7700K OC'in time - voltages?

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards Intel' started by AvengerUK, Jan 7, 2017.

  1. DJSean00

    DJSean00 Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus STRIX-GTX1080
    Opps fixed :)
     
  2. Odellot

    Odellot Master Guru

    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    69
    GPU:
    TUF RTX 3090 FO48U
    Changed the cooler on Our Family PC to Kraken X62...Able to push to 1.376v @ 5.1ghz and is stable..Temps are on 80's..

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Goutan

    Goutan Master Guru

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080 Ti
    5.1ghz in the 80s?? Unless that's delidded it sounds like you've got a golden chip there.

    @Avenger I decided to just pull the trigger and order a rockit 88. I'm hoping to receive it today so I can do some overclocking this weekend. Have you gotten yours in yet?
     
  4. AvengerUK

    AvengerUK Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Titan X (Pascal) EK-WB
    I have :)

    Temperatures are much improved - roughly 10-15deg overall difference under load.

    Wasn't too difficult to do either, so I definately recommend it.

    I am currently having problems however, with 1) Stability and 2) Voltages.

    Not sure exactly what I'm doing wrong but the voltage won't behave itself so I can't give you "exact improvement statistics" as the CPU is overvolting like crazy. - currently set to adaptive 1.35 (It seems much more stable when using adaptive, couldn't tell you why) - but LLC acts very strangely. Getting it to 1.35 is imposible, as it's either 1.34 - or 1.36 on LLC 5 - LLC6 = 1.39 and weirdly, LLC4 = 1.39. Going to continue trying to figure it out...
     

  5. Angrycrab

    Angrycrab Master Guru

    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Titan XP EVGA Hybrid Kit
    Anyone knows If you gain any fps with this cpu @ 4K when ocing from 4.5GHz to 5.0GHz and If you factor In a 4266MHz DDR4?? I'm really tempted to get a 7700K but not sure what the fps gain would be at 4K.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2017
  6. DJSean00

    DJSean00 Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus STRIX-GTX1080
    I think you'll find it will be mostly GPU bound
     
  7. Goutan

    Goutan Master Guru

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080 Ti
    My girl and I delidded my processor last night (My hands aren't steady enough to apply LM alone). While running at 5Ghz the max temperatures are showing at 64 after prime95 has been running for a while. It's completely worth doing if you feel comfortable with it.

    With this set up, I was actually able to pump the processor up to 5.3Ghz and game on it but it wasn't stable in prime95.

    @avenger Was it overvolting like that before? I wonder if some of the liquid metal got on the silicon.
     
  8. AvengerUK

    AvengerUK Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Titan X (Pascal) EK-WB
    Ok so - more results.

    Please note - the thermal paste I'm using I'm going to replace with GC Extreme tomorrow, currently using some old EK stuff - so results may improve.

    Most importantly: The below is all @ 5Ghz - it appears I may be of been seriously messing up when it came to OC'ing this the first time around, but - atleast I'm learning!

    Secondly - I appear to now be stable. Acheived by:

    • Manual memory settings, not XMP
    • LLC to 6
    • Offset voltage @ 1.35
    • Cache limit to max
    • All CPU limits turned to max
    • SVID off
    • VCCIO = 1.1
    • System Agent = 1.05
    • AVX Offset = 3

    I've probably missed a few bits so I'll update in a bit (currently stress testing as I write)

    The TLDR is - Auto = bad, seemed to be messing up alot for me.

    Asus's auto also gives much higher tha required VCCIO and system agent voltages (1.2+)

    As for temps, it varies wildly depending what I do - so, here are some results for 1.36 vcore (actual is about 1.355/1.356):

    Intel XTU stress:
    Max tempreature 70 deg, stable - average is less than this - the temp is up and down like crazy in XTU - NOTE: Ignore the core voltage in the screens from XTU - it is wrong!
    [​IMG]

    Cinebench R15:
    Max @ 73 - again, averages are lower.

    (score is 1083)

    Prime95 26.6 (No AVX)

    Here is where we can find the highest temps due to large FFTs -

    - Blend first = max of 74 Deg - avgs lower
    - Large FFT = max of 79 Deg - avgs are slightly lower

    In reply to someone previously - cores are not equal - one sits at 67-68 and won't go higher, the others are ~70 with one around 79 for large FFT. All tempreatures quote above are from this "Hottest core"

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------

    @Goutan nice!

    Your temperature is much better than mine :(

    So - here's a question -

    Would it be worth me re-delidding and re-doing do you suppose? The IHS doesen't look as square as I'd like, so it's possible it could be improved?​
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2017
  9. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    GPU:
    3080Ti Strix H20
    Up to you if it's worth it.

    If you use liquid metal TIM you will see up to 20-30c drop.

    Regular TIM maybe 5-10c, not worth it IMO.
     
  10. Angrycrab

    Angrycrab Master Guru

    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Titan XP EVGA Hybrid Kit
    Well that's a shame....Hopefully My new OC'd Titan XP will give me stable 60fps at 4K In newer titles otherwise I'm upgrading my CPU just for that small extra fps to hit the 60fps mark.
     

  11. AvengerUK

    AvengerUK Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Titan X (Pascal) EK-WB
    Bit more fiddling, seem stable now but had to increase System agent and VCCIO.

    Fingers crossed that's it all set.

    However, temps under Prime95 FFT are hitting 83 :/

    Handbrake encoding however = 75 deg max

    So, not sure if I should fiddle (de-lid wise) or leave it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2017
  12. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,617
    Likes Received:
    2,235
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Yea VCCSA -system agent can help, especially with higher ram freq.

    I saw its ~ 0.010v = 0.002 cpuv

    That said I could lower cpu from 1.287v to 1.270v at same frequency.
     
  13. AvengerUK

    AvengerUK Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Titan X (Pascal) EK-WB
    Yeh, for now I've left it on auto which is for sure overkill voltages but I'll leave taming those for another day.

    Reapplying thermal paste (geil gc) tomorrow, still not decided whether to take another look at the delid though, my results don't seem to tally along with others who did the same! O well.
     
  14. AvengerUK

    AvengerUK Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Titan X (Pascal) EK-WB
    Ok so - Results are in.

    Used:


    • Rockit cool de-lid kit + relidder (bought the whole kit basically, so included everything)
    • Coollab's Liquid Ultra
    • GC Extreme Thermal
    • Gel Superglue
    • Artic thermal paste removal
    • A vynl remover blade
    • masking tape


    Pictures:

    http://imgur.com/a/7MhP3

    XTU Test:

    BEFORE:
    83 Degrees

    After: 59 Degrees
     
  15. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,591
    Likes Received:
    1,079
    GPU:
    3080Ti Strix H20
    Pretty significant.

    Were you able to lower voltage much at the same clock speeds?
     

  16. AvengerUK

    AvengerUK Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Titan X (Pascal) EK-WB
    I've not tried yet, getting some gaming in ;)

    I will probably leave further tweaking until the weekend now.
     
  17. AvengerUK

    AvengerUK Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Titan X (Pascal) EK-WB
    Ok nevermind!

    Still unstable :(

    trying to find out how to sort it - Realbench seems to dislike everything :/

    Settings currently are: http://imgur.com/a/Jgw5d
     
  18. DJSean00

    DJSean00 Member

    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus STRIX-GTX1080
    I can't see the images at work, what were the stats you got for the CPU?
     
  19. Goutan

    Goutan Master Guru

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2080 Ti
    Congrats on getting the temps down!

    Did you notice a big difference by setting the AVX offset? I haven't messed with it - might be worth my time if I can squeeze out a better OC.

    Without modifying AVX my 5ghz OC is stable at 1.3v. Currently I have to crank up the voltage above 1.4 to make any progress.
     
  20. AvengerUK

    AvengerUK Master Guru

    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Titan X (Pascal) EK-WB
    Realbench (The lux mark part) crashes itself (not system wide) no matter what it seems.

    I was using an offset voltage (so it'd downclock / downvolt when not utilized) - and games were crashing :/

    I'm currently running a Prime95 FFT 1344 set test, so far it's not crashed (20mins elapsed).

    Only difference between offset and Manual =

    Vcore set to +0.125 which resulted in a load in Prime / Realbench of 1.360

    Settings currently (being stressed in Prime):

    Manual Vcore: 1.35 (Under stress in CPUZ = 1.36)
    CPU LLC = 6
    CPU Current = 140%
    AVX offset: 3
    All cores to: 50x
    AI Overlcock tuner = Manual
    BLK 100
    Multicore enhancement = 0
    CPU Core/Cache current limit = 255.50
    DRAM Volt = 1.35
    DRAM speed: 3000
    All other CPU volts auto (e.g. SA)

    Power limits:

    Long: 4095
    Package: 127
    Short: 3095

    DRAM timings are set to manufacturers rec.

    I'm going to leave Prime on now - overnight (1:30am here).

    Seems stable so far, realbench refuses to "not crash" (even with 1.396v)

    --------

    I'm wondering if Offset volts was causing games to crash, seeing as these manual settings are the same :S

    @Goutan RE: AVX

    Honestly, I've set AVX offset to 3 for now just so I'm sure it's not causing instability. Once I'm stable I'll likely either remove / adjust.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2017

Share This Page