5970 low results @ vantage

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by shahabi89, Jan 12, 2010.

  1. shahabi89

    shahabi89 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5970
    I have a problem with my 5970 i think. Just an hour ago i ranned the 3dmark vantage and got poor result
    First test, with all in default:
    Gpu: 18300p (pretty low, every person who have an 5970 gets atleast above 19000)

    Cpu: 8300p (no comments here)

    So i decided to overclock my gpu to 750/1050 and see if that gives the card a boost. So i ranned the test again but this only for the GPU and i get 18750 (still low IMO).

    Do you guys know what the problem is and what i should do?
    I know that my cpu is far away from powerful but can it mess my gpu score in vantage?

    My rig.
    C2D e8400 @ 4.05 ghz
    Powercolor 5970
    8 gig ram
    Corsair 750W
    p5q mobo
     
  2. Frag-master

    Frag-master Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX960 Mini OC
    Well look your cpu score and that says it all :)
     
  3. Passion Fruit

    Passion Fruit Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,016
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    6950 Unlocked 900/1250
    His CPU shouldn't be limiting his score too much in Vantage. I've seen other people running 8400 @ 4.0Ghz and getting standard scores.
     
  4. MM10X

    MM10X Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,238
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Vega 56
    is your pci-e X16 port running at 2.0 X16 bandwidth?
     

  5. shahabi89

    shahabi89 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5970
    yes i do, i checked it with everest






    i formated my computer and get 19213 score at stock.
    should i be worried now? or should i blame it on the cpu?
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2010
  6. Ark333

    Ark333 Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 5970 OC
    I´d blame CPU, card is bottlenecked, i7 processors makes best use of 5970
     
  7. Flamingaxe791

    Flamingaxe791 Banned

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5970 2gb 950/1200
    I blame vantage for being coded poorly, My old Slied GTX285 got 31k, my new 5970 overclocked like mad and a I7 920 overclocked to 4Ghz only gets 21k, If you want to benchmark you system use a real world benchmark like crysis warhead airfield on enthusiast settings 8xaa 1920x1200, then show us your results.
     
  8. Flamingaxe791

    Flamingaxe791 Banned

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 5970 2gb 950/1200
    Vantage looks like **** and runs like ****, if they don't want to take their time to code it right than I'm not going to take it seriously.
     
  9. luv2increase

    luv2increase Master Guru

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 480 - 800/1600/1900

    It doesn't matter. It is still a "standard" that everyone can base their score from. You make it sound like it doesn't give "constant" performance ratings.

    If everyone else with same setup is getting x score, the OP should also be getting x score.

    I think people with the 5970s OC'ed to 5870 speeds are getting upwards of 27000-29000 --> for the "GPU Score".

    Since you have a C2D, don't compare your final score nor your CPU score to those around here with i7 setups. Just compare the "GPU Score". Yes, your "GPU Score" will still suffer "if" you have a CPU bottleneck. In your case, you do have one with only a C2D. You could probably take 3000 points or so off the 27000-29000 GPU Score to make up for the bottleneck to see where you should be. Deducing from this, I would still say that you are scoring a little low. Even if you are running the 5970 @ its stock speeds, it is still low I'm afraid.


    Make sure you are using the 9.12 hotfix drivers with the latest ATI Stream SDK 2.0 installed "after" you install the 9.12 hotfix drivers. After driver installation, make sure you reboot two times in a row. Also, make sure that Catalyst A.I. is "enabled" and CF is "enabled". If you disable Catalyst A.I., CF automatically does not work even though it says that it is still enabled.

    GOOD LUCK!
     
  10. shahabi89

    shahabi89 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5970
    i ranned the test again and oddly i got 21600p gpu score. I dont now whats going on but is that an acceptable score for my rigg?
     

  11. luv2increase

    luv2increase Master Guru

    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 480 - 800/1600/1900
    I would say it may be about right if you are running the 5970 @ stock...

    I still didn't get what drivers you are using?
     
  12. shahabi89

    shahabi89 Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    5970
    Yep the card is @ stock 725/1000.
    I used 9.12, but now 9.12 hotfix drivers with ATI Stream SDK 2.0
     
  13. tronicson

    tronicson Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 680 HydroCopper
    well actually i have the very same issue here!

    i run my XFX HD 5970 Black Edition (Waterchilled EK Block) with 975/1175 speeds.. i have an i7 860 overclocked to 4200MHz and all on the EVGA P55 FTW mainboard

    i have only 23k-something GPU score and also about that value in CPU score

    as i bought the card (was still on air and oc'ed to only 900/1100) i achieved once a result of 28k GPU score (found an old screenshot i saved) these days are over now... that was on a XFX 780i SLi mainboard with an Q9650 CPU @ 4250MHz

    now my system is significantly faster (CPU -> superPi in under 10seconds etc.)

    i have now the latest catalyst 10.1 installed - gives me a slightly improoved performance but i am still far away from the good results

    somebody had made some findings?
     
  14. lenehan

    lenehan Member Guru

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 7970 DirectCUII TOP
    My result sometime back.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. tronicson

    tronicson Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 680 HydroCopper
    .. what is also very strange is, that i have in windows experience index 2 times a 6.0 for graphic related tests!

    msi afterburner shows me 2 active gpus, each going up under 3d load to 975mhz
    :3eyes:
     

  16. Lord_Farken

    Lord_Farken Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    sapphire HD 5970@1000 H20
    you need a i7 period no matter what others tell
    even a i7 a stock clocks can handle the full potential of 5970 I have to go beyond 4.2ghz
    with my gtx295 never have the necessity to over 3.8ghz
    that card is an absolute monster but help is in the way with the 6 cores of awesomeness

    last year ati radeon guys started showing the power of the 5970 in many tech expo but ask them in what hardware they run it
    I'm petty sure that wasn't any AMD cpu there
    is a irony
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2010
  17. AbjectBlitz

    AbjectBlitz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R390 1200/1720
    Dont you just love the i7 hype. Seriouslt in games and benchmarks it give you the best of 3 more frames clock for clock vs quads. The i7 shines in other apps like encoding but who gives a crap about those.
     
  18. Lord_Farken

    Lord_Farken Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    sapphire HD 5970@1000 H20
    SURE buddy everybody buy the x58 mobo,triple channel mem ddr 1600,and i7
    to get 3 more fps
    you crack me up
    :invasion:
    post some -3 fps benches
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2010
  19. tronicson

    tronicson Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 680 HydroCopper
    well i do have an i7 860 @ 4200 doing superPi 1M at 9.912 so i surely have enough arithmetic power on that part...

    what do you guys have as a windows exerience index in graphics?

    i do just have only 6.0 (what the heck - i had more with the 260GTX SLi)

    please provide me your 3dmark vantage GPU scores and experience index please! :)
     
  20. AbjectBlitz

    AbjectBlitz Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,462
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    R390 1200/1720
    I have compared my benches to yours before, as also has been proven on every website the i7 in games make little difference. Most certainly not worth spending hundreds to upgrade just for a few frames.

    Funny how the marketing works on some people. You would think the i7 is some miracle and the 5970 wont work without one. Stack a Quad at 4ghz vs an i7 4ghz and the difference is negliable at best in games. Triple chanel also is a waste since games have not been bottlenecked by memory for years. All those improvements are great for encoding and multitasking, games not much at all.

    Great platform if one is building a new rig, but upgrading from a similar spec Quad is a waste and the 5970 certainly does not need an i7. People going about saying folk need a i7 is pure bull****.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2010

Share This Page