580 sli not enough need tri!

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Krogtheclown, Jan 31, 2011.

  1. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,491
    Likes Received:
    265
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Yeah, three 1980x1080 screens :3eyes:

    Should it not be 5760x1080?
     
  2. Jae-So

    Jae-So Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,731
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX1070
    5935x1080, how does that resolution work? :fuse:
     
  3. Krogtheclown

    Krogtheclown Master Guru

    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FuryXfire 3440x14freesync
     
  4. Jae-So

    Jae-So Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,731
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX1070
    ah right so itz 3* (1920*1080) - (bezel length*width)

    I get it now
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2011

  5. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
  6. Krogtheclown

    Krogtheclown Master Guru

    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FuryXfire 3440x14freesync
     
  7. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    its a mess I tells ya
     
  8. Jae-So

    Jae-So Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,731
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX1070
    ^ lol everyone should sort how they quoted, itz been coming out incorrect the last 5 or so times
     
  9. lehtv

    lehtv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    And what were the resolution and game(s) in question?
     
  10. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
     

  11. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    21,870
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    In a lot of cases, the i7 900 series does in fact bottleneck in SLI configurations, where the i7 800 series doesn't as you can see from this direct comparison between the i7 950 and i7 870 with GTX480 in SLI and Tri-SLI. Also shows that Tri-SLI doesn't always provide a performance increase due to CPU bottlenecking caused by the increase in necessary data:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/3-way-sli-p55-nf200,2758.html
     
  12. Krogtheclown

    Krogtheclown Master Guru

    Messages:
    960
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    FuryXfire 3440x14freesync
    Thats nice it obvious that you dont understand high resolution gaming. So take your i7 and that 460 and game @ res of 1280 x 1024 where your system can really really be a beast.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2011
  13. steelcowboy

    steelcowboy Member Guru

    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 570's SLI
     
  14. steelcowboy

    steelcowboy Member Guru

    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 570's SLI
    lol i had dual 460's running all games at max @ 1920x1200 so hush
     
  15. lehtv

    lehtv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,093
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    N/A
    Instead of just saying "in many reviews..." could you actually post links to those reviews so people don't have to verify your claims by doing their own research thanks.
     

  16. steelcowboy

    steelcowboy Member Guru

    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 570's SLI
    For the love of god google it im not gonna spend my time looking it up.Google i7 bottlenecking sli 580's and start reading.Overclock .net forums is a good place to look a guy with tri 580's and a 980x @ 4.4ghz is bottle necking.
     
  17. Jae-So

    Jae-So Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,731
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX1070
    lol I have dual 460s running things at max 1920x1200, agreed they are very capable. :D

    Not to be rude OP but it's like u got the 3 580s then made this thread to try and get everyone to agree with you so you could justify the purchase to yourself :3eyes:

    I kno at that res you could benefit from a 3rd but I'm still inclined to see it as a bit of a waste
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2011
  18. Sneakers

    Sneakers Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,717
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 980Ti Windforce
    It is true that adding gpus adds driver overhead plus the extra weight of the added gpu.

    Seems to me though that the OPs problem is that the game runs very fluidly in MP 50-60 fps ( correct me if I'm wrong ), gpus running at 99% and then once in a while when it gets very busy explosions going off all around and whatnot the fps dips to 20-30 fps and its a lagg fest then jumps back up to 50-60 fps once it eases up on the action?

    Now we know that

    1) the monitoring programs don't report any vram usage above 1.5 gb

    2) We know crysis warhead as a game is very cpu resource effective in the way it uses the gpu and scales

    3) We know his 5670x1080 resolution is a large resolution

    4) we know he ain't normally running with AA turned on


    I doubt it is a vram bottleneck I would either go with a simple lack of brute force or a limitation in the cpu bandwithd, wich I kinda doubt, well doubt alot really.
    If you can run BC2 on 32ppl servers at that resolution 'then you can run crysis mp' aswell without having to worry about the cpu beeing to weak to power the actual game engine.

    Now with that said adding a 3rd gpu might not yield a big increase in fps, but might add enough to not get the jerkiness of rollercoaster fps.
    The pure driveroverhead that the 3rd card adds will for sure impact on the fps gains, yes i5 vs i7, the i7 would handle that abit better but the nice thing about crysis is that it doesn't need 100+ fps to run good, and if your content with 50-60 with no aa then I don't think your gonna get dissapointed and be forced to order a 990x and 3x 3gb 580s anytime soon.
     
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2011
  19. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    21,870
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    Sorry, my LED uses a native resolution of 1920x1080...but thanks for proving this thread nothing but a pathetic joke. Unlike you, I have no need to create a new thread claiming to own hardware I can't afford. Hell, I'm the only one to post anything to show that you don't NEED a Core i7 900 series to run SLI or Tri-SLI...but, I guess you suffer from literacy issues. I'm done. You're not worth mine or anyone else's time. You're the biggest joke on this forum anyway from what I've seen.
     
  20. steelcowboy

    steelcowboy Member Guru

    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 570's SLI
    Here is a very good quote from a different forum



    The most you can do with current CPUs is reduce the bottleneck. (Hence a 4.2ghz 980x getting a higher score than a 4.0ghz 980x...so on so forth)

    At the current rate of advancement, next gen CPUs will also be the same with next gen GPUs

    Therefore, it's foolish to ask "will this bottleneck?" since the answer will always be "yes".
    The smarter question would be "will this provide a smooth experience?"
     

Share This Page