7950GX2 weird problem with my mobo

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by XtcSkuLL, Aug 8, 2008.

  1. XtcSkuLL

    XtcSkuLL Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 1060GTX
    Hey there. I have been using my PC for like 2 years, and one day when I switched my PC on, it switched off itself after 1-2 seconds. From that moment, each time I switched my PC on, the monitor wouldn't show anything, all blank, but it realises that it is connected on a card. The card is 7950GX2 as the name of the thread shows, and my mobo is Intel D975XBX.

    Now the weird part:
    When I connect my card on any other PC it works. When I connect it to mine doesn't (as we already know).

    When I connect any other graphics card on MY pc it works, which means the mobo hasn't got any problem.

    What I did:

    Reset Bios
    Result: Nothing

    Changed the position of the 7950GX2 on mobo, put it on other slot
    Result: Ofc nothing

    Changed monitor
    Result: Nothing

    *UPDATE*:
    A friend gave me a 7600GT just to pass my time until I get things done, and I put both, 7600GT and 7950GX2 on my pc. Then, using 7600GT, in device manager, I saw this:

    [​IMG]

    Maybe it is because 7950GX2 are two 7900GTX together, dunno tho and never wondered what it is.

    Any help would be appreciated, as I do not want to update my pc. Thanks
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2008
  2. Tat3

    Tat3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,738
    Likes Received:
    131
    GPU:
    GB GTX 1660 Ti OC
    What BIOS you have? Dont know about other BIOS's, but BIOS v. 1073 has passed NVIDIA's compatibility testing requirements with the GeForce 7950 GX2 graphics card.

    Is that card overclocked version? Have you tested another PSU? How many amps that Antec has on 12v rails? What is PSU's exact model.

    Do you get any sound from pc speaker before pc shuts itself down?
     
  3. XtcSkuLL

    XtcSkuLL Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 1060GTX
    Bios version: 1487
    My 7950GX2 is Gainward, and it is not overclocked version.
    Did not try any other PSU.
    PSU has 18 amps on 12V rails
    Antec PSU model is Neo HE550.
    I do not get any sound from PC speaker when I shut it down, and it shuts just when I press the button.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2008
  4. Tat3

    Tat3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,738
    Likes Received:
    131
    GPU:
    GB GTX 1660 Ti OC
    7950 GX2 Needs 28Amps on 12v rails.
     

  5. XtcSkuLL

    XtcSkuLL Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 1060GTX
    But I have been using it for like 2 years with this PSU,why not now
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2008
  6. Tat3

    Tat3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,738
    Likes Received:
    131
    GPU:
    GB GTX 1660 Ti OC
    Ah, bummer...

    Well, it's 18A/12v line, but it can give 42 Amps (14A in 3 rails combined).

    EDIT: Test another PSU in that PC, can be PSU problem.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2008
  7. XtcSkuLL

    XtcSkuLL Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 1060GTX
    Hm ye as I saw on the PSU it shows:

    12V1 - 18A
    12V2 - 18A
    12V3 - 18A

    Anyway, I will be waiting for some magic explanation of what is going on
     
  8. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    Since everything is working with a different graphic card in your system, I'd get a RMA from your graphic card manufacturer in order to get a replacement.
     
  9. domen

    domen Master Guru

    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE HD4890
    He already said that when he tries his card in some other PC it works.
     
  10. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    He also said that a different card in his PC works, too.

    Since he is getting a blank screen as soon as he turns on his PC, it is not a software error/problem. If a different graphic card solves the problem, I'd get a different graphic card. ;)
     

  11. XtcSkuLL

    XtcSkuLL Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 1060GTX
    Well, I use my PC mainly to play games and make music. I have been playing call of duty series for ages, but now I am thinking of updating my system only if I like CoD5 when it gets released. I play call of duty 2, with perfect performance, 333-500 FPS , so there is actually no need to update my system for now, as I do not play any other game (maybe cod4 somtimes).

    So what the heck is going on now
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2008
  12. XtcSkuLL

    XtcSkuLL Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 1060GTX
    Still no help :(
     
  13. Aura89

    Aura89 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,190
    Likes Received:
    1,286
    GPU:
    -
    Have you ever tried a driver cleaner to clean all the drivers off your computer then re-install the drivers? and if that doesn't work, a reformat? i know you say it doesn't show anything at all, but this just doesn't make any sense, you say it works in other computers, and that other graphics cards work in your computer, leads me to believe that your motherbaord for some reason maybe it fried a little bit and doesn't specifically like the GX2 anymore, or you have a driver problem/OS problem that could be fixed with a driver cleaner or reformat
     
  14. morbias

    morbias Don TazeMeBro Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,445
    Likes Received:
    37
    GPU:
    -
    I'm inclined to say it's the PSU giving out. The Antec Neo HE's were always a bit poor quality-wise, check out the failure rates.
     
  15. Aura89

    Aura89 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,190
    Likes Received:
    1,286
    GPU:
    -
    You could try it in another PC with the PSU that you currently use in your PC to figure out if it's your PSU or not
     

  16. NeoElNino

    NeoElNino Master Guru

    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX1080 8GB Soon
    Id reinstall Windows all over again.
    ur problem might very well be SW related = thats the best thing to do and determine the root of the problem
     
  17. XtcSkuLL

    XtcSkuLL Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 1060GTX
    Hey there. I ve done everything guys, I have formated, reset bios and everything, and nothing worked, but here is what I realised.

    The VGA to DVI Adapter I use, for some reason, stopped working. My card uses only DVI ports. So basically, if I connect my card to a DVI monitor then it will work. If I connect it to a VGA monitor using the VGA to DVI adapter then it shows nothing. I baught a new VGA to DVI adapter and it still not working. I tried my card on other motherboard with the VGA to DVI adapter and still the same. So basically, I will have to change my monitor or my card, unless there is some magic way to solve this problem.
     
  18. Aura89

    Aura89 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,190
    Likes Received:
    1,286
    GPU:
    -
    You could use an actual cord and bypass the DVI to VGA adapter all together, it MIGHT work, but i can't say that it definitely will, something like this:

    http://www.retailslashers.com/dxc112241.html
     

Share This Page