3600Mhz RAM won't run on my B550

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by AmericaWestCMH, Sep 6, 2020.

1. AmericaWestCMH

AmericaWestCMH New Member

GPU:
    RTX 2060S FE
    I'm not very technically inclined and need some help. I'm trying to run a Ryzen 5 3600 on an ASRock Phantom Gaming 4/ac B550 ATX motherboard with Corsair Vengence LPX 3600Mhz CL18 RAM (2x8GB).

The XMP profile shows up in the BIOS with all the correct timings and 3600Mhz but when I save and reboot it won't even POST. Red error test lights on the mobo are on for CPU and RAM when it's set to 3600Mhz. Had to clear the CMOS just to get it running again. I tried manually doing 3400Mhz, no go. It works fine at 3200Mhz. I don't understand. It's not in the approved vendor list but should that really matter?

Kinda disappointed, I hope it doesn't affect performance that much. Any tips to make it faster? Adjusting timings manually and that kind of thing is a little over my head.

2. KissSh0t

KissSh0t Ancient Guru

GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    Does it run at that speed when there is only one ram stick in the system?

Also..... I don't have any experience with ram past DDR3, with DDR4 does the command rate play a role?

For example with my set I cannot run a command rate of 1T at it's specified XMP profile, I need to run it at 2T when both sticks are present.

Last edited: Sep 6, 2020
  3. SpajdrEX

SpajdrEX AMD Vanguard

GPU:
    Gainward RTX 3080
    It should be done automatically when XMP profile is loaded, but make sure that motherboard correctly set DIMM/DRAM voltage for RAM.
    Which is 1.35V (for 3200Mhz 1.2V could be enough and that voltage is what you could have set now)

Last edited: Sep 6, 2020
    SplashDown likes this.
  4. Kool64

Kool64 Master Guru

GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX2070S
    You probably need a bit more juice. Give it 1.38v.

SplashDown likes this.

5. Webhiker

Webhiker Master Guru

GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2