390x bios leaked

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by WarDocsRevenge, Jun 16, 2015.

  1. CGabry

    CGabry Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX970 XTremeGaming
    Mine is Elpida, but with the modded 390x bios the voltage is very high... and 3dmark firestrike crashes...
     
  2. fatalfury 51

    fatalfury 51 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    290
    No have idea why, maybe your elpida memory is problem here? I only sharing my personal experience. My card is stable with 390x netkas bios and most people are fine with 390x bios on 290 cards, but some users reported problem with stability. I can't even boot to windows with "original" 390x bios because of 1500mhz memory and black screen issue, thats why i use bios modded by netkas with memory lowered to 1250mhz.
    You flashing bios from different card at your own risk, if your gpu dont like this this, just flash your original bios back, 1-2 fps gain isn't worth bricking your card.
     
  3. CGabry

    CGabry Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX970 XTremeGaming
    i mean the VDCC... Vcore 1.227V stock

    390x 1.289V

    I got the readings in gpu-z
     
  4. fatalfury 51

    fatalfury 51 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    290
    @Cgabry

    Well if your gpu-z reading are correct look's like this modded 390x bios is giving higher VDDC voltage on core than reference 290. But this isn't explain mine higher 3d mark score with this bios and i really dont know why your card is unstable. Just switch to original bios and have fun.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015

  5. bobrix

    bobrix Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI 970@1542/8000
    Lol, which bios gives you that vddc, the xfx shows on mine 0.955V and that is way too low for mine 290.
     
  6. primetime^

    primetime^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    904
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX Vega 64
    You guys able to flash your cards to 390s even only having 4gig cards? Pretty cool if it works even if its just allows higher clocks.....the hole re brand thing is great for those hanging onto there old cards
     
  7. bd712

    bd712 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    290x
    Total noob here, but I have a question about using the R9 300 Series driver.

    Will the driver be affected by whether I have the 290X or 390X bios installed? In other words, will different files or optimizations be utilized depending on the bios? Or are there other changes, but largely irrelevant to the driver?

    If there are some improvements made in the 300 Series drivers, will I see them by installing them onto my 290X using a modified version? Or will I need a flashed 390X bios to take advantage of said improvements?
     
  8. seaplane pilot

    seaplane pilot Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,295
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2080Ti Strix
    So the netkas BIOS u have loaded has the stock 390x MHz? When I downloaded the links yesterday I got the 390x 1050/1250 netkas 4GB BIOS version. My max mem clocks with the 390x 4GB BIOS are 1500MHz on the DRAM. I could not get stable 1500MHZ clocks with the stock 290x BIOS with Elp chips.

    I have two XFX Ref 290x's both with Elpida chips and I am able to run the modded 4GB 390x BIOS with 1050/1250MHz clocks @ 1100/1500MHz. Firestrike runs and scores over 20k with the modded 15.5.0 drivers.
    http://www.3dmark.com/fs/5140236

    3dMark scores great but when I launch BF4 the frames are within 60- 70s range when I normally get 90- 100 with vsync using the 14.5 or other betas on either the 290x stock BIOS or 390x modded BIOS.
    :pc1::infinity::pc1:
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015
  9. digital217

    digital217 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 290X Ref @1200Mhz@H²O
    Much thanks for this thread and the bios files. :thumbup:

    Flashed the modded Bios made by netkas and its working like a charm.

    Even though the vddc went up by 30mV, my card is actually cooler than before (from 52°C @ 290x Bios down to 46°C @390x Bios after 30 mins of full load)

    So thanks again,
    U guys rock :cheers:
     
  10. ultraex2003

    ultraex2003 Member Guru

    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    Amd 2x290 Cfx
    Flashed the modded Bios 4gb made by netkas gigabyte wind force 290x elpida mem
    problem i have crash 3dmark 11 and fire strike something with mem timmings maybe !

    edit: +too much voltage + temps i return to hawai bios !!
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015

  11. Plug2k

    Plug2k Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
    Well i have found the locations of my R9295x2

    core and memory. 1030/1300..

    589201 -core mhz location
    D0FB01 -memory mhz location

    It is actually pretty easy once you do it a few times it becomes 2nd nature :)
    now my issue is knowing what parts are what in the bios cause the memory is clock is found about 4-5 times in the bios and the core is found twice in the bios.

    then after that is finding the voltage strings.

    then hopefully after that is finding the ref and rev locations ......
    this is a pain in the ass lol
     
  12. fatalfury 51

    fatalfury 51 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    290
    Hi. I did some more tests with this bios and as some guys reported, VDDC voltage is higher in 390x bios. On mine card this is +50mv more than 290x bios under stress. Also in metro Last Light Benchmark my VRM1 temp went from 79c to 89c with the same clocks. Meybe this is causing instabilty in some cards (too much voltage + lower memory timings). We dont know how this new bios managing voltage on different cards. I start thinking this is not good idea with keeping this modded 390x bios 24/h. In games i have no performance gain. The only benefit i have only in 3d mark.

    @edit
    my card crashes in occt test right now. This is first crash with 390x mod, im back to hawaii bios.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015
  13. killadark

    killadark New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4870 512mb
    Sooo i hav the r9 290 TRI-X
    Tried to flash it but did not work no POST :/ i though tri-x and reference were same

    Now i am on my 2nd backup bios any 1 know how to flash stock rom to the 1st bios with no post when switched to it .

    Thanks

    BTW i used the win98 boot method thru DOS
     
  14. MojoW

    MojoW Member Guru

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080 G1 Gaming
    Just start up dos and as soon as dos is started flip the switch to the bios with no post.
    Now just flash like you normally would flash and it will flash the right bios.

    Edit:Which bios did you use?
    As i have a 290 tri-x and a reference 290 both working fine with the netkas 4gb one.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015
  15. killadark

    killadark New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4870 512mb
    i used netkas only, it probably is cause i had the ver. which could not unlock to 290x

    i hav the r9 290 tri-x OC ver (i can get very high OC on this actually 1190 core stable in waitcher 3 100% fan)
     

  16. Plug2k

    Plug2k Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
    [​IMG]

    UEFI support added to my R9295X2 and when turning off CMS in bios i get no black screen WOOOT :)

    ok now to find voltage readings in hex hahha
     
  17. bobrix

    bobrix Active Member

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI 970@1542/8000
    Good luck with voltage :) It wont be just one value but at least 12, take two 7950 bioses, change vddc in vbe7 for one of them compare in HxD, see how many values changed.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015
  18. Plug2k

    Plug2k Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
    bobrex im guessing your struggling with that one also then.
     
  19. MojoW

    MojoW Member Guru

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080 G1 Gaming
    Actually both my cards don't unlock and both of them do 1150 max on the core aircooled with extra voltage, so it should work for you.
    And my tri-x is the same version as yours.
    I also tried the 8gb one and i can boot but i can not install any drivers.
    So every bios here boots for me without a black screen.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015
  20. killadark

    killadark New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 4870 512mb
    Could tell me how u flashed ur bios, maybe i did something wrong its the first time i did this.

    Beacause i get 3 beeps from the computer when i try to load with the 390x bios
     

Share This Page