1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

4 TB to clean Windows old updates

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by elaganza, Aug 12, 2016.

  1. elaganza

    elaganza Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Sapphire r9 380
    Hello, everybody. Decided to clean my Windows 10 thru cleanmgr.exe and got 4 TB !!! old Windows update files while i have about 3.5 TB on all my discs.Didn't risk to clean. Run checking all my disc but still have 4TB of garbage. will ry to run sfc /scannow and restart the system.
     
  2. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,312
    Likes Received:
    1,359
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Is there even 4TB of actual Windows ever released?

    Do you mean GBs?
     
  3. elaganza

    elaganza Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Sapphire r9 380
    Is there even 4TB of actual Windows ever released?

    Do you mean GBs?

    That's just it is 4 TB
     
  4. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,312
    Likes Received:
    1,359
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    4TBs of Windows updates?

    Do you have a screenshot?
     

  5. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,566
    Likes Received:
    882
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti Gaming X
    Sounds odd to have 4TB of WU files unless you've never ever reformatted your drive since Win 3.1 ;) Nah, joking but there must be some bug where WU downloads updates but never installs them then retries downloading the update in a new folder ad infinitum.
     
  6. elaganza

    elaganza Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Sapphire r9 380
    i have 18 posts but need 20 to post image :( Sorry i will post it later
     
  7. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,312
    Likes Received:
    1,359
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Just reply to this and you will be able to
     
  8. elaganza

    elaganza Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Sapphire r9 380
    now i have 19
     
  9. elaganza

    elaganza Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Sapphire r9 380
  10. elaganza

    elaganza Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Sapphire r9 380
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2016

  11. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,312
    Likes Received:
    1,359
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    I don't speak Russian if that's what it is, have you deleted that and has it accumulated again to that size?
     
  12. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,460
    Likes Received:
    2,689
    GPU:
    1080Ti @h2o
    I wouldn't even have a 4TB drive that could be used as a datadump by windows. And since it's labled 'SSD' on the end of the top bar, I think your SSD doesn't have 4TB either. I think it's a bug.
     
  13. elaganza

    elaganza Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Sapphire r9 380
    Usually i deleted by cleanmgr.exe command but i remember that yesterday i used "Windows Update MiniTool" app to update.Maybe that is the problem......anyway i just have finished now sfc /scannow and will go to restart.if that does not help i will try to clean "SoftwareDistribution" folder.
     
  14. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,312
    Likes Received:
    1,359
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    Nice catch, didn't see that lol
     
  15. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,312
    Likes Received:
    1,359
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    What size SSD do you use for your main Windows drive?
     

  16. elaganza

    elaganza Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Sapphire r9 380
    60gb. So i understand that is a bug. But never have seen it before.
     
  17. nav-jack

    nav-jack Master Guru

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 ti 1520/2000
    i got this same exact thing LOL shame i don't see it as i check disk cleanup again. i have an unactivated windows 10. it tried to do the new update and it failed out since i'm not activated, no issue there. but i don't restart my computer very often, so one night before going to bed i decided to check disk cleanup. check system files and bam, somehow my computer has over 3tb of update or install or something, mind you i only have a 120gb ssd boot disk and a 960gb ssd data drive. well i shut down my computer cuz there was a storm outside, and i guess that got rid of that lil bug number.
     
  18. elaganza

    elaganza Member Guru

    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Sapphire r9 380
    Actually we have a storm outside now :) Lets see what happens tomorrow.Maybe a bad mood of ssd.
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2016
  19. Extraordinary

    Extraordinary Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    19,312
    Likes Received:
    1,359
    GPU:
    GTX980 SLI
    I'd say ignore it, you don't have that size drive, and unless you continuously open disk cleanup, you won't see that bug

    Report it to MS
     
  20. alanm

    alanm Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,727
    Likes Received:
    1,182
    GPU:
    Asus 2080 Dual OC
    This whole thing could have been settled by OP from first post by stating what size drives he has. Although was pretty sure he didnt have 4tb win update files regardless.
     

Share This Page