480 gtx won't let me set my resolution to 1080p

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by BamaBob69, Nov 11, 2011.

  1. BamaBob69

    BamaBob69 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX480SC/GT240 Physx
    Is this a driver issue? 480 gtx won't let me set my resolution to 1080p

    I used to be able to set my monitor to to 1080p, 1920x1080 now when I try it jumps right back to pc setting not HD tv setting. can some one please tell me what I;m doing wrong
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2011
  2. BamaBob69

    BamaBob69 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX480SC/GT240 Physx
    Same post more info

    ok guys I have a hannspree hf 257 hi def monitor, I use to be able to set it to 1080p, 1920x1080 now it will only set it native 1920x1080 for PC it will not let me set it for HD TV any longer. I try to set in nvidia control panel and it reverts back to pc. Anybody got any ideals? is this a driver problem? Help please
     
  3. kitch9

    kitch9 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 7990 3GB
    Your monitor is telling the driver its a monitor so that is correct.

    I'm not sure why it would be a problem either way though? What is the problem?
     
  4. IKnowJack

    IKnowJack Member Guru

    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX470
    prolly a refresh rate issue...
    1080p HD mode on my system run at 59hz..
    1920x1080 PC mode runs at 60hz....

    but there is actually NO difference whatsoever for the monitor...it still displays 1920x1080@60hz in either HD or PC mode
     

  5. kitch9

    kitch9 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,891
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 7990 3GB
    From what I can gather thats just down to the rounding of the actual displayed hertz for each mode.

    With both your card and monitor may sync at 59.4hz, and one mode will show 59hz the other 60.... I wouldn't worry about it at all.
     
  6. BamaBob69

    BamaBob69 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX480SC/GT240 Physx
    thank you for the replies, and yes pc is at 60hz and tv is at 59hz. It's just the ideal it won't let me change it back to tv mode
     
  7. Mda400

    Mda400 Master Guru

    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    126
    GPU:
    3080Ti 1965/21.4G
    I use an LG 32ld450 1080p TV and i usually get this issue when im creating custom resolutions. Are there any custom resolutions you tried to force like 1920x1080 while you were in 59hz (windows 7 59hz bug perhaps?)

    If not, usually its dependent on the cable you are using. I use a mini HDMI to HDMI cable (came with my 480) and it knows its 1080p because HDMI is more familiar on TV displays rather than a monitor. A monitor should only BE on the PC setting. Your trying to trick your driver into thinking its a TV unless by monitor you ment TV.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2011
  8. ShadowWolf555

    ShadowWolf555 Active Member

    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX770 Gaming 2GB OC
  9. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,728
    Likes Received:
    1,016
    GPU:
    6800XT Nitro+ SE
    Just out of curiosity, if its the same as my TV I had to change the setting for that connection to PC.

    Connect to your HDMI input then when you change the mode from analogue/aerial, scart, hmdi, etc, etc. In the settings of the TV you can select options for each input like TV, GAMES, PC, etc. Select PC and then your PC will display 1080p just fine.
     
  10. IcE

    IcE Don Snow Staff Member

    Messages:
    10,692
    Likes Received:
    73
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1070 Mini
    It depends how you're connected, with DVI it does that 59hz thing, with HDMI it does 60.
     

Share This Page