing for a WR on SS before going for the full run on LN2 ,on cpu and gpu.


    @ damien666, yes bro the Raid Cards have some catch up to do with the SSd technology
    once the Raid Cards and Mobos Raid controllers start optimizing for SSds everything that we know about storage will change , i can guaranty you that. So far im more than happy with the lightning speed of this set up. you will love yours too bro :) trust me. I had a weird benchie where i hit 1000Mb once but results were all over the place as the Adaptec controller had the factory Firmware , onced i flashed to the latest Firmware the Adaptec 5805 its performing a lot better , they are optimizing this Raid cards for SSds finally. heres some crazy numbers with only one time hitting 1000Mb on ATTO bench.
    Bare in mind that the OS was not tweaked yet so this does not represent final results.
    God Day m8s.

    Angelo.


    [​IMG]
    By chispy at 2009-02-18
     

  11. damien666

    damien666 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,651
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx580 EK H2O @36'c load
    thanks mate i will be using my mobo's raid card, is the Asus Rampage Formula X48 any good


    edit.... i raided 2x WD400bd hdds and the single hdd ran at 49mb read (no OS just formatted) and in raid0 (with vista OS) they ran at 62mb read, this was using the Intel Matrix Storage Technology like manual told me two, i think their is another way on my board but this was the easyest, as it was first time
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2009
  12. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    890
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    Yes it is , intel ich9R performrs better than the ich10R , as i have tested both , you will be more than happy using the x48 ich9R Raid controller , remember to use the latest Raid drivers and the intel matrix storage manager for your Mobo use 128k stripe too, you will feel like your pc its on steroids until you get used to it :D.
     
  13. snip3r_3

    snip3r_3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1070
    That means you'll be running off the ICH9R, or CPU assisted RAID. Not that fast, but still gets the job done for a few devices. If you want maximum performance off a RAID setup (or more drives), (properly researched) RAID cards are the only way to go.
     
  14. damien666

    damien666 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,651
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx580 EK H2O @36'c load
    updated my post
     
  15. kRze

    kRze Master Guru

    Messages:
    920
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 280 SSC|24" Dell
    Yes, thats for sure. And if you can get ahold of a Dell PERC 5/i Raid controller, you can expect the best speeds for your RAID arrays.

    http://www.overclock.net/hard-drives-storage/359025-perc-5-i-raid-card-tips.html
    ^Some of the best RAID benches Ive ever seen are with this controller.
     

  16. damien666

    damien666 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,651
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx580 EK H2O @36'c load
    thanks for the info people, i have just ordered both 30gb ssd's and i should receive them by Saturday (tomorrow) if scan doesn't let me down as their site always show items being in stock when their not

    so i have a busy weekend ahead of me lol, install vista on my ssd raid setup...build a pc for a friend...fix 3 other pc's for some 78year old freid of a frend as he think reading mag's and buying random parts makes him a pc god lol, old people.....and finaly i get my infocus x10 1080p projector so will be playing this what on the 100" screen
     
  17. snip3r_3

    snip3r_3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,985
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1070
    Sounds like fun, post some benches when you get the RAID setup, I was going to buy a single OCZ 30GB Vertex drive for the OS, but they didn't have any in stock, actually they called Taiwan's OCZ department and they had none -_- ... Hearing that the V2 series has problems, I just gave up and stuck with good old hard drives.
     
  18. damien666

    damien666 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,651
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx580 EK H2O @36'c load
    i will receive the ssd drives tomorrow and im going to run a read test before i raid0 them then while in raid, please could people post info on what i need to do to get maximum performance out of my ssd and vistax64 as i have been told to turn off super sumat and defrag e.c.t. so any links would be great
     
  19. k3vst3r

    k3vst3r Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,351
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Zotac 1070 Amp
    Yeah ocz vertex are ssd's to get. The onboard cache helps them loads over normal v2
     
  20. damien666

    damien666 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,651
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx580 EK H2O @36'c load
    hi mates i have vista installed on the raid drives now here's results, to be honest i don't seem to notice any improvement in booting vista as i hoped i would, why is this ?


    only tweaks ive done to reg and vista

    Superfetch = off
    Prefetch = off
    write back cache = on
    auto defrag = off
    smart = off


    ok people you see my speed above and its fast, so why does vista still take the same time as slow sata hdd to boot


    look here please
    http://rapidshare.com/files/200959876/21022009007.mp4






    p.s. 1st pic also have single 750gb F1 drive for compare

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2009

Share This Page