4870 X2 Owners Club

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Stukov, Aug 13, 2008.

  1. macdaddy

    macdaddy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,400
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    TITAN X
    Thinking of buying the mobo. DFI LP UT X48-T3RS But i heard that the hd4870 x2 has trouble with the x38 and x48 DFI mobo. Is that true ?
     
  2. mb

    mb Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 980 SC
    yes, the computer wont start in that combo (4870x2 + dfi x38/48). but there is a beta bios out which should solve the problem. i have also read that the initial bios works, but only that from the official ones.
     
  3. BladeRunner

    BladeRunner Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Asus 1080Ti STRIX
    thanks John, I assume that its a driver-post NV migration syndrome ,thus I will probably reinstall XP today. Really dont want to bother with upgrading the PSU.
     
  4. Datagg3

    Datagg3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 5970 BE
    Well some interesting news here... After getting some pretty horrific scores

    Yesterdays runs showed
    16,276 in 3dmark2006
    12,661 In Vantage

    Today same drivers, same setup MINUS , last night I thought this may be a PSU issue and MAYBE the 4870X2 was throttling down due to not enough power. So today, I yanked out a 1 of my 3 HD's to see if i could get some more Juice...

    Ran Benches again and some interesting results.
    3Dmark 06 pulled this time 18,311 > 2,035 more
    Vantage 13,401 > 740 more....

    Anyways, based on the above it would APPEAR my PSU is struggling to supply enough juice to the 4870 X2. 1 Drive pulled, scores go up today after lord knows how many runs yesterday.

    What ya guys think.. Coincidence? or its time to grab a new PSU?
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2008

  5. John

    John Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,764
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    I know many review sites state that a 600w PSU is enough for this card. The box that my card came in states 650w minimum. This may very well be fine on a light system. But if you have a heavy system with alot of HDD's, overclocked quad core, high-end motherboard etc etc, it's not unlikely that you'll run into trouble, especially if your PSU is of a bit of sub-par quality. I for one think that if you fork out the big money for one of these cards, you might as well get a proper powersupply to power it too. Living on the edge when it comes to power supplies can often prove expensive in the end..
     
  6. Datagg3

    Datagg3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 5970 BE
    I just ordered http://www.newegg.com/product/product.aspx?Item=N82E16817153054
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2008
  7. John

    John Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,764
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Haha well, that is major overkill. But I can't speak as I have the same unit. But then again I got it for the same price as the 1kw unit. Rest assured that it is a fantastic PSU though, and it should last you a lifetime.
     
  8. Datagg3

    Datagg3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 5970 BE
    LOL.... well, I certainly wont have ot worry bout it no more..... With 3 HD's, 4 Fans, xi fi card, xi fi front panel, 2 Cd drives, card reader, the 4870X2, Tv tuner and lord knows what else i forgot, I have a pretty beefy unit.

    So, yeah overkill, but the peace of mind of power restraints certainly are long gone now....:banana:
     
  9. Bullu$

    Bullu$ Master Guru

    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R290X CFX@1050/1350
    Count me in!

    Got some benchmark of crysis, more benches are coming...

    31-8-2008 22:36:24 - Vista 64
    Beginning Run #1 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
    DX9 1900x1200, AA=No AA, Vsync=Disabled, 64 bit test, FullScreen
    Demo Loops=3, Time Of Day= 9
    Global Game Quality: High
    ================================================== ============
    TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
    !TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
    Play Time: 43.26s, Average FPS: 46.23
    Min FPS: 32.52 at frame 1966, Max FPS: 65.80 at frame 1616
    Average Tri/Sec: -33415426, Tri/Frame: -722852
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.27
    !TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
    Play Time: 38.44s, Average FPS: 52.04
    Min FPS: 31.46 at frame 1954, Max FPS: 74.48 at frame 86
    Average Tri/Sec: -37462100, Tri/Frame: -719939
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.27
    !TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
    Play Time: 38.52s, Average FPS: 51.93
    Min FPS: 31.46 at frame 1954, Max FPS: 74.48 at frame 86
    Average Tri/Sec: -37355608, Tri/Frame: -719380
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.27
    TimeDemo Play Ended, (3 Runs Performed)
    ================================================== ============

    Beginning Run #2 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
    DX9 1900x1200, AA=4x, Vsync=Disabled, 64 bit test, FullScreen
    Demo Loops=3, Time Of Day= 9
    Global Game Quality: High
    ================================================== ============
    TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
    !TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
    Play Time: 49.39s, Average FPS: 40.49
    Min FPS: 29.60 at frame 1973, Max FPS: 60.85 at frame 925
    Average Tri/Sec: -28007742, Tri/Frame: -691680
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.33
    !TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
    Play Time: 44.71s, Average FPS: 44.74
    Min FPS: 29.60 at frame 1973, Max FPS: 64.35 at frame 998
    Average Tri/Sec: -30867316, Tri/Frame: -689993
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.33
    !TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
    Play Time: 44.66s, Average FPS: 44.79
    Min FPS: 29.41 at frame 1956, Max FPS: 64.35 at frame 998
    Average Tri/Sec: -30893058, Tri/Frame: -689801
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.33
    TimeDemo Play Ended, (3 Runs Performed)
    ================================================== ============

