390x bios leaked

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by WarDocsRevenge, Jun 16, 2015.

  1. netkas

    netkas Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Many
    tx12

    Specially for you, modified bios, 14.12 official driver

    [​IMG]
     
  2. seaplane pilot

    seaplane pilot Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,295
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2080Ti Strix
    My flashed Ref. XFX 290x in crossfire @ 1100MHz/ 1500MHz / AMD_Catalyst_15.150.0.0_June11-asder00

    http://www.3dmark.com/fs/5140236

    20008 with AMD Radeon R9 290X(2x) and Intel Core i7-3930K Processor

    Graphics Score
    26121

    Physics Score
    16680

    Combined Score
    8147
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2015
  3. |ALE|

    |ALE| Guest

    Netkas, i can edit via hex editor the bios and then patch trough the python script? or i must use Atomdis?
     
  4. netkas

    netkas Active Member

    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Many
    Atomdis is just a little helpe, might be not needed.

    Jsut dont modify anything past 0x10000 where uefi is located.


    Also, there is no point in flashing 290x with 390x rom, at same clocks the performance is same with both cards and one cant install original 15.15 drivers anyway.
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2015

  5. tx12

    tx12 Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290 4GB
    Thank you! I've never checked that on newer drivers for myself. So slowpoke.

    It's really a good news: R9 290's BIOS signature is NOT checked at least since 14.12.
    I'v just tried a BIOS with intentionally broken sig and it also worked with 14.501 (and failed with Code 43 on windows 7 with 13.251 driver).

    So, in short words: edited BIOS's signature is broken but its not checked for R9 290 at least since 14.12.

    Not sure about newer cards. They wery well may enforce checks for latest cards but drop older ones.
     
  6. JonMS

    JonMS Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 980Ti FTW
  7. |ALE|

    |ALE| Guest

    someone can help me edit a bios of 290x dc2 to give +25mv on gpu? on the hex editor i have found the frequencies tab but i cannot recognize the voltage hexadecimal... i know only that on 3d gpuz reads 1.156v a 1050mhz but i think there is a vdrop.

    [​IMG]

    28 9A 01 -> 01 9A 28 = 1050mhz GPU
    58 0F 02 -> 02 0F 58 = 1350mhz RAM

    where is my gpu voltage?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 19, 2015
  8. bobrix

    bobrix Active Member

    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI 970@1542/8000
    It's not that simple as clocks :/, im trying to find it but there are many values changing in 7950 bios after modifying vddc and i dont know the default value of mine 290 like the mem or gpu. Gpuz readings are probably not accurate.
    I have used atomdis but dont know what too look for or how to use it for finding vddc values.
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2015
  9. JonMS

    JonMS Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 980Ti FTW
    Upload your bios, i think I figured it out.
     
  10. Plug2k

    Plug2k Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
    question......
    if i use that patch program on my stock r9295x2 bios files master and slave will it add uefi to my bios`s ????? as i need that for windows 10 lol

    also if they want to get creative :D i could do with my bios`s edited for 1150core 1600 memory with 40% powertune enabled at default and +60mv added to voltage :D
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2015

  11. MojoW

    MojoW Member Guru

    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 1080 G1 Gaming
    Could someone make a detailed how to on editing the 290/290x and 390/390x bios?
    As nobody wants to make a bios for me and i think more users would like the ability to edit their bios.
    All we have now is scattered information about hex editing and a hint to google a 2011 thread about the checksum fix.
    If nobody is gonna give a custom bios on demand then at least give proper instructions on how to do it ourselves, isn't that what this forum is all about?
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2015
  12. DDSZ

    DDSZ Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 290 unlocked
    As I understand it only supports Hynix mem. Any way to add Elpida memory support from 290's ROM?
     
  13. DrunkenDonkey

    DrunkenDonkey Master Guru

    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    2xPC 290 PCS+
    Surprised the checks are gone now and we are free to do anything we please with bios pretty much, I stand corrected.
    As for being mentioned up there the sig can't get the whole data - ofc it can, I'm using this on many devices I do firmware for - need to have unchangeable, "bootloader" part of the firmware that verifies the rest, the whole procedure:
    1. In AMD on new firmware release
    - compute sha256 on the firmware
    - encrypt the result with rsa2048, resulting in 256 byte block
    - add it to the firmware file (either by appending at the start/end given that loader tool will handle proper positioning upon flashing, or at a specific "hole" left by the linker when compiling the firmware)
    - release

    2. Inside the videocard's bootloader
    - computes sha256 on the firmware
    - decrypts the rsa256 block (located either at some place put by the flasher or the prealocated block the linker left empty at compile time) with the statically linked rsa256 public part and extracts the signature
    - compare both signatures, if they don't match do some matrix-style effect on the screen and power off.

    There is some point in limiting bios editing to prevent people damaging their cards via some extreme values, flashing back the stock bios (given the thing works at all) and returning for replacement, but I doubt it is too widespread, I'd love to mod my bios to be on settings I'd like, so will try some of these days, thanks for letting me know it is free to do now :)
     
  14. SetsunaFZero

    SetsunaFZero Active Member

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Msi 980Ti 6G
  15. WarDocsRevenge

    WarDocsRevenge Master Guru

    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fury-x Crossfire
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B3y5hldpEFDYeU91d29kRmlKSW8/view?usp=sharing this is the msi 390x could you edit it to 4gb's please and 1300 memory clock XFX isnt really a good card or bios
     

  16. sTOrM41

    sTOrM41 Master Guru

    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 970 @ 1500 MHz
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2015
  17. Krteq

    Krteq Master Guru

    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    298
    GPU:
    RX Vega 56 +64 BIOS
    THX... any clue how to change REV_00 to REV_80 to get "full" R9 390(X)?
     
  18. fatalfury 51

    fatalfury 51 New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    290
    @edit
    After a lot of more testing i changed my mind.
    NOT worth to flash390x 4gb bios on reference 290. No real performance gain (only in 3d mark), higher default VDDC voltage, higher VRM1 temps and overall problems with stability.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2015
  19. BoMbY

    BoMbY Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fury X
    I guess this is actually an hardware ID, which cannot be overwritten by the BIOS?
     
  20. |ALE|

    |ALE| Guest

Share This Page