390x bios leaked

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by WarDocsRevenge, Jun 16, 2015.

  1. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
  2. asder00

    asder00 Don Di Driver Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64 Liquid
  3. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    so its probably not bios related?
     
  4. Plug2k

    Plug2k Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
    hey 1 bit mate how do i change the power limit, is the setting there in the program to change that ?

    im guessing the power limit should be the same as the TDP max right as there both W and there both exactly the same value
    also TDC limit , im trying to get 1150/1600 so for say somewhere up to around 1200mhz what should the tdp max be set to and the power limit be set to for those power clocks also should i change the tdc limit also. ? dont want to put anything in there that can burn the card out lol just some thing safe so as i dont run into any power issues trying to get 1150 - 1200mhz ect 3d clocks.
     

  5. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    yes there is option to change it in bios reader but not tested it yet
    still mesing with voltage table and memory/gpu clocks

    0xA47F 300 Mhz 24-bit
    0xA484 300 Mhz 24-bit
    0xA489 300 Mhz 24-bit
    0xA48E 300 Mhz 24-bit
    0xA493 300 Mhz 24-bit
    0xA498 300 Mhz 24-bit
    0xA49D 300 Mhz 24-bit
    0xA4A2 1000 Mhz 24-bit

    just testing this as gpu clocks it seems to have interesting results o_O
     
  6. Plug2k

    Plug2k Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB

    hahah :D
    probably best to add a check box that is called advanced and keep the default with as little a settings as possible
    only memory / core / udv and voltages for those 2 and hide the rest :D
    and only unlock in the advanced section haha :p though good on ya for testing this stuff out though with a card with a bios switch its virtually impossible to brick a card ...
    still waiting on support being added so that people can change the vendor and card id so that they can install say amd drivers and get the r390x or fury optimizations and make there card show up as R300 :p though i guess that would be usefull for GCN 2 AKA R290 and 290x and R9295x2 people :p
     
  7. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    ok so voltage table edit works :D but dunno exactly which value is used :D :D check my modified bios
    [​IMG]

    this is bios i used to get 1180mV (look how smooth the 1180mV line is amazing :D)
    [​IMG]

    EDIT: hmm cant get 1137mV to get working its still 1180 (maybe there are some working levels?)
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2015
  8. |ALE|

    |ALE| Guest

    i have tried to up first 3 values of voltages that seems 2d voltage to avoid BS but no higher voltage on msi ab/gpuz.

    i need only to have 25mh on 2d because when ram goes to 1350mhz (i have a 290x dc2) and gpu remains to 2d frequencies, voltage remains to 2d too and is too low so i have a black screen.
     
  9. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    2D voltages are not affected by this table.. :-( this needs more research

    EDIT: added development tab for easy value search if you know address (looks for 16bit/24bit values and tables on position)
    [​IMG]
    EDIT2: VoltageObjectInfo is very important in getting new vcore levels (if you dont mess with it card knows only few vcore levels)
    this is key to understand what is in that table
    args.in.ucVoltageType = VOLTAGE_TYPE_VDDC;
    args.in.ucVoltageMode = ATOM_GET_VOLTAGE_EVV_VOLTAGE;
    args.in.usVoltageLevel = cpu_to_le16(virtual_voltage_id);
    args.in.ulSCLKFreq =
    cpu_to_le32(rdev->pm.dpm.dyn_state.vddc_dependency_on_sclk.entries[entry_id].clk);

    so i will try to parse 1byte + 1byte + 2byte from that table and see what happen
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2015
  10. gupsterg

    gupsterg Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    Just an update on me chasing how to set GPU Core voltage offset.

    I have found it!

    [​IMG]

    It's in the VoltageObjectInfo ! :D I made no other edits to test bios! :D

    The way I found it was comparing first The Stilt V32 & V2C roms, besides the difference of 4 extra hex codes in VoltageObjectInfo between them there were 5 HEX codes differing in what I call the padding zone.

    How I found padding zones:-

    001c: ab78 Len 05e4 Rev 02:01 (VRAM_Info) (struct size 0354)

    Padding between above and below table length 348

    001f: b4a4 Len 0094 Rev 03:01 (ASIC_ProfilingInfo/ASIC_VDDCI_Info) (struct size 0022)

    As I said in an earlier post atomdis numbers command & data tables in output it does but they are not in order of how they are in the bios. So first job IMO is to place them in order using the start offset. Then using the length get the end offset and you'll see padding between them if there is.

    Next I checked the Sapphire TriX 290 OC bios & Sapphire Vapor-X 290X OC and it also had those 4 extra hex codes in VoltageObjectInfo.

    Sapphire TriX 290 OC bios 8D 00 04 00 (04 HEX to DEC 4 , 4 x 6.25mv = +25mv)
    Sapphire Vapor-X 290X OC bios 8D 00 04 00 (04 HEX to DEC 44 x 6.25mv = +25mv)
    The Stilt V2C bios 8D 00 06 00 (06 HEX to DEC 6, 6 x 6.25mv = +37.5mv)

    I edited the Vapor-X 290X OC bios from HEX code 04 to 06 and got +38mv in MSI AB.

    Now to make my GPU: 1100MHz RAM: 1525MHz with 44mV GPU core voltage offset Rev2 bios!

    [​IMG]
     

  11. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    thats good but its not complete control over voltagelevels :D just offset :-/ i want to set 2D voltage as low as possible without messing with 3D voltage

    EDIT: i found base voltage :) its 0xB541 in V32
    150*6.25 = 938 which is what is my base voltage in afterburner :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2015
  12. gupsterg

    gupsterg Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    Cheers! I agree its not complete control. Why I wanted to be able to just use GPU core voltage offset was due to how posts I'd read how ASIC rating effected gpu voltage. IIRC even The Stilt roms behave different depending on ASIC rating. So with the offset you change less of the variable voltage situation, I'm guessing? IIRC The Stilt also removed EVV which I think means Electronic Variable Voltage?

    Any how just chuffed to bits I got fully custom bios how I wanted, now I can PM The Stilt stating it's done!

    Link:- My modded bios quick test
     
  13. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    i need to install some native ubuntu as linux can read these values and show them in human readable format

    when i see what to look for then its easy to parse it out

    EDIT:
    USHORT usVoltageLevel; // real voltage level in unit of mv
    USHORT usVoltageId; // Voltage Id programmed in Voltage Regulator
    ULONG ulReseved;
    [​IMG]
    so its 2x2byte then 4 byte empty space but values are weird...
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2015
  14. |ALE|

    |ALE| Guest

    can you put on hawai BIOS editor the offset change discovered by gupsterg?
     
  15. DDSZ

    DDSZ Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 290 unlocked
    [​IMG]
    So thats how it works? :D

    **EDIT**
    Still having black screen on TriX 390x rom, even with +75mV :(
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2015

  16. |ALE|

    |ALE| Guest

    editing those 3 values doesn't worked for me, no changes in MSI ab/gpuz voltage reading
     
  17. gupsterg

    gupsterg Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    If you're changing the values marked by DDSZ in the HawaiiReader Voltage Table in powerplay tab, that is not what I did.

    Yes I changed the 04.

    The 290 / 290X bioses which have a VoltageObjectInfo table with the HEX codes 8D 00 (xx) 00 work for GPU voltage offset modding.

    Voltage Table in the Hawaii reader is unchanged from stock values in The Stilt roms and Sapphire roms I viewed with these HEX codes.

    I have not had time yet to see if a bios does not have 8D 00 (xx) 00 in VoltageObjectInfo how you add it. Adding these HEX values changes length of table so somewhere else in bios HEX may need removing (what I call padding)? plus the first HEX of VoltageObjectInfo would need changing to correspond with new length. Also 6D 00 DF 00 is not present in the Stilt rom but is in the AIB roms which have GPU core voltage offset hex code.

    This is all I know at present.

    The Stilt ROM has these GPU voltage offset hex in differing location within VoltageObjectInfo compared to others.

    [​IMG]

    You can also see differing location with VoltageObjectInfo between Sapphire TriX 290 OC vs VaporX 290X OC bios.

    TriX 290 STD vs OC

    [​IMG]

    Asus DCUII 290X STD vs VaporX 290X STD vs VaporX 290X OC

    [​IMG]

    *** edit ***

    Link:- Test video for +50mV
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2015
  18. |ALE|

    |ALE| Guest

    this is (i think) the same part of bios of my DC2 290x like your screenshot

    [​IMG]

    what i should edit to add +25mv or maybe +50mv offset on my gpu voltage?
     
  19. Plug2k

    Plug2k Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
    cant wait until you add a slider to your editor with these new offsets so we can ulter the voltages ....
    i have tried with my R9295x2 and the last 6 strings i have changed and no voltage change in windows.
     
  20. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2015

Share This Page