580 sli not enough need tri!

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Krogtheclown, Jan 31, 2011.

  1. lehtv

    lehtv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    Damn, you just nearly doubled your frames compared to the dual card setup. Nice.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2011
  2. poo417

    poo417 Master Guru

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080
    Good to hear the third card has helped. Also glad to hear you are not having problems with running the third card in games. It seems to be flaky at the moment tri-sli and surround. Some games get -ve scaling some crash and some run very well.

    The only odd thing is the very low min fps at 4xaa. Seems to be a big difference compared to 2xaa. I might need to install warhead again to see if I get the same effect. I never really noticed but I assume I was running at only 2xaa.
     
  3. Krogtheclown

    Krogtheclown Master Guru

    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FuryXfire 3440x14freesync
    LMAO

    There was 1 spot on the Bench where it "froze" for a split second and thats where the min camp from. I might try play the game for awhile to see how it does in 4aa. I played the opening seen in crysis from the plane it ran around 60fps @ 2aa and looked unbelieveable. Its so sad that after 3 years no game looks near that good.
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2011
  4. lehtv

    lehtv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    Don't worry, Crysis 2 is just around the corner ;p
     

  5. xinhang

    xinhang Member Guru

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga GTX480 SSC
    Crysis 2 will be a console port. I don't think it will beat the original in terms of IQ.
     
  6. lehtv

    lehtv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    I think it will beat Crysis 1 easily in terms of effects, post processing and lighting. Maybe not texture quality etc. But you never know, maybe they'll include optional higher resolution textures, shadows, and more complex shader and particle effects in the PC version.
     
  7. johnny87au

    johnny87au Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 480's / Wc'd ek
    still to this day no card can make crysis yet..
     
  8. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,491
    Likes Received:
    265
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Crytek have already said that Crysis2 will at least match the original Crysis game in texture quality, lighting wise, post processing etc.. it should be better.

    I highly doubt that it will be as nice looking as the original due to the settings of the games, but from a technical point of view it will be better.
     
  9. Krogtheclown

    Krogtheclown Master Guru

    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FuryXfire 3440x14freesync
    If I was playing in 1920x1080 I would hope for the most but now @ this res I feel like I have to start all over again.
     
  10. johnny87au

    johnny87au Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 480's / Wc'd ek
    1x 30" is more then enough for my needs unlezz they bring out bezel free monitors, then i'd run a 3 monitor setup again.. sold my setup after a month:D
     

  11. Andypandy1991

    Andypandy1991 Master Guru

    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3 x gtx 580's PNY
    How is it a console port when the original was made for pc?
     
  12. Sever

    Sever Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Galaxy 3GB 660TI
    look up the LG bezel-less TVs. i think they start from 32 inch. having 3 of those babies side by side would definitely be awesome.
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2011
  13. Krogtheclown

    Krogtheclown Master Guru

    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FuryXfire 3440x14freesync
    Wow.. I dont even notice them when I play I'd never go back to 1 monitor again now way! I feel like i cant see anything now when i play with one which only happens with mass effect 2. Not sure I'd even get the 3rd now without them fixing that.
     
  14. lehtv

    lehtv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    What does it matter what the original was made for? Crysis 2 is made for consoles as well as PC, and since consoles are the lowest denominator of graphics processing power, it's safe to assume that the PC version will be, to an extent, a console port in that regard.
     
  15. Sneakers

    Sneakers Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980Ti Windforce
    As suspected then, had nothing to do with a vram bottleneck but pure gpu power.

    Feels good to be right :)
     

  16. johnny87au

    johnny87au Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 480's / Wc'd ek
    Sever cant find them mate?

    @krog, Yeah i must admit for editing and running multiple programs it was sick man..
     
  17. Krogtheclown

    Krogtheclown Master Guru

    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FuryXfire 3440x14freesync
    [/QUOTE]Also glad to hear you are not having problems with running the third card in games. It seems to be flaky at the moment tri-sli and surround. Some games get -ve scaling some crash and some run very well.

    The only odd thing is the very low min fps at 4xaa. Seems to be a big difference compared to 2xaa. I might need to install warhead again to see if I get the same effect. I never really noticed but I assume I was running at only 2xaa.[/QUOTE]

    When I'm gaming I have to run in vsync or I have lots of problems. BFBC2 is always a problem after contacting company rep he told me to turn settings all the way down or run 1 screen..............BWWAAAAAHHHAAAAAAAA
     
  18. johnny87au

    johnny87au Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 480's / Wc'd ek
    yeah bf2bc always has issues wether you have one screen or two cards or 1 card.. it never happily runs without any issues..
     
  19. Doug

    Doug Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,906
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    This. Or any game... Collosal waste of money in my opinion, lol, even if you're loaded

    edit: OP has an attitude =/
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2011
  20. Sever

    Sever Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,826
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Galaxy 3GB 660TI
    http://www.lg.com/ae/home-entertainment/lcd-tv-led-tv-plasma-tv/LG-lcd-tv-32SL80.jsp

    the new borderless range has launched in most countries, but hasnt found its way to australia yet. radio rentals have some of the older borderless models in stock though.

    3 borderless TVs are epic for eyefinity/surround vision. almost as epic as my mate's setup. he has a dark room in his house, with a wall painted white, and 3d projectors aimed at it for borderless eyefinity on a massive scale.
     

Share This Page