3090 Owner's thread

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by XenthorX, Sep 24, 2020.

  1. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,516
    Likes Received:
    3,326
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    That is a possibility too, but i'd actually expect the opposite to be frank, that in such a case it would have issues with the x570 instead of the Intel. The pcie controller intel uses hasn't changed since Ivy Bridge apart from process node shrinks and bios updates.

    That said, Turing did expose a defective 9900k that would run just fine on a 1080ti in a previous case, the user in that situation changed everything else first including 4 different 2080ti's :eek:
     
    Mufflore likes this.
  2. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,502
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    Fingers crossed I get a running machine tomorrow, I'm eager to find an obvious cause.
    My 6700K machine will go to a friend or family in fully working order so I'll be less miffed having shelled out £800 if this works.
    (although it could prove to be a very expensive experiment lol)

    Thanks for your help.
     
  3. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,502
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    Sorry not to reply to your post, it didnt appear straight away, I only just noticed it.
    The first response I saw was from Astyanax.

    Yes, both 8 pin power connectors are fitted with separate wired leads.
    I incorrectly labelled my PSU in the OP as an Asus Brand, its a high end Seasonic, the wiring is well thought out.

    My old Corsair PSU (Seasonic based) that also has individually wired 2x 4pin didnt help.

    Its a bit of a baffler until I get more kit to test with today.
    But given the lack of problem reports with The Gigabyte 3090 Aorus Xtreme card and other 3090s, I suspect its just one of my cpu/mobo/memory combo has a problem, as Astyanax proposed.
     
  4. riot83

    riot83 Member Guru

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Palit GameRock 3090
    So I bit the bullet and bought a Palit Gamerock 3090. Since I was being ridiculous in purchasing the 3090 I wanted a ridiculous looking card to go with it. Quick 100mhz offset and 113% power got me 13748 score for Port Royal and 20167 GPU score for Timespy which seems decent. I'll mess around with the card some more when I get my 5900x(3weeks already on indefinite wait).
     

  5. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,502
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    Its been a right slog but success, woo.

    Plugged the 3090 in the new mobo, everything worked straight away.
    Installed all the drivers and utils on an old Win10 install that hasnt been touched for probably a year.
    But the network driver flat refused to install.
    Downloaded the latest LAN driver on my main PC but it also wouldnt install.
    So plugged that Windows 10 SSD into my main PC and let it update to the latest Win 10 version, that took at least 5 hours of having to keep an eye on it and click next etc a lot, what a bind!
    Plugging the SSD back in to the new machine, it auto detected everything perfectly, LAN now working.

    Tested Shadow of the Tomb Raider and it works wonderfully.
    My new widescreen monitor unofficially supports Gsync which worked like a dream, super smooth.
    Tried HDR and it looks great.
    But then had a complete video card crash benching Tomb Raider with SMAA 4x, it dumped me back to Windows and I couldnt even open NVidia control panel, it said there was no card installed, haha.
    Rebooted and everything was fine, a driver gremlin.
    In all about 8 hours of solid grind so I'm happy to leave it alone for now and give my cat some fuss.

    Benchmark results:
    10700K stock, 8GB dual channel ram @ 2133MHz (forgot to set XMP)
    Gigabyte Aorus 3090 Xtreme completely @ stock with 456.55 driver.


    Heaven Benchmark, all settings maxed, no AA at 1920x1080p (edited cos I forgot to turn AA on, added mention of it)
    331.5fps / 8349


    Shadow of the Tomb Raider at 5120x1440p, All settings maxed except using TAA:
    Avg 94fps

    With HDR
    Avg 93fps

    With SMAA 4x
    Avg 67fps


    Power use was typically 485W or higher, peaking at 520W sustained in parts of the Tomb Raider bench.
    I saw 530W momentarily.


    When I get the new fast ram I'll do some proper benchies.
    I'm very happy with the end result :)
    Thanks very much for all your help Astyanax, much appreciated.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2020
    XenthorX, The1 and JaxMacFL like this.
  6. DannyD

    DannyD Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,624
    Likes Received:
    1,234
    GPU:
    MSI 2080ti
    Great rig, enjoy your beast of a card!
    We're on this earth one single short time, after all.
     
    Mufflore likes this.
  7. MikeMK

    MikeMK Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,119
    Likes Received:
    93
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 3090
    @Mufflore - glad you managed to get it working. Those kind of problems can be very frustrating.

    Anyways, enjoy the new card!
     
    Mufflore likes this.
  8. Witcher29

    Witcher29 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,363
    Likes Received:
    175
    GPU:
    3080 Gaming X Trio
    If u get crashings or any other weirds things again after je oc-ed your ram then u know what the problem is, start with cl15 3000 mhz then go up. Systems could get unstable if u go higher then 3200 mhz ddr4.
     
  9. insp1re2600

    insp1re2600 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,496
    Likes Received:
    547
    GPU:
    3090 Vision OC 24GB
    so i joined the club with a 3090 vision oc yesterday, jeez this card is damn huge, had to remodel most of my case to fit it.
     
    JaxMacFL, endbase and chispy like this.
  10. JaxMacFL

    JaxMacFL Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    1,061
    GPU:
    3090 FTW3 ULTR/HYBR

  11. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,502
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    I thought my previous card was too big, a 1080ti with Accelero Xtreme III cooler fitted. It struggles to fit many cases.
    Next to my 3090 it looks flat and wimpy, even small!
    When the 3090 size was first mentioned I thought, Naaaaa, not a chance!
    Wtf happened? lol. Its a monster!
     
    insp1re2600 likes this.
  12. insp1re2600

    insp1re2600 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,496
    Likes Received:
    547
    GPU:
    3090 Vision OC 24GB
    i use one of them on the end of it, iv got it side mounted too in a 680X.

    [​IMG]

    i may put it under water or change my case scheme, but its not a priority atm.
     
    XenthorX likes this.
  13. Blaise

    Blaise Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,280
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 FTW3 ULTRA
    Wow... my first post here since June 2010! Lurked a bit over the years though, just didn't have anything to say :)

    EVGA 3090 FTW3 Ultra. No sag as I'm using the new "EK Vertical GPU holder" (super sturdy) in my Phanteks 719 case and on the notify list waiting for EK to drop their waterblock.
     
    ZXRaziel likes this.
  14. insp1re2600

    insp1re2600 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,496
    Likes Received:
    547
    GPU:
    3090 Vision OC 24GB
    Looks good the ek GPU holder, