780 TI 6GB Version

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by blakedj06, Jan 11, 2014.

  1. techie405

    techie405 Guest

    No, just saying it is overkill for gaming currently. Yes, I know some people need more for other apps but certainly not gaming.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 14, 2014
  2. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    No shyt sherlock. Common sense.
     
  3. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    443
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
    So typical... Here comes the insulting name calling. Its such a predictable behavior that is funny. hahaha.

    And that is why I will quote my self from a previous post above because I guess you missed it:

    This was the last reply.. I promise!! He's just so funny. :p
     
  4. techie405

    techie405 Guest

    And yet again you still make no point. What are you trying to say? You agree with me now?

    edit: hell yeah! that was my tenth post I can now post links and stupid pics:banana:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 14, 2014

  5. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,876
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I bought 16gb just because i could, now idk, its so damn expensive.. Before 120€, now same ram ~ 180€..


    Usually i use max 5-6gb max max, but i can use all 15-16gb too in something like Propellerheads Reason, it stores all samples in ram and woah it loads so fast :D

    then there is also this,
    [​IMG]

    gpu driver can use virtual vram too, total 4gb. So if a game wants more then 2gb it will run fine, because any recent game since 2009-2010+ uses texture stream!ng.. This fills as much as it can then streams on the fly. Well more vram the better obviously, less stream!ng, but its not so bad like some might think and go nah minimum 2gb..
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2014
  6. wheeljack12

    wheeljack12 Guest

    here's a question I have always wanted to know the answer but have rather acted instictively about when using sli/xfire. When two cards share in that form,do they share all of the resources across meaning a combined effect of two gpu's and 2 sets of ram being combined into one? Because I read sometimes from message boards hear that one card carries over to the other and acts as a seperated shared effect? Any thoughts?

    TJ, that stat you see is a stat. The problem we have there is the console beat the pc to the punch and got the true shared ram effect before the pc. NV Maxwell is supposed to give unified memory in the effect that the nex gen consoles give. Otherwise, the agrument over vram usage with all of us wouldn't be going on as it is right now.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 14, 2014
  7. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,237
    Likes Received:
    319
    GPU:
    GTX
    please don't call my friends morons and then you might make it to your 20th post
     
  8. wheeljack12

    wheeljack12 Guest

    Let me correct myself. The AMD apu in Kaveri form (due out today) is carrying the HUMA architechure where the apu and ram share resoures better. It shows that the graphics on the apu are being shared somewhat better with the ram. It's near the time for the discrete gpu to have the same in feb. with NV maxwell.
    Cowie, be nice. Verbal violence won't change people.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 14, 2014
  9. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    1,051
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    Actually memory bandwidth has little to do with memory usage. What I was pointing out was that his PC is ahead of current consoles.

    And I'm glad you actually educated yourself on the PS4's memory so now you realize that there really is only about 3.5GB available I don't think that 512MB of ram will be used in the PS4 with any multi-plat game in the next few years exclusives maybe. Now please get back under bridge.

    As far as I understand it the VRAM is mirrored and that will increase it's perceived bandwidth. Thick of it like a RAID0 without the total ram adding together. Does that make any sense?
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2014
  10. techie405

    techie405 Guest

    Is 3.5GB not greater than 3GB? I'm sooo confused:bang:
     

  11. wheeljack12

    wheeljack12 Guest

    Loophole, in disrete vram, yes, we as pc users have the advantage. In sharing ram itself regardless of the amount between gpu and system memory,no. When PC users get the shared ram effect done in actuality, the pc gets the dominance over the consoles completely.
     
  12. Ouzo

    Ouzo Master Guru

    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 1080Ti Gaming X
    So, because this is guru3D no sane person would use ANY other app than games on their PC, right?

    I must say, very well though out argumentation :)

    You know, I'll just through this here. Try things out:
    - Eclipse with as much memory for heap as possible 2-4Gigs
    - or alternatively Visual Studio or some other tool for your preference
    - Photoshop with, let's say just for sake of argumentation, as low as 25% of memory allocation (I use usually around 50%-60%, because I want it to be fast)
    - or alternatively Premier or some other tool for your preference
    - Maybe Flash / Unity3D or StudioMax open
    - Open some email program
    - Spotify playing music
    - Browser with multiple tabs open
    - Skype running
    - Steam & Origin and what not at background running

    When you have all those running, and maybe some background processes etc. I'll bet you appreciate 16gigs.
     
  13. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,692
    Likes Received:
    1,051
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    You don't know anything about what you are talking about. Yes 3.5 is more than 3 but in PC's we have virtual memory see -Tj-'s post a few posts up. Your simplistic under standing of "That number is higher it must be better" is getting you nowhere.

    Will we have more GPU VRAM in the future? Most certainly. Is it needed now? NO
     
  14. wheeljack12

    wheeljack12 Guest

    Ouzo, I would appreciate maxing my system at 32gigs of ram to use for the upcoming maxwell and a ramdisk for app acceleration. The thought being here not buying a part twice for upcoming needs.
     
  15. cowie

    cowie Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,237
    Likes Received:
    319
    GPU:
    GTX

    Who me?I am nice as ice bro.

    Well i will go out on a limb and say it will not matter much over a 3g card even with high res but of coarse that is just a guess based on other cards with two times the ram amount of the past
     

  16. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,876
    Likes Received:
    1,778
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I think that would be Volta..


    Maxwell will have only ARM co-processor, but not these early samples now in Q1 2014, that's reserved for true high-end @ 20nm, kinda like HyperQ and Dynamic parallelism was on GK110.


    edit: sorry you're right, i mixed it with on-die vram @ volta,

    lol 1tb/s bandwidth crazy stuff xD
    http://www.techspot.com/news/52003-...-has-stacked-dram-offers-1tb-s-bandwidth.html
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2014
  17. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    how did you come to that conclusion? would it be 1080p X 4? that why? ah... thinking about it 200% means twice the pixels both horizontal and vertical. so yeah, it should be resolution times 4. let me work out what 1440p with 200% resolution scaling actually equals to.

    OK, 1440p with resolution scaling at 200% equals to roughly 7.1k resolution. wow.
     
  18. War child

    War child Master Guru

    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Gainward 980Ti SLI
    Koniakki,

    Please let me use this as a signature. Just hilarious.

    Comment crits troll for 9k Overkill.
     
  19. wheeljack12

    wheeljack12 Guest

    Eclap, one of the tv makers released that they want to start working or releasing a 8k rez tv. Seems that pc rez is more intense on a monitor than a tv. I wonder how the asus 31.5 inch 4k monitor works with scaling.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 14, 2014
  20. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    pointless.
     

Share This Page