    Beginning Run #3 on Map-island, Demo-benchmark_gpu
    DX9 1900x1200, AA=8x, Vsync=Disabled, 64 bit test, FullScreen
    Demo Loops=3, Time Of Day= 9
    Global Game Quality: High
    ================================================== ============
    TimeDemo Play Started , (Total Frames: 2000, Recorded Time: 111.86s)
    !TimeDemo Run 0 Finished.
    Play Time: 44.00s, Average FPS: 45.46
    Min FPS: 31.08 at frame 1944, Max FPS: 62.90 at frame 880
    Average Tri/Sec: -31896964, Tri/Frame: -701660
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.31
    !TimeDemo Run 1 Finished.
    Play Time: 40.35s, Average FPS: 49.56
    Min FPS: 31.08 at frame 1944, Max FPS: 65.38 at frame 100
    Average Tri/Sec: -34607852, Tri/Frame: -698285
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.31
    !TimeDemo Run 2 Finished.
    Play Time: 40.41s, Average FPS: 49.49
    Min FPS: 31.08 at frame 1944, Max FPS: 65.71 at frame 95
    Average Tri/Sec: -34525344, Tri/Frame: -697569
    Recorded/Played Tris ratio: -1.31
    TimeDemo Play Ended, (3 Runs Performed)
    ================================================== ============

    Completed All Tests

    <><><><><><><><><><><><><>>--SUMMARY--<<><><><><><><><><><><><><>

    31-8-2008 22:36:24 - Vista 64

    Run #1- DX9 1900x1200 AA=No AA, 64 bit test, Quality: High ~~ Overall Average FPS: 51,985
    Run #2- DX9 1900x1200 AA=4x, 64 bit test, Quality: High ~~ Overall Average FPS: 44,765
    Run #3- DX9 1900x1200 AA=8x, 64 bit test, Quality: High ~~ Overall Average FPS: 49,525

    No mods
    cat.8.8
    q6600@3.6GHz
    4gb
    vista 64ultimate
    HD4870x2 800/950
    patch 1.2

    Somebody also have that boost with 8xAA?I wonder why that is.
    And I also get temps of 100 degrees:eek:

    Who's watercooled their X2? what temps do you get?
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2008
  10. BladeRunner

    BladeRunner Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Asus 1080Ti STRIX
    update: 8,8s give the same flicker on a fresh XP (SP3) install when alt-tabbing ,and performance is very sluggish ,more sluggish than my 8800gtx ever was ,with 8.7 flicker is gone when alt-tabbing ,however the performance is worse, i can hear a lot of noise coming from CPU activities and perhaps PSU?? its just really tiny but wingy noise. a new psu i guess is inevitable..
     

  11. John

    John Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,764
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Blah, I've started to get some of those "driver has stopped responding" messages in Windows again. Happened once yesterday and twice today. Can't figure out what it is either, because I've not had a single one in one week until yesterday. Then all of a sudden they start appearing again! Please, let us have some new drivers soon!
     
  12. Datagg3

    Datagg3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 5970 BE
    WOW, it wasn't that long ago when we all were saying the same thing to Nvidia......

    I hope ATI dont botch this up like they did. Its been a very long time since ATI has held the crown, hope they don't drop the ball and get sent back into obscurity again.
     
  13. Dupoint

    Dupoint Master Guru

    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4870 X2 2GB
    Hey guys, I've noticed some terrible artifacting in 3D Mark Vantage (Jane Test)...using the latest Cat v8.8. GPU temp is fine, and also have both power connectors plugged in.

    What seems to be the issue? :S Other games run fine....
     
  14. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,445
    Likes Received:
    2,236
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    at what resolution is that ? i found out that it dont like 1440x900 at my end in some games, so im at 1280x800 atm, which is better somehow, atleast less flickering lol :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2008
  15. PaulvH

    PaulvH Member Guru

    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    2x XFX HD5870 H²O-EK CF
    That usually happens the first time that you run Vantage.
    If you reboot and run it again the artifacting should be gone ...
     

  16. Datagg3

    Datagg3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,907
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 5970 BE

    It did that for me too.... Wound up being my OC on the cpu it just didnt like. Had at 3.6, lowered to 3.4 and issue Stopped.
     
  17. John

    John Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,764
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    That's right. I've experienced that the system needs two reboots after a driver install, or else it will artifact like crazy. Very odd. The worst part is that it actually looks just like those artifacts you get when the card is faulty.
     
  18. BladeRunner

    BladeRunner Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,945
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Asus 1080Ti STRIX
    Ordered thermaltake toughpower 1200watt ,better hope it was worth it.
     
  19. John

    John Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,764
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Haha, this card makes everyone go berserk in the PSU department! :D
     
  20. mb

    mb Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 980 SC
    thats right... just got the shipping confirmation for the corsair hx1000w :p
     

Share This Page