1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

6950 BIOS Unlocking (At Users Risk)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by davetheshrew, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. davetheshrew

    davetheshrew Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    some green some red
    HAWX 2 totally maxxed with tesselation ON, stock 890/1375 running on specs in my sig. my 6950 got 75 avg 133 max oc'd to 880/1375 as seen here. 79 avg and 142 max is a real proper difference:banana:, best comparison Ive got and it shows that these shaders are truly unlocked :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2010
  2. davetheshrew

    davetheshrew Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    some green some red
    I wouldnt worry, they have a max tdp of what, 250w or something, you will never see that in game.
     
  3. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    there was 1 user at xtremesystems and it worked for him :nerd:
     
  4. sounar

    sounar Master Guru

    Messages:
    696
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 980TI SC
    thanks, gonna sell my 5870 if this works out, since i can get one here for $259 :nerd:
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2010

  5. Detection

    Detection Banned

    Messages:
    1,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x 6850 - CrossFireX
    Ive got two 5770s Im trying to sell to get one of these too !

    Do I spend the rent and hope they sell...... lol
     
  6. Gameslove

    Gameslove Master Guru

    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX760 4GB OC/GTS450physX
    It broke you cards warranty? How it work on Club3D Radeon HD6950?
     
  7. Dr. Vodka

    Dr. Vodka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,803
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 290 Tri-X
    No warranty broken if you flash the original BIOS back if you ever have any problems with the card.

    Try it gameslove! These cards have 2 BIOSes, there's no possibility to brick them.
     
  8. Lane

    Lane Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,361
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    2x HD7970 - EK Waterblock
    this can maybe in certain case become a problem with Big OC and with voltmode for stability ... but in reality 6pin or 8pin is a standard for PCI-Express. ( 8pin = 100W and 6pin = 75W ( +75W from the motherboard slot ) if i am right) I certainly goes to more of 300W when i push my cards to 1100mhz+ with 1.355V. and the 5870 have 2x 6pin only.
    When you OC, you are allways over this limitation.


    For win times on the production and got large stock for launch, AMD have mix the 6950-6970 cores alloccation during the production, it seems AMD have use both core without laser cut them ( as it's normaly done for the "derivative" as 5850).. Like that they was able to push enough cores for product on both 6950 - 6970.

    Ofc it will, it's a big news... nice finding and good job.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2010
  9. johnny87au

    johnny87au Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 480's / Wc'd ek
    u better thank me hehe, Told you it was on XS :D
     
  10. neo5555

    neo5555 Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2 x 6950's in CF
    Hate to burst the bubble here guys....
    Got 2 Sapphire 6950's and i flashed one of them only.
    When i set the flashed 6970 to 6950 speeds, i see no difference in performance whatsoever... infact, there is a slight decrease compared to the untouched 6950... with the unlocked SP's, there should still be an increase over the untouched card.
    The BIOS flashing most definitely worked as the stock speeds have increased.
    Also, i have noticed that the flashed card is a lot hotter to the touch then the stock (untouched ) 6950.

    Make what you will of this, but i for one see no advantage or improvement in doing this.
    I am somewhat skeptical that AMD would allow this to happen... and if they did, i am certain they will put a stop to this in future cards...

    my 2 cents worth....

    ***EDIT*** Never mind... did more testing and have seen an increase afterall...
    Still, temps are up tho... guess its to be expected..
    :roll:

    cheers
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2010

  11. Renegade8100

    Renegade8100 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    **** yeah, now im gettina 6950
     
  12. Scyphe

    Scyphe Master Guru

    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI Radeon 7950@1150/1700
    I wonder if artifacts are due to different timings on the RAM chips (since they use different chips on the 6950'ies and 6970'ies and certain circumstances may "break" certain cards RAM?). And don't forget to increase Powertune to 20%+.
     
  13. Matt26LFC

    Matt26LFC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,058
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    GTX1070 / Many others
    Would it be safe to do this BIOS flashing with two cards installed in Crossfire? Or should one be removed first?
     
  14. kitch9

    kitch9 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,889
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 7990 3GB
    Keep powertune at default fella. The card will draw more than the rating of the power connectors otherwise.

    *Edit* Ignore me....
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2010
  15. Scyphe

    Scyphe Master Guru

    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI Radeon 7950@1150/1700
    Nah, there's usually some headroom available. Furmark is the ultimate non-realistic worst case scenario. In reality you won't come close to Furmark usage.

    [​IMG]


    I'd still like to see someone copy the RAM-timings from the 6950 bios to the 6970 bios.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2010

  16. davetheshrew

    davetheshrew Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    some green some red
    thanks johnny87au :)

    looks likea lot of people unlocked their cards last night lol, my missus had a look this morning and could not belive how much of a big thing this is, I showed her the page views and she was gobsmacked! she gave me a big kiss for literally handing over £70 to each and every succesfull unlocker lol, didnt look at it that way
     
  17. DeadLine

    DeadLine Master Guru

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD7970 Ghz
    Ordered the Sapphire HD6950....wth i'm doing...
     
  18. davetheshrew

    davetheshrew Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    some green some red
    youl love it man, keep the gtx for physx man, MONSTER!
     
  19. DeadLine

    DeadLine Master Guru

    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon HD7970 Ghz
    Wanna dispose this gtx465, to much noise and to much heat :p performance is oke still.
     
  20. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,643
    Likes Received:
    1,085
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    This may work for existing stocks, but I think sooner or later AMD will laser cut or disable them physically. Cant see them letting customers have 6970 performance at 6950 prices for too long. I'll bet there will be a run on 6950 stocks within the next few days or weeks.
     

Share This Page