390x bios leaked

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by WarDocsRevenge, Jun 16, 2015.

  1. MojoW

    MojoW Member Guru

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080 G1 Gaming
    Thanks!
    You are the best i'm lucky i'm from the netherlands, so i know enough german to read that.

    Edit:
    How does 409601 come from 019640?
    You don't say how to caculate that.
    It just looks like the numbers are shuffled around randomly.

    Edit2:I found it.
    You turn around the first 2 digits with the last 2 digits.
    Maybe you should include that in the guide.
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2015
  2. netkas

    netkas Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Many
    it could be hardware strap.

    need to compare pcb of original amd's 290x and 390x. Some resistor movement might help.

    But I haven't seen a reference design of card in any of reviews.

    fatalfury 51

    thanks for test. I compared 290x to 390x in gta5 at 4k and saw no noticable difference. 3dmark would be a better test then.
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2015
  3. Krteq

    Krteq Master Guru

    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    298
    GPU:
    RX Vega 56 +64 BIOS
    OK, thx. I will try to dig some Hi-res PCB photos from TPU and compare them.
     
  4. DDSZ

    DDSZ Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 290 unlocked
    Can you explain bios memory support? Is this made for like different profiles for different mem chips(timings etc)? Whats the problem of using bios that supports only Hynix chips on card with Elpida mem? Will it even work?
     

  5. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    new bios have lower memory timings and elpida is not able to keep up :)
     
  6. JonMS

    JonMS Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 980Ti FTW
    Have the initiative to do it yourself and if changing ~4 values is too difficult for you than you shouldn't be trying anyway.
     
  7. JonMS

    JonMS Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 980Ti FTW
    I ran the bios on my elpida card fine... with some hiccups getting into windows :p
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2015
  8. MojoW

    MojoW Member Guru

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080 G1 Gaming
    So the only users that suppose to use this are users that know how to?
    And i'm asking the users here for a guide to do it myself, so why should i do it myself?
    It's not way to difficult but when your unsure it's good to have a guide.
    I will learn how and when i will i'll help everyone like a real member of this forum!
    I'm happy there are users like sTOrM41 as he has allready wrote a guide albeit in german.

    But thanks for your useless reply!
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2015
  9. JonMS

    JonMS Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 980Ti FTW
    Everything you need to know, netkas provided.
     
  10. |ALE|

    |ALE| Guest

    i'have tried the uefi tool to fix the checksum and it works, thanks! i have tried to edit a value "near" the frequencies, 12500 thinking was 1.25v to 127500 (1.275v) but no changes on gpuz reading.... if someone has some link to find the voltage hexadecimal value for 2d/3d it will be apprecciated, just a little step to full edit 290x bios and solve this http://www.overclock.net/t/1441349/290-290x-black-screen-poll
     

  11. MojoW

    MojoW Member Guru

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080 G1 Gaming
    Yes i know and i am thankful that he found the way.
    But he provided a google search and which software to use.
    But sTOrM41 provided a guide without googling, it's all the info you need.
    And thanks to that guide i now know how to do it!
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2015
  12. netkas

    netkas Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Many
    Anyone have tried a simple trick?

    change device id in 290x bios to device id of 7970 (change every b0 67 to 98 67)

    then try to open bios in vbe7

    if it opens, change voltage, clocks, etc, save.

    change device-id back to 290x, fix checksum, flash.
     
  13. |ALE|

    |ALE| Guest

    for a little moment i had i dream! but it seems that doesn't work, VBe7 refuse to open, unsupported.
     
  14. tx12

    tx12 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290 4GB
    It should be inside the chip. External straps are not controlling RevID field nor Device ID field. You can search for some notebook schematics with discrete AMD GPU to check hardware straps config.
    Only possible way to edit RevID seems to be BIOS override. But I doubt its possible at all.
    Should be easier to patch drivers to accept REV00 (losing driver signing).
     
  15. DDSZ

    DDSZ Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 290 unlocked
    Got it working. It even passes Firestrike, but with some artifacts.
    Windforce 3X OC with Elpida DEBUG2 memory.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015

  16. CGabry

    CGabry Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX970 XTremeGaming
    Your 290 is reference?? (ELPIDA or Hynix)
     
  17. Plug2k

    Plug2k Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
    i give up hahaha.... its the hex then add zero`s then reverse then search that i cant wrap my head around when i convert that german guide to english lol
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2015
  18. fatalfury 51

    fatalfury 51 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    290
    yes, reference 290 with hynix memory and gelid icy vision cooler
    here is link to screenshot from gpu-z (i cannot post images yet)
    postimg.org/image/d70i2risx

    I did a lot of benchmarks of 3d mark fire strike , every time the bios from 390x gives me 200-300+ more graphics score and 200+ overall score more than original 290 bios with the same gpu/memory clock. I am sure this must be associated to lower gddr5 timings in 390x bios.
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2015
  19. mtrai

    mtrai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,175
    Likes Received:
    369
    GPU:
    PowerColor RD Vega
    Has anyone gotten a 390 or 390x with samsung memory?
     
  20. MojoW

    MojoW Member Guru

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080 G1 Gaming
    I had the same in the beginning but let's take your clocks for instance.
    1018 MHz
    1250 MHz
    you take your 1018 clock and you add 2 zero's so it becomes 101800.
    Enter that as dec in the calculator and it becomes 18DA8 in hex.
    Now you have to put a zero in front of the hex like this 018DA8.
    After that switch the first 2 digits with the last 2 digits like this A88D01.
    Search for A88D01 in the bios with your hex editor of choice and it will find it.
    Edit it to what you want and repeat with your memory clock, after your done just save it.
    Then fix the checksum with the HD7XX UEFI Patch Tool Beta and save again.

    I hope this helps and good luck!
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015

Share This Page