390x bios leaked

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by WarDocsRevenge, Jun 16, 2015.

  1. Fender178

    Fender178 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,029
    Likes Received:
    147
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 | GTX 1060
    Looking good guys but I have a question is there any benefits of flashing a 290 to a 390 or a 290X to a 390X such as more voltage for higher and better overclocks and lower temps?
     
  2. |ALE|

    |ALE| Master Guru

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury X
    love you!

    worked like a charm on my r290x dc2 bios.

    about 8° gained only with a little tweak on the bad fan default profile.
     
  3. Plug2k

    Plug2k Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
    http://www.megafileupload.com/4Ja3/ASUS_+_MSI_BIOS_R9295X2.rar

    there ya go mate click free user shouldnt take long to download 0.3 seconds lol
    i have added asus r9 295X2 1030-1300 untouched rtl bios
    and the bios i use on my msi r9295x2 witch is Asus 1030-1300 + uefi gop added cusom bios.

    once support is added to those 2 bios`s then i think you wont be that far off from adding support for all R9295x2 bios`s.
     
  4. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2015

  5. gupsterg

    gupsterg Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    Just as an update RE comparing XFX stock 290X bios with The Stilt V32.

    I was struggling comparing the bioses due to how the data tables where at different locations and some had different lengths.

    Powerplay , VoltageObjectInfo table and VRAM_Info where different in coding and length so I came up with this method which speeded up the process.

    View video link:- removed

    Why I start removing data from the end of bios upwards is this allowed me to cross ref atomdis tables to remove / cutout code for comparing.

    All command tables listed in the tables that Atomdis creates are identical between XFX & The Stilt.

    The FirmwareInfo differs with 4 hex code changes.

    Also there is a difference how The Stilt organizes bios, view image.

    [​IMG]

    Data between areas 0 -A101 between both bioses varies alot and the atomdis tables give no labeling information for those sections or length, perhaps this is due to old atomdis being used?

    There is also no reference for the data after the command tables finish in tables produced by atomdis.

    *** edit ***

    I have removed the video, Ihave today found out that the command tables list made by atomdis is also not in order :( . So I'm starting comparative again!
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2015
  6. |ALE|

    |ALE| Master Guru

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury X
  7. Plug2k

    Plug2k Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,499
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
    Thanks man and well done keep up the great work looking forward to more compatibility and fixes for R9295x2 ;)
    also if its possible to change the vendor id to say asus or any other brand :)
    or even better to be able to change the ID of the card and the bios name of the card so that future drivers you install get installed for R390x :)

    -------------------------------------------------------

    just a little grip though not sure if you can fix this or add it in future.
    but in this image.

    [​IMG]

    You can see the black circled area`s.
    there is no way to identify what voltage is for what say 2d / 3d / uvd / ect ect
    same goes for memory frequency, no idea what is 3d memory 2d memory or uvd memory as in if someone wanted to change those to there custom settings ect there is no way to identify what changes what... ect ect

    just something to add for future revisions of the program :D

    again i will leave it at that BTW AGAIN awesome work.
     
  8. gupsterg

    gupsterg Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    In powerplay tab GPU / RAM Freq. table lists DPM 0 -7, marked in image.

    [​IMG]

    Blue box is CCC Overdrive Limits for GPU / RAM , the bios values are being read wrong.

    Under other tab the tables you see are marked in this image.

    [​IMG]

    I have requested to OneB1t to add extra to those areas so data have more meaning for user ;) .

    I have calculated how DPM 0 - 7 is done on the 290X bios by comparing stock 290X with Vaopr X 290X STD and OC edition bioses.

    [​IMG]

    The 390X also must have similar method but differing % of DPM7.

    There are links with further info on those states for anyone in this post Link:- http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=5111644&postcount=377

    I have been comparing the Vapor X 290X STD & OC edition bioses and they only adjust clocks in GPU / RAM freq DPM0-7 sections and not ACP / SAMU . VCE & UVD don't seem to have any editable clocks associated and I think work at full GPU speed (DPM7).

    [​IMG]

    Quick view of 390X bioses through the OneB1t Hawaii APP also confirms they also do exactly the same for VCE UVD ACP SAMU as with 290X bios.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2015
  9. undeadpolice

    undeadpolice Master Guru

    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX980 K|NGP|N (SLI)
    One of my brother's Asus R9 290X reference is fried after trying to push the voltages with powerplay.

    Luckily a close friend of my is working as a manager at distributor, He manage to exchange the both reference for two Asus 290X Matrix Platinum, because its still under warranty.

