1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

390x bios leaked

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by WarDocsRevenge, Jun 16, 2015.

  1. Plug2k

    Plug2k Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,482
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    2x Gigabyte Fe 1080TI +WB
    cant wait until someone makes a front end for for hex reader, for reading 290x and 390x bios`s and be able to edit them with said program then it does the hex editing for you, then you run crc fix them with that patcher and your good to go :)
     
  2. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    its easy to make it into my program but i dont want to do this yet as we dont have full info about how it works and you can f*ck your card pretty bad while playing with this


    @DDSZ: send commits into my repository ;) no need for forks
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2015
  3. gupsterg

    gupsterg Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    I will soon be testing :) .

    Method I'm using:-

    1) Marking data graphically between STD Vapor-X 290X powerplay & OC Vapor-X 290X.

    2) STD bios is newer than OC going to clock STD bios @ OC speeds for GPU / RAM VDDC clocks, as rest of the 3 sections is same.

    3) Already have MSI AB graphs data on how my STD bios powerplay adjust voltage at default values (0mv & 31mV offset) for DPM0-7 / Clocks. Coupling that info with The Slit roms workout safe voltages to apply as Sapphire bios is also applying +31mv to default voltages.

    I'm also bearing in mind that The Slit stated this:

    On a 290X specimen with a medium level leakage properties the set voltage of 1.1875V results around 1.12V when measured with a DMM.

    So we have ASIC rating in play and perhaps also a GPU VID(?).

    His voltages are safer IMO as he was lowering volts from stock. So power consumption lower to save electric, making mining more cost efficient.

    *** edit ***

    Here is image with some notes on making bios like OC factory for purpose of clocks.

    [​IMG]

    Next update voltages! :) .
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2015
  4. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325

  5. BRENX

    BRENX New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    xfx r9 290 locked
    Hawaii bios reader wrks great in win 8.1 x 64

    thx
     
  6. Jackalito

    Jackalito Master Guru

    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon Vega 56
    I've just given it a go with my Sapphire R9 290X Tri-X OC 4GB Hynix (UEFI BIOS) [GPU: 1040MHz / Memory: 1300MHz] on Windows 10 x64 PRO (build 10158). These are my values:

    Overview: (Is it normal to get those funny characters on the PowerTable Content field?)
    [​IMG]

    PowerPlay:
    [​IMG]

    Fan profile:
    [​IMG]

    Other...
    [​IMG]

    Cheers! :)
     
  7. BRENX

    BRENX New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    xfx r9 290 locked
    some can manage this bios for 390 non x? reference (elpida)

    ht tp://s 000.tinyupload.com/ ?file_id=043 45227987569784919

    Thanks for all.

    Sorry my bad english.
     
  8. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    yep its normal to get that funny characters i added this just to visualy comfirm that 2 bioses are different :)
     
  9. gupsterg

    gupsterg Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
  10. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    because this card have different size powerplay table send me this bios in PM and ill fix it asap ;)

    (thats why there is unknown card in powertable size)

    also this modified 390X bios with powertable from 290X is malformed :D and dunno how to fix it :( (as its 660 size powerplay table but there is just 648 table included)

    EDIT: both me and DDSZ fixed sapphire 390X bios read :D also refreshed exe file on repository for new version :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2015

  11. gupsterg

    gupsterg Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    I'm not a programmer so no use on that front.

    Is there a way that program can like atomdis first calculate tables then pull data from areas and display.

    I was also playing with VBE7 last night and some 7xxx roms, are you able to dissemble that program to see how it is being accurate at reading sections of bios to display data in correct format.

    Another thing I was wondering location data in bios for a read item is not displayed or am I missing something?

    Cheers to all putting in time & effort into program! :)
     
  12. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    the first value is location in bios :) (its in decimal form not hexa as i was to lazy to convert it back to hex form)

    so 42934 -- 1000 Mhz means this value can be found on position 42934 (or 0xA7B6)

    program also show where table starts thats powertablelocation field

    EDIT: where is there just 2 bioses on techpowerup? :-( it will be awesome to have more of them for testing
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2015
  13. gupsterg

    gupsterg Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    1 bios was from the original HardOCP forum post, that link is not working.

    Here is link to my collection on googledrive.

    MD5 Checksum: 0C6369A8C6800E2A1A0FA5E63BFC7BBE

    They're all from this thread, I think I'm only missing a couple as been wrapped up other stuff.

    So program only work with preconfigured tables? it can not calculate tables length if not programed?
     
