7970 spiking into 3d clock on browser

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Gaizokubanou, Aug 31, 2012.

  1. Tyestor

    Tyestor Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 6950 2GB
    Except what you're describing is completely different to what is actually happening. But of course everyone who has taken issue with this is completely oblivious because Grandmaster BlackZero thinks so. Never mind the fact that this problem has only been happening recently not for "well over a year" as you seem to think.

    This never happened in previous drivers for me using my 6950 for almost a year. Now it's a problem in 12.8 and the newer drivers (9.000 and 9.001). I don't particularly care whether you think it's a feature or not, all I care about is turning it off because it is annoying and obnoxious. :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  2. BlackZero

    BlackZero Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,878
    Likes Received:
    482
    GPU:
    RX Vega
    It's possible I might have missed something in the thread, please help me understand what is actually happening?

    In that case the solution is obvious, either don't use the drivers that you believe are 'annoying' or contact the developers by opening a support ticket.

    Adding in name calling after the edit. How mature.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012
  3. weah

    weah Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD5850 Toxic @1Ghz
    Any unofficial fix would be great.
    I've tried to mix some 12.6 files without success.
     
  4. BlackZero

    BlackZero Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,878
    Likes Received:
    482
    GPU:
    RX Vega
    I've been noticing this with both browser hardware acceleration and flash hardware acceleration disabled since catalyst 11.9 and earlier. I remember the exact catalyst number because the change in power states was causing artifacts with an over-volted/water-cooled graphics card.
     

  5. weah

    weah Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD5850 Toxic @1Ghz
    This time seems limited to firefox & chrome. IE9 = no issue.
     
  6. BlackZero

    BlackZero Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,878
    Likes Received:
    482
    GPU:
    RX Vega
  7. weah

    weah Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD5850 Toxic @1Ghz
    You need to disable also hardware acceleration in firefox + flash player.
    Or you can downgrade to an older catalyst version.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  8. DummyPLUG

    DummyPLUG Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Titan X
    actually 12.8 fix the stupid problem which it lock to 2D clock even when a program need for a 3D clock, for example, using WMC and play a 3d game at the same time.
     
  9. weah

    weah Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD5850 Toxic @1Ghz
    Ok, but scrolling a page with firefox 15 can't be considered an operation that requires 3d clock. It should use a lower clock like IE9.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  10. ManofGod

    ManofGod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,564
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury Nitro
    I agree with this completely. I have the issue of the second card in my 2 x 6950 crossfire setup going to 3d clocks with firefox and also Virtualbox. Was there any solutions to that issue?
     

  11. weah

    weah Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD5850 Toxic @1Ghz
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2012
  12. BlackZero

    BlackZero Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,878
    Likes Received:
    482
    GPU:
    RX Vega
    That workaround was mentioned by Jonas_Beckman on the previous page. As were others in a post at the top of this page.

    In any case, as there is no driver issue to begin with and the only way to prevent the graphics card from operating as intended is to remove it from the system, as well as the level of maturity already displayed by some posters, I hope this thread gets closed before it descends in to the usual squabbling.
     
  13. weah

    weah Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD5850 Toxic @1Ghz
    I have a single card, and if I removed it I couldn't display anything.
    Speaking about drivers, I tried 11.12 and 12.4. I'm still having a 3d clock issue (+4 °C) with aero enabled.

    I heard about a a specific Nvidia fix implemented last year to solve this firefox 3d issue.

    http://uk.download.nvidia.com/Windows/285.27/285.27-Win7-WinVista-Desktop-Release-Notes.pdf.
    You can read this in page 8 (between resolved Single-GPU Issues):
    BTW, I don't use overclocking tools.
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2012
  14. Tyestor

    Tyestor Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 6950 2GB
  15. BlackZero

    BlackZero Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,878
    Likes Received:
    482
    GPU:
    RX Vega
    I'm sorry? I'm not even going to reply to this. If you have more to say I suggest you try to be mature and keep it to pm.

    Also, reported.
     

  16. The Mac

    The Mac Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    ditto, reported.

    Personal attacks are not welcome here.

    There is nothing wrong with the drivers, or the card, this is expected behavior
     
  17. weah

    weah Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD5850 Toxic @1Ghz
    It's a legitimate request to ask AMD to fix it, as Nvidia did.

    @all: If you want to report this issue, please compile this form:
    http://www.amdsurveys.com/se.ashx?s=5A1E27D20B2F3EBF

    Personally I prefer AMD takes the initiative, because other software may be involved and in this case it's always better a definitive driver fix.

    I don't have anything else to say here.
     
  18. rflair

    rflair Don Coleus Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,324
    Likes Received:
    812
    GPU:
    5700XT
    These random spikes happen on nVidia cards also, its normal.
     
  19. Tyestor

    Tyestor Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 6950 2GB
    Already done.

    Yeah because it's such a great feature to have your fan speed keep spiking up and down every time your clock speeds change. Yeah because it's such an amazing idea to have your clock speeds change from 250/150 to 800/1250 every time you change tab in firefox, scroll down the page and alt tab.

    More of AMD showing how awesome their drivers are. Oh and btw, this doesn't happen on nvidia cards, my brother has one and his fan (and clocks) are fine (with the latest drivers). This has only been happening since 12.8 for my card. This is not a feature, this is not normal, this is a bug and it should be fixed.
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2012
  20. weah

    weah Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI HD5850 Toxic @1Ghz
    An Interesting report dedicated to all skeptics that didn't take into serious consideration this topic.

    This is the official reply by Robert O'Callahan, lead engineer for the Mozilla Gecko layout engine:

    So Firefox developers can't fix it, because it would be hard for them to dig into the reason, while AMD could release a fix at a driver level, without too much difficulty like Nvidia did in past.

    This is why AMD should correct this bug. And I'm asking you to continue to track this situation.

    Full Bugzilla Thread:
    https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=792639
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2012

Share This Page