8800 GTX as Physx with 470/480 when they arrive

Discussion in 'Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX' started by alastair_dougla, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. alastair_dougla

    alastair_dougla New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800GTX
    I am currently using my 8800GTX after my 4870x2 died a death :cry: . I will be getting either the new 470/480 (dont know which to get yet) and was wondering if anyone could tell me wether I could/should use my 8800 as a physx card?

    If it is possible is it a fairly straightforward process to set up, ie just in the NVIDIA control panel or some such thing?

    Thanks for any advice
     
  2. Copey

    Copey Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    960 2GB
    Plug the 8800GTX in, install or re-install the drivers you want and then you will get a tab in the CP that lets you choose which card to run physX off, choose the 8800 and your done.
     
  3. alastair_dougla

    alastair_dougla New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    8800GTX
    Thanks Copey

    Do you think the 8800gtx would make an alright Physx card? or is it a bit long in the tooth? It still seems pretty powerful to me when playing games.
     
  4. dockap

    dockap Master Guru

    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gtx 470 sli
    i have the same doubt.right now i have gtx 295 with 8800gtx for physx
    can i use either of them as physx card with gtx 480 in dx 11 games
    cause 480 is dx 11 and 295 and 8800 gtx are dx10
     

  5. Quixz

    Quixz Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX980Ti
    I personally would not have the 8800GTX as a physX card due to it's power consumption.
     
  6. Copey

    Copey Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    960 2GB
    8800GTX is a good physX card, it does take alot of power but i noticied that you have a big enough psu, so should be fine.
     
  7. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    if you get artifacts in bios (before XP/win vista/7 logo) then -> your videocard (desktop/laptop) died to resurrect for FIX!! - http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=310810 - it is better solution. :D
    but if you get no signal running your 4870x2 then you can't bake 4870x2 for fix.
     
  8. Fusion_XT

    Fusion_XT Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080 X 2139/5400
    When i have my GTX480 my ''old'' GTX285 goes into the PhysX slot :p ...

    Not that there are allot of PhysX games so i will disable the card till i want to play a PhysX enabled game ..

    Enable it, reboot and go :) (Helps when you have 2x OCZ V.Turbo in raid0 :banana:
     
  9. Copey

    Copey Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,710
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    960 2GB
    You wont have to ebanle it, you will have to re-install drivers the first time so the computer can see the physX card, then you can just disable it on the CP, or have the 480 do the work, 285 is abit of overkill for physX thoough lol
     
  10. Fusion_XT

    Fusion_XT Master Guru

    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX1080 X 2139/5400
    Sorry what i meant was that i will enable/disable the card in the device manager so i wont piss off greenpeace that much :p ..

    As i can remember Darkvoid needs a GTX260 for its PhysX effects ..... think my GTX285 isnt that much of an overkill :)
     

  11. marantz69

    marantz69 Active Member

    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus ENGTX470
    When i had a 280 i put my old 8800gtx in as physx and did some bench tests and found the 280 on its own was a lot faster at doing physx.
     
  12. The Chubu

    The Chubu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSi GTX560 TwinFrozrII OC
    It seems that CUDA (so PhysX aswell) is inefficient, so at low loads it runs very fast, but when you start to squeze it, it will fall rapidly. It depends on the game you play and how and when uses PhysX.

    A 9800GT is the most common PhysX card i think.
     
  13. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    not worth it imo, 480gtx has enough power without additional ppu, and its faster(can store allot more data in it because of larger L1 and L2 cache, it can use up to 64kb plus additional L2 cache pool vs only 16kb at 8800gtx) and its more advanced too (10x faster ppu to gpu switching).

    If you would want to stick a phsyx gpu in it do it with something like 450gts etc., when it arrives or don't.
     
  14. k3vst3r

    k3vst3r Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    55
    GPU:
    Nitro+ 5700XT
    Yep, should be no need for seperate physx card now with the 400 series been able switch from ppu to graphic functions 10 times quicker.
     
  15. samr33

    samr33 Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Zotac 2080 ti Amp E
    i have an old 8800GTX too, i wonder if i can run that as a phyx card in my system??
    coz i'm using Ati as my primary VGA, so if i'm using the 8800, i have to install forceware, but would it affect the Ati driver???
     

  16. k3vst3r

    k3vst3r Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    55
    GPU:
    Nitro+ 5700XT
    You need be running windows 7, an use the hacked drivers to enable physx.
     
  17. samr33

    samr33 Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Zotac 2080 ti Amp E
    yes, i'm using win7 64bit, so i only need to put the 8800 on and installed the hacked driver? and thats it?? do i need to use specific Ati driver too??

    and which driver should be used?

    thanks in advance~:)
     
  18. k3vst3r

    k3vst3r Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,444
    Likes Received:
    55
    GPU:
    Nitro+ 5700XT
  19. samr33

    samr33 Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Zotac 2080 ti Amp E
  20. The Phoenix

    The Phoenix Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,246
    Likes Received:
    56
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3070
    yep im in that other thread too an currently see no reason to use my 260 for physx right now,dont need the extra heat or electricity use
     

Share This Page