  14. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    it calculate table lenght and position in whole ROM file but position of each table inside powertable must be hardcoded :) but i think now it will support like 90% of all released bioses from 290/390 cards

    it opens all bioses from your collection except xfx390x@290xPowerPlay.rom as this bios is malformed (there is value 660 but in reality table is only 648 bits long so thats why its broken) i can prolly make exception for this BIOS only but its not really solution im happy about as this BIOS is broken :) and need to adjust 660 to 648 in hex to be parsed without errors

    these are now supported values:
    Code:
                                case 660:
                                    powerTablesize.Text += " - R9 390/390X";
                                    voltageTableOffset = 319;
                                    memoryFrequencyTableOffset = 278;
                                    gpuFrequencyTableOffset = 231;
                                    VCELimitTableOffset = 396;
                                    AMUAndACPLimitTableOffset = 549;
                                    UVDLimitTableOffset = 441;
                                    break;
                                case 662:
                                    powerTablesize.Text += " - R9 390/390X(Sapphire)";
                                    voltageTableOffset = 321;
                                    memoryFrequencyTableOffset = 280;
                                    gpuFrequencyTableOffset = 233;
                                    VCELimitTableOffset = 398;
                                    AMUAndACPLimitTableOffset = 551;
                                    UVDLimitTableOffset = 443;
                                    break;
                                case 648:
                                    powerTablesize.Text += " - R9 290/290X";
                                    voltageTableOffset = 307;
                                    memoryFrequencyTableOffset = 266;
                                    gpuFrequencyTableOffset = 219;
                                    VCELimitTableOffset = 384;
                                    AMUAndACPLimitTableOffset = 537;
                                    UVDLimitTableOffset = 429;
                                    break;
                                case 658: // Slith mining bios for 290/290X
                                    powerTablesize.Text += " - R9 290/290X The Stilt mining bios";
                                    voltageTableOffset = 316;
                                    memoryFrequencyTableOffset = 275;
                                    gpuFrequencyTableOffset = 228;
                                    VCELimitTableOffset = 394;
                                    AMUAndACPLimitTableOffset = 547;
                                    UVDLimitTableOffset = 439;
                                    break;
                                case 642: // PT1/PT3
                                    powerTablesize.Text += " - PT1/PT3 bios";
                                    voltageTableOffset = 300;
                                    memoryFrequencyTableOffset = 259;
                                    gpuFrequencyTableOffset = 212;
                                    VCELimitTableOffset = 378;
                                    AMUAndACPLimitTableOffset = 531;
                                    UVDLimitTableOffset = 423;
                                    break;
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2015
  15. gupsterg

    gupsterg Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    Ahh thank you for taking a look :) , I have yet to view 390 / X bios been more transfixed on The Slit roms to do voltage.

    That bios from post 264.
     

  16. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    yes exactly this bios
    LumPenPacK forgotten to fix table lenght value so this bios is malformed (it still works because this value is probably not needed) or maybe just because of pure luck :D

    EDIT: but even if we can read what slith done to that bios i still dont understand how to modify voltage or which powerstates are used in reality
     
  17. gupsterg

    gupsterg Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    I will try to explain in words what I understand.

    DPM = Dynamic Power Management , there are 8 states. Each state has Voltage associated with it.

    Then we have five sections in bios.

    SclkVddcDependencyTable = voltage depending on GPU clock separated into DPM0 -DPM7
    MclkVddcDependencyTable = voltage depending on RAM clock separated into DPM0 -DPM7
    StartVCELimitTable = VCE (Video Coding Engine) mode voltage separated into DPM0 -DPM7
    StartUVDLimitTable = UVD (Unified Video Decoder) mode voltage separated into DPM0 -DPM7
    StartSAMULimitTable = SAMU (security asset management unit) mode voltage depending on GPU clock separated into DPM0 -DPM7
    StartACPLimitTable = ACP (Average Consumed Power) voltage depending on GPU clock separated into DPM0 -DPM7

    When Slit is changing voltages he is applying to all 5 sections.

    Now you may recall a pink marked section.

    [​IMG]

    Now I think he didn't change that as he states:-

    GPU EVV VDDC dependency removed, changed to static voltage levels (VID based)

    *** Edit ***

    I was just googling GPU EVV VDDC and a hit in google showed Link:- http://permalink.gmane.org/gmane.linux.kernel.commits.head/417556

    It states "This updates atombios.h with the latest changes required for hawaii."

    I had got atomdis from Link:- http://cgit.freedesktop.org/~mhopf/AtomDis/

    And log not show that update, Link:- http://cgit.freedesktop.org/~mhopf/AtomDis/log/
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2015
  18. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
  19. gupsterg

    gupsterg Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 64
    Are you sure?

    When I click your link and click download it take me to where I got AtomDis.

    Link:- https://youtu.be/tp6_gqwQB_U

    It does not state that update in log.
     
  20. OneB1t

    OneB1t Master Guru

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 290X@R9 390X 1050/1325
    yep it seems like this is old repository
     

Share This Page