8GB Memory has any use?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ArCElM, May 8, 2012.

  1. ArCElM

    ArCElM Banned

    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte WF 680 x2 SLi
    Hi,

    I just decided to replace my 4GB 2000Mhz PC3 with Crucial 8GB 1866Mhz PC3


    Qute frankly I never really ran my Ripjaw above 1800-1900mhz anyway so, question is this, is there really any need for the extra RAM in gaming? or is 4GB enough still.

    Also, what about the speed, am I making a mistake? is somebody going to tell me for gaming, I need at least 2000mhz ram speed?

    Help me out! as I can still cancel the order.

    the 8GB was cheap enough, just is there any point?
     
  2. deltatux

    deltatux Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
    8 GB is recommended but is not required for gaming as most games don't use more than 4 GB of RAM since they're 32-bit applications. That's all they can address up to.

    What you'll see in the future are 64-bit applications that can take advantage of more RAM. However, since the adoption of 64-bit native apps is very slow, you probably won't see it until 5 years from now maybe.

    I have 16 GB which is not necessary but like you, RAM's cheap these days and who knows, I might be able to run more virtual machines and my CPU would be the bottleneck and not because I'm low on RAM.

    deltatux
     
  3. ArCElM

    ArCElM Banned

    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte WF 680 x2 SLi

    IS IT? I DID NOT KNOW THAT i HAVE BEEN OUT OF THE PC SCENE A WHILE.
     
  4. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    26,665
    Likes Received:
    32
    GPU:
    Inno3d GTX 1070 iChill x4
    i cant turn my pagefile off when i play skyrim with loads of mods. 8gb fully used lol :D (wish i had 16gb)
     

  5. deltatux

    deltatux Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,047
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE Radeon R9 280
    it is, and please refrain from posting in all caps.

    deltatux
     
  6. ArCElM

    ArCElM Banned

    Messages:
    1,434
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte WF 680 x2 SLi
    So are you guys saying getting 8GB it a decent move? my concern is I just wasted 45 quid instead of sticking with my 4GB and running it that bit faster.
     
  7. k1net1cs

    k1net1cs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD 5650m (550/800)
    Depending on your usage, really.

    If you plan on keeping other applications open while you're gaming (e.g. the browser so you can Alt+Tab to GameFAQs), then it's more sensible to have more RAM.
    While it's true that 32-bit applications (as in most games right now) can't use more than 4GB of RAM, they do stack up if you run many apps at once, and that excludes the portion that Windows reserves for its own usage.

    If anything, having more RAM gives your OS and applications more breathing room.
    Having 4GB for Windows 7 is like having 1GB for Windows XP; it's enough for most cases, but having more never hurts.
    Yes, it's a lousy comparison, but that's the general idea.
     
  8. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,184
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    1070 AMP!
    I have 24gb of spare DIMMs but only use 8. Bough the excess ram for future builds or in case some floods drown out the manufacturing plants, lol. With 8gb, even with virtual machines with 4gb allocated to, still have plenty free ram left.
     
  9. Hangry

    Hangry Member Guru

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia gt 550m
    8 gb is not necessary but its cheap and you never know if one day you want to watch youtube while listening to music having facebook, steam, origin, fraps and xsplit open while playing skyrim with mods. 8gb is totally worth the money.
    About speed, you dont need 2000MHz for gaming, 1600 is already fast enough but i think 1866 is the best.
     
  10. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,921
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 ACX
    In games like SW:TOR it does make difference, especially if you have stuff open background. In my case 4GB would not be enough.
     

  11. Hangry

    Hangry Member Guru

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    nvidia gt 550m
    +1 mmos need a lot of ram, several of my friends complain about their ram when they play wow.
    Btw I usually play sc2 with chrome open (pandora, facebook, guru3d) with 6gb.
     
  12. Xtreme1979

    Xtreme1979 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 680 2GB O/C
    The price difference between 2x2gb and 2x4gb is fairly negligible so purchasing 8gb for a new build is the smartest way to go. Now if your happy with your current 4gb no need to upgrade. For me 8gb wasn't even enough. I feel much better with 16gb in my rig.
     
  13. tweakpower

    tweakpower Banned

    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI HD 6770
    Yeah, more RAM can't do any harm :).

    Side note, i discovered something very interesting, first on mine PC, then tested on few of them. RAM is cheap, so if you buy it, get a good brand, i can't say what brand is good, but I'm sure here are people who know it. Mine tests:

    Mine RAM (don't have a clue what brand is, and I'm too lazy to open the case now :D)
    1333Mhz (max freq.) = unstable, 1066Mhz = unstable, 800Mhz = stable.

    Kingston on another PC (didn't remembered type)
    1333Mhz (max freq.) = unstable, 1066Mhz = unstable (close to stable say 40% more), 800Mhz = perfect stable.

    Another don't know brand name RAM, unstable at all speeds.

    Didn't tested with different latency then default. One note, all RAM modules tested here are prime/mem test stable, no errors.

    Way to test if it's really stable, is to use poorly optimized software (game). Best game for testing in mine opinion is old Need For Speed Most Wanted. On stable settings, gameplay is perfect without stutters (no mater how tiny is).

    So, no matter how cheap is RAM, if you are hard core gamer and you like perfect gameplay (most of users here are), then, always buy better RAM, even if it cost more.
     
  14. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,597
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    ASUS 1080GTX STRIX
    4GB of DDR --> BF3 took ages to load levels
    8GB of DDR --> First game of the day still quite long but after that load times are alot smaller
     
  15. nomunk

    nomunk Master Guru

    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 680
    I only have 6 gigs of Ram so im hoping I have enough :(
     

  16. MM10X

    MM10X Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,230
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 970
    6-8GB IMO is better for windows 7, I like having a lot of apps in the background open (xfire, steam, ventrilo, mumble, chrome, hwmonitor, anit virus, ect) with 8GB of ram I never notice a speed difference with them open.

    It depends on how you use your computer. For most on windows 7 4GB is fine, but with RAM prices so cheap now it was only $50 for 8GB of 1866Mhz DDR3.
     
  17. automaticman

    automaticman Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290 Vapor-X
    16GB is the new 8GB
     
  18. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,933
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    I'd say that 6-8 GB is the ideal amount of RAM to have for 64-bit Windows as it means applications and games will run smoother and there'll be less swapping to the pagefile. 4 GB is the minimum IMO.

    Windows likes lots of memory which is why I upped mine from 6 to 12 GB a few weeks back. Surprisingly, I've noticed that Windows works even better than before and applications launch even quicker, noticeable over long sessions, likely because it doesn't have to shuffle stuff around anymore. For example, I can play two or three games but when I return to the first or second, it appears to load quicker, possibly because it is cached? Whatever, more memory is always nice. :)
     
  19. bokah

    bokah Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,315
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 670GTX 2G
    no, u need atleast 16G

    when u start fiddling with virtual space, on 8G limits comes too fast
     
  20. killer_939

    killer_939 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1500
    Replace "u" with i and sure. I sure don't need more then 8gb tho.
     

Share This Page