387.92 driver - Error 43 caused by a modified vBIOS?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by maxio, Oct 9, 2017.

  1. maxio

    maxio Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti
    Hello

    I think, yet I'm not 100% sure that Nvidia? did something to prevent loading drivers on cards with a modified bios.

    At least this happen in my case.

    Yestarday I did a fresh installation of 387.92 win10 64bit driver.
    BOOM, error 43 on a super fresh Win 10 instalation.

    Ok, I did a quick rollback to a 385.41 series and guess that? It works.
    Later I reinstalled again 387.92, the same. error 43.

    I thought that this could be somehow caused by my modified bios.
    Yeah, Im using a tweaked bios with a simple voltage mod, nothing fancy.

    After I rolled back to my original bios, 387.92 loaded fine, no errors.
    And no, this is not a broken bios, os, card or something.

    Whenever I rollback to 385.41 everything works as it should with my modified bios.
    I've been using this bios for almost 2 yeas with no problems.

    md5 checksum dumped from my gpu bios is the same, so it's not a corruption or something.
    This is realy weird, and I'm lost and out of ideas.

    For now I can't use 387.92 with a modified bios

    WTH is going on. o_O
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2017
  2. kastriot

    kastriot Master Guru

    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    32
    GPU:
    Z-AMP.extr-GTX980 1.5GHz
    Wait for new drivers maybe they will not have this bug or if all new versions give you error 43 then they added something that causes error with non referent voltages or clocks i mean it could be anything.
     
  3. VAlbomb

    VAlbomb Member Guru

    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Nvidia G1 Gaming GTX 970
    I'm using a modified bios, GTX 970, no problems whatsoever.
     
  4. XenthorX

    XenthorX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,762
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Inno3D-AIO 980-ti@1500Mhz
    100% my case here. I can't install the new driver and i've modified BIOS with overvoltage and increased power draw.
     

  5. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,938
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 980Ti Amp!Ext
    I also modified it a bit - increased power draw limit and overall to match extreme, also base 1278 > boost 1418mhz and works ok.

    Maybe its just voltage specific?
     
  6. venturi

    venturi Member Guru

    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    4x TitanXP Quad SLI
    This is a highly unstable driver. Has introduced many anomilies and strange behaviors in many games, even causes some full crashes.
    From installation to running a game, it seems instable and creates issues.

    I will pass on this one, I haven't seen a driver this flaky since the 353-369 era
     
  7. XenthorX

    XenthorX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,762
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Inno3D-AIO 980-ti@1500Mhz
    reporting back, flashing the original BIOS allowed me to have the driver working without issues :/
     
  8. Ti3Kob

    Ti3Kob Master Guru

    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980Ti @ 1505/7600 H2O
    980 ti here, modified bios with increased voltage and power limit as well as default freqs for P0 and P2. 387.92 works fine on my side.. I don't think the issue is that simple. Did you guys use DDU before trying to install the new driver ?
     
  9. boombastik

    boombastik Member Guru

    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY GTX 970 XLR8 OC
    I have a gtx 970 pny modded the power draw limit and the fan control.
    Also it is updated with nvidia uefi gop module from 2017.
    (my original hybrid bios has a nvidia uefi gop from 2015)

    I have no problems.
     
  10. maxio

    maxio Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti
    I just did extra quick test on my old crappy GT 730 from gigabyte.
    Completely different computer.
    Yes, modded bios is causing instant error code 43
    Simple P0 1.2v mod, just for a test.
    No mod, drivers are loading fine. :eek:
    So yeah, it is a driver issue, maybe not a global, but it is.
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2017

  11. SyntaX

    SyntaX Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 1500/8000
    no problem here with modified bios.
     
  12. maxio

    maxio Member Guru

    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti
    Could you share the modded/original bios files, please.
     
  13. dgraham1284

    dgraham1284 New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    EVGA 980 Ti's SLI
    Modded vBIOS on SLI 980 Ti's error code 43. Tried DDU and every which way to get it to work. No dice. Previous driver is fine.
     
  14. masterdous

    masterdous New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX950 2gb
    MSI GTX 950 Modified BIOS. No problem.
     
  15. XenthorX

    XenthorX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,762
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Inno3D-AIO 980-ti@1500Mhz
    I'ts highly customized for my 980-Ti really. Basically my entire 'voltage' tab is form original bios now
     

  16. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,282
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    If you modify your BIOS and have a device ID mismatch compared to what the driver is expecting, it will fail to install. I have both a 980Ti with voltage, memory and power table modified. I modified it from the original stock BIOS and I have the FTW3 BIOS flashed to my EVGA 1080 Ti FE. Drivers install just fine.
     
    fantaskarsef and XenthorX like this.
  17. kastriot

    kastriot Master Guru

    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    32
    GPU:
    Z-AMP.extr-GTX980 1.5GHz
    Well i am on insider win 10 version 16299.15 and windows still using previous driver and i have heavily modified bios for my 980 so i don't dare to manualy update i will leave to windows updates and see what happens :)

    Edit:

    Just bited the bulled and tried 387.92 for sake of thread and it's all OK no error 43 and i have modified 10-15 voltage ranges, fan profies, power draw limits and other stuff, my ID and sub ID are same as original bios btw.

    P.S.(I installed only video+audio driver components!)
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2017
  18. SwissChisel

    SwissChisel New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 Ti SLI
    980 Ti throwing code 43 with new drivers as well. I'm running SLI and both were modified from each original bios. I had someone else modify them that was more knowledgeable than me. Any help pinpointing the exact cause would be appreciated.
     
  19. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,036
    Likes Received:
    142
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    Dump your bios here and the orignal bios(or model of exact card you have)
     
  20. SwissChisel

    SwissChisel New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 Ti SLI

Share This Page