8GB RAM with NO PAGEFILE CLUB or TOPIC (lol)

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Mr.Bigtime, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. drbaltazar

    drbaltazar Banned

    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    amd 7950 3gb
    Disabling paging file is a fair idea.just make sure you also disable paging executive in regedit.
    Also if you have 1 MSI per core you might want to be at minimum 8 GB .
     
  2. ViperXtreme

    ViperXtreme Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,123
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 Super Jetstream
    the advent of 6GB minimum requirements/8GB recommended for upcoming (and future ps4/xbox1 based)games O:
     
  3. Captain Oats

    Captain Oats Master Guru

    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte gtx760 2gb
    If your SC blacklist stutters check affinity in task manager. Sometimes for some ppl blacklist exe locks on half of cores, this made it stutter on my pc. I have to change it everytime I start the game
     
  4. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    301
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    If any of you have not figured this out by page 39, it's a good idea to leave the pagefile not totally off, I have it set to the recommended minimal of 16mb, I don't have any problems in the games some other people do.
     

  5. Mineria

    Mineria Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,403
    Likes Received:
    192
    GPU:
    Asus RTX 2080 Super
    I have mine at 1500 MB since Warhammer 40.000 demands that, even if it never gets to use it.
     
  6. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,182
    Likes Received:
    1,928
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    on SSD or normal HDD?
     
  7. drbaltazar

    drbaltazar Banned

    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    amd 7950 3gb
    I am a non page file user . love it ! but game tend to pop an error reporting thing at end of session and while gaming game act like it caught a bad fit of tourista .game slow to about 8 fps (the secret world) the problem ? it isn't in 64 bit so I hit the 4 gb file limit even tho I got 8 GB of ram and 3 GB of gddr5 vram . I thing if I could have sound in another 4 GB chunck I would never get the ea/funcom report page . maybe they all move the sound to a separate 4 GB chunck .also hard drive don't have much to say in the Mather .it almost doesn't run .if I knew how to only use the 64 mb cache I suspect everything would be fine . window tend to be very redundant .and some old setting were created to fix things that were fixed in a different way .
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2013
  8. Mr.Bigtime

    Mr.Bigtime Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    20,794
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    ASUS 1080TI
    i highly recommend use 12Gb or higher RAM to disable pagefile for today gaming needs. 16 GB is best and relax.
     
  9. Keitosha

    Keitosha Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,877
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    Vega56 8GB
    LOL, or more! :nerd:
     
  10. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,749
    Likes Received:
    851
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    I been running 6gb ram and no pagefile for years. never an issue unless I need to see crash report, only then do i added pagefile. To each his own.
     

  11. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,601
    Likes Received:
    925
    GPU:
    6800XT Nitro+ SE
    Disabling pagefile in control panel does this for you, either way if won't run into any problems anyway. Because if you set no pagefile the OS will not try and put anything in pagefile as there is none so those files will stay in physical memory. This may have been needed with older OS's such as XP.
     
  12. gammelhat

    gammelhat Active Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is not quite the same. Unmodified pages of memory can just be removed from memory. They don't need to be written to the page file. When the pages are needed again, they will just be loaded from their original file.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2013
  13. Mr.Bigtime

    Mr.Bigtime Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    20,794
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    ASUS 1080TI
    ram god>! :d
     
  14. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    DisablePagingExec only forces drivers and system code to remain in physical memory, it doesn't affect how data is loaded or unloaded......
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2013
  15. gammelhat

    gammelhat Active Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Who is talking about unloading?
     

  16. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    You were;
     
  17. gammelhat

    gammelhat Active Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is not at all the same as "unloading" something.

    Anyway, I am not going into any kind of discussion with you. We all know that is impossible.
     
  18. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2013
  19. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    301
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    Yeah, you can debate the difference between 'unloading' and 'unmodified' all you want, but if there is no PF, and to be sure you can unhide system files and check your drives yourself, windows simply can't use it.
    Just as if you run out of ram, more PF gets used- if you run out of PF (aka, nonexistent or very small) more RAM gets used. The data has to go somewhere.
     
  20. gammelhat

    gammelhat Active Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cyberdyne, the act of "paging" is not soley about the page file. Every memory mapped file is loaded into physical memory this way. That includes system files (kernel stuff).

    If the memory manager finds that it needs to use the physical memory occupied by some idle system file to something else, it can just do that. It doesn't need to copy that memory to the page file. That would be stupid. The data is located already on the harddrive. This can happen with and without a page file present.

    The act of "unloading" something means to unload/erase it from the virtual address space. That has nothing to do with this. This is about the physical address space.
     

Share This Page