    Now I'm regretting that I've brought GTX 980 and given my brother my old 290x, should have just held on the old one and RMA it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2015
  10. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2015

  11. TheDukeSD

    TheDukeSD Member Guru

    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    MSI GT 1030 2GH OC
    Thanks for the informations provided here and in overclock.net forum ( 290 / 290X Bios Editing topic; i assume it's you there also cause it's the same nickname :p). I finally managed to fix the bios of my old hd 4350 that had the powerplay structure messed up ( basicaly only the boot state was right, rest were unknow or not used:)) ), now my antique hd 4350 works as it supposed to work (can't flash it with another bios, I lose the dvi port, somehow the vga connections that supposed to go to the dvi port actually go to the vga port, and the ones that supposed to go to the vga port actually go to the dvi port, so if i use another bios i end up without a working dvi port, vga port still works but the gpu actually thinks that i'm using an dvi-to-vga adapter (linux say the display is connected to dvi when in fact it's connected to vga) (and yes i made sure that i always used a bios from another hd 4350 that had hynix memory)).

    Sorry for the offtopic, just wanted to say thanks :). I will keep an eye on this topic, maybe I will find something broke in the bios of my hd 7750, so far the other 3 amd/ati gpus (hd 5670,4650,4350) that I have needed some fixes in the bios (hd 5670 needed the uvd clocks changed to match the max clocks to fix the well known uvd bug with hd 5xxx, the hd 4650 had the boot memory clock set too high (some white flashes during boot process, no issue after the driver was loading cause it was switching to the right mem clocks) and the hd 4350 had some "nice" powerplay states boot/unknown/high perf/unknown anyway the high perf was never used because the driver was no longer checking after finding the first unknown).
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2015
  12. |ALE|

    |ALE| Master Guru

    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury X
    maybe for the voltage it must be edited every value to up the offset. So for +25mv may be it must be added 25mv on every value?
     
  13. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    yep that is possible but not tested yet :) someone brave enought can try it :D :D

    from what i seen every bios have differet VDCII table so it seems to be way to change voltage

    i still think that there is 3x7 states because of different ASIC quality
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2015
  14. gupsterg

    gupsterg Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    No worries I'm glad it helped :) .

    TBH netkas really kicked it off in this thread about the hawaii bios editing. Then with the added input of others and some of my own meddling it's getting further :D .

    When I'd googled or asked about it in other forums the reply was no due to digital signatures.

    The OCN thread I started as wanted to create a easy to follow guide. It's been a learning curve that's for sure!

    Last night I thought I'd nailed comparing the Stilt bios with Stock but noticed today when going over stuff that the tables atomdis creates are not in order for even the command tables :bang: (I sussed this from looking at the offset codes it gives for start and length of a table).

    So I have started again comparing the bioses :nerd: .

    I just need to find out how to change GPU core voltage offset stored in Sapphire bios from 31mV to 44mv so can run 1100MHz GPU 1525MHz RAM without using software in windows to enable it.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2015
  15. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    if you just modify last 3 values in VDDCI table and add +13mV to them its done :)

    EDIT: i just flashed modified bios with some different vcore values and it not burned down to ground :D :D

    on the left there is bios with my changed values on right its 390X XFX 1000/1350 4GB
    [​IMG]

    flash was successfull and card seems like using little less power

    card fluctuates between values in powertable and it depends on how much amps are drawned from

    EDIT2: maybe good test will be to set all VDDCI values to 1180mV and see how it works in afterburner i will check that later as i know my reader/editor works fine :)

    EDIT3: ok my change totally works card is now unstable :D :D (so lower Vcore is not good for my card)
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2015

  16. gupsterg

    gupsterg Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    Thank you for test and update :D , will try out later myself .

    Why I haven't edited that in app is these reasons:-

    1. Sapphire 290X bios with +31mv offset have same voltages table (the one in app) as Asus 290X and that has +0mv offset in MSI AB.

    2. I also compared those sections between above 2 bioses and Stilt V2C (+38 offset) & Stilt V32 (+0mv offset) and they are also the same.
     
  17. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    also managed to change 2D card clock from 300 to 310 so that works too :) (next step is to lower it to smth like 250 to decrease 2D power consumption)

    there must be some number for offset voltage setting but voltage table editing seems to work too

    EDIT: i cant change 2D voltage from 0.938 to 0.9 even there is 0.9 in voltage table... thats weird
    EDIT2: if you go under 300Mhz in 2D clock it automatically jumps to second level (so 533Mhz) so no way to lower 2D clock :(
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2015
  18. asder00

    asder00 Don Di Driver Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64 Liquid
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2015
  19. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    but he keeps same device id in gpu-z and its still working
     
  20. asder00

    asder00 Don Di Driver Staff Member

    Messages:
    1,193
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64 Liquid

Share This Page