750Ti as Physx Card together with 780Ti SLI

Discussion in 'Videocards vs General Purpose - NVIDIA Ageia PhysX' started by Odellot, Apr 29, 2014.

  1. Odellot

    Odellot Master Guru

    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    59
    GPU:
    TUF RTX 3090 XG438Q
    Hi to all. I recently obtained a Zotac 750Ti. I am already using 780TI SLI so I thought of using 750Ti as Physx Card. I tested two Games, Batman Arkham City and Mafia II, if 750Ti as a dedicated Physx card is better than a 780Ti.

    Here are the results..

    Batman Arkham City:

    780Ti SLI with 780Ti as Physx

    Average: 94

    [​IMG]


    780Ti SLI with 750Ti as Physx

    Average: 106

    [​IMG]


    Mafia II:

    780Ti SLI with 780Ti as Physx

    Average: 59.1 Rank C

    [​IMG]


    780Ti SLI with 750Ti as Physx

    Average: 108.1 Rank A

    [​IMG]


    I must Say...750Ti is a very good Dedicated Physx Card. My only concern is I have a problem testing ACIV Black Flag. I can't set Physx when 750Ti is set as Physx.

    Thanks for anyone who will be reading this Post. :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2014
  2. SplashDown

    SplashDown Master Guru

    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    120
    GPU:
    EVGA 980ti Classy
    Yes probably best PhysX card you could use right now, mostly cause its power consumption, thinks its 95 or something, where as my 660TI is 140 I think. You did the right thing.
     
  3. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    Me likes wonder if I would have any problems dropping 1 in the 3rd pci e slot. Wonder if it will affect 2 780ti running at 8x pcie 2.0
     
  4. SplashDown

    SplashDown Master Guru

    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    120
    GPU:
    EVGA 980ti Classy
    I'd imagine since your running Intel ... I'd guess no. I mean really were not even really using 2.0 to full potential let alone 3.0 right?. I'm no expert just chiming in. I tried my 660ti at 8 and was no difference but my setup totally different. I got lucky and got a real good 770, stock bios 1293/8124 .... couldn't believe what I got outta memory, and its stable, benched the snot out of it to make sure. I leave my 660ti at stock. My board is also designed well got inch gap between cards for cooling. I'm curious TK what kinda clocks you getting from your 780TI? I really wanted 1 but my budget said big fat no. lol Peace guys
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2014

  5. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    Probably bottlenecked a bit running pci e 2.0 8x since I have 2 high end cards at 1440p. I don't know for sure or not if my 780ti sli be running at 8x 8x with a 750ti in the last slot. If I were running tri or quad 780ti at 5760x1080 I would have a massive bottleneck on pci e 2.0. Im going to do a full cpu mb upgrade in the near future anyway. The cards are stock cooler evga sc.
     
  6. SplashDown

    SplashDown Master Guru

    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    120
    GPU:
    EVGA 980ti Classy
    Ya forgot about when u add a 3rd card it changes that. Also didn't see your monitor, 1440. I'm just on my 55 inch plasma for gaming. 1080
     
  7. Odellot

    Odellot Master Guru

    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    59
    GPU:
    TUF RTX 3090 XG438Q
    Before Adding The 750Ti, I run my 780Ti SLI with x16 3.0/x16 3.0..Now with 750Ti, I'm running with x16 3.0/x8 3.0/x8 3.0..

    No significant changes in FPS with x16 3.0/x16 3.0 vs x16 3.0/x8 3.0/x8 3.0..
     
  8. southamptonfc

    southamptonfc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,876
    Likes Received:
    97
    GPU:
    STRIX 2080 Super
    This result is the opposite of what I found.

    When using a 780TI with a Titan as PhysX card. I got WORSE FPS than when using just the 780TI
     
  9. Odellot

    Odellot Master Guru

    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    59
    GPU:
    TUF RTX 3090 XG438Q
    It's OK...750Ti was just given to me for my services. I didn't spend any money on this.
     
  10. SplashDown

    SplashDown Master Guru

    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    120
    GPU:
    EVGA 980ti Classy
    Cant beat that.
     

  11. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    in PhysX games I ded one card to PhysX.
    last night I ran the benchy with my preferred presets but without v sync.
    my lil 760 was getting around 80% usage keeping up with around 75fps minimum from the main card.
    80% usage @1080 using a 760 OCed.
    so 750ti ain't very future proof no1, and no2 I had no-idea PhysX was that demanding overall.
    currently redownloading ac4 (as I goit haXed and has to zero and reinstall) to test PhysX usage.
    but sure they have uber speeds so I imagine thay'll be fine for a while but who knows what's on the horizon, just sayin though, I
    can post pics :)
     
  12. Quixz

    Quixz Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,311
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX980Ti

    :eek3::eek3::gape::eek3::eek3:
     
  13. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,116
    Likes Received:
    1,902
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Imo 750TI for physx is overkill, even 650GTX is plenty.
    http://forums.evga.com/tm.aspx?m=1768879

    But then again single GK110 or even OC'ed GF110 is more then capable running it alone, speaking from my own experience in something like Batman AC bench or AO bench. :)


    nvm if the code is done right ie physx3, then it runs great.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2014
  14. Veteran

    Veteran Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,103
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    Id get rid of that physx card and throw another 780ti in there to make it 3 gpus.
     
  15. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,843
    Likes Received:
    240
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Again, 1080p 120Hz. Overkill.
     

  16. Veteran

    Veteran Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,103
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    Didnt realise it was 1080p.
     
  17. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    based on their speed i would agree they are best physx card out their and the maxwell performs very well too.
    as i upgrade for games i would consider a dedicated card but i dunno how my current mobo would cope, well i do on paper anyways. (I'd move the 760s and 750ti to new mobo and cpu if it needs it (a future game)when the refresh ones appear september, if the very small window of opportunity presents.
    and cause of the maxwell you can use it as main gpu should you wish, as has been posted about.
    basically sure i'd use one with my current cards and have looked them up many times, i like the evga ones, the full size ones.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2014
  18. Spets

    Spets Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,061
    Likes Received:
    157
    GPU:
    RTX 3090
  19. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
  20. Danwillysxi

    Danwillysxi Master Guru

    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    2080Ti
    Digging out an old topic here guys but figured may as rather than starting a new similar separate topic...

    I have a 780ti currently and I'm thinking of getting a 750ti to run as a dedicated PhysX card. Main question really is, is it worth it?

    I'm still trying to get my head around the different types of PhysX. As I understand it if a game supports GPU accelerated PhysX then I can use a dedicated card to run the PhysX instead of my CPU. If a game cannot use hardware accelerated PhysX then only my CPU can run the PhysX leaving my dedicated card redundant for that particular game? :3eyes:

    Also, what is the difference between VisualFX and PhysX? Some games use one or the other whilst other games use both? Can you use a dedicated GPU to boost performance in games that only use VisualFX?

    I found a good source of PhysX info here >>>>>> http://physxinfo.com/index.php?p=gam&f=all

    Thanks in advance for the help!
     

Share This Page