1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

6-core Ryzen 5 1600X Benchmarks shows 50% faster than Core i5 7600K

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Feb 17, 2017.

  1. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,266
    Likes Received:
    592
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    Just out of curiosity, anyone else notice on the screen shot that the CPU-Z and Windows Task manager show markedly different CPU frequencies?

    [​IMG]

    Pretty much solid evidence it is fake.
     
  2. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,396
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    nah.. Its windows glitch


    In my case it always shows 40MHz lower cpu freq.
    [​IMG]



    Same in that screenshot, so it ran at 3.6Ghz at some point when they made that screenshot.


    Or they were showing X models dynamic OC capabilities, max possible in taskmanger @ 3.6Ghz with cpu theoretical max 3.3 ghz and current scenario in cpu-z at 3.4Ghz.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
  3. misousa

    misousa New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce 650TI
    Finaly I can replace my 6 year old Intel 2500k.
    Probably will get a six core cpu depending on motherboard/cpu pricing.
     
  4. meran

    meran Master Guru

    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    sapphire 5850 2gb @850
    My i5 2500k @4.5 getting memory ddr3 2133
    1705/6600
     

  5. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,266
    Likes Received:
    592
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    Nope. That is way too far off to be a glitch. I've got three monitoring programs I'm running right now and not one is off more than the rounding error. Or you're arguing the CPU-Z screen shot and the Task Manager were taken at different times. That is possible. But, why would you do that?
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
  6. Crazy Serb

    Crazy Serb Member Guru

    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    270X Hawk 1200-1302
    Honestly, I thought that if you have nV GPU, GPU would take physX. Friend bought 1050Ti recently and even if physX runs on GPU, his AMD CPU (fx 4c 4ghz) cant sustain 40+ fps with it most of the time while shooting in sanctuary for example.
    As far as I can tell fom bl2 as an example, the only thing that nV GPU is doing is flushing out infinite loops which makes physX unplayable on CPUs.
     
  7. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    36,112
    Likes Received:
    5,133
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Honestly mate, that is a non-discussion as CPU-Z polls slower and thus always is a step or two behind. Here an example I just made on my laptop:

    [​IMG]
     
  8. __hollywood|meo

    __hollywood|meo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,975
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    MSI 970 @1.55ghz
    could easily be a cpuz bug. the two pics do look like they were taken on different comps, & im not saying they ARE genuine...but there is a simple potential explanation for the mhz readout

    ::edit::

    damn. boss beat me to it :p
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
  9. Amx85

    Amx85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI R7-260X2GD5/OC
    My FX8320E fixed @4.00GHz
    1168 mono
    7916 multi
    Multi Thread ration 6.78
     
  10. Only Intruder

    Only Intruder Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,115
    Likes Received:
    142
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury Nitro
    It really is a Windows glitch, my old Q6600 system which is now in use for my Dad's system running Windows 10 doesn't correctly show it's current frequency.

    Here's a screenshot:-
    [​IMG]
    As you can see from CPU-z, the CPU has a frequency of 3.5GHz yet windows task manager is reporting 2.9GHz

    Or it could just be that CPUz didn't update at the time as described by Hilbert.
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017

  11. Amx85

    Amx85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI R7-260X2GD5/OC
    Lol my CPU is up clock per clock on multi xD
     
  12. Amx85

    Amx85 Master Guru

    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI R7-260X2GD5/OC
    I checked, your CPU was running at 3.50GHz un the monothreaded Bench and 3.20GHz on multi, check your BIOS settings
     
  13. fl2015

    fl2015 Member Guru

    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    The task manager in win 10 actually shows an estimation of what speed your processor is running at on average by giving you the mean between cores. This is more obvious when C1E or speedstep are enabled, if for example you had a dual core processor and could lock the CPU core ratios of them to 44 on one and 16 on the other task manager would show this as 3 ghz.

    On the ryzen pic the reason it's showing 3.56 ghz when the base frequency is 3.3 ghz is because turbo is being applied and the shown core in CPU-Z has only boosted to 3.4 ghz while another core is probably hitting 3.7 and other cores somewhere in between them (because that's how turbo without an OC'able motherboard works).

    If we knew what clock the other cores were hitting and worked out the mean average I bet we'll find it to be around 3.55 ghz which is not far off what is reported in the task manager.
     
  14. Matt26LFC

    Matt26LFC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,059
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    HD630 :(
  15. Laci

    Laci Member Guru

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti AUROS

    here you go: 2500K @ 4GHz single 1510 and multi 5796
     

  16. Gromuhl'Djun

    Gromuhl'Djun Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,437
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    1080ti
    Heh, look at mine:

    [​IMG]

    The windows task monitor isn't that great at displaying the correct cpu speed (understatement :p)
     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2017
  17. Laci

    Laci Member Guru

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti AUROS

    Indeed :)

    But why did you upgrade to 6600K? :D
     
  18. Margalus

    Margalus Master Guru

    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    I'm going to laugh when this actually comes out and we find out that all of this is fake once again, like so many previous hypes about AMD launches in the past.
     
  19. warlord

    warlord Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,383
    Likes Received:
    781
    GPU:
    Null
    Nah, we all know, that the top end system for 2017 is RYZEN+VEGA, AMD's year finally came alive.
     
  20. A M D BugBear

    A M D BugBear Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,890
    Likes Received:
    188
    GPU:
    2 1080ti-XOC BIOS
    1506/33029

    My single core speeds changes constantly from 2.9-3.4ghz, on multi-threaded, it stayed on all cores roughly 2.9ghz due to the load on them.
     

Share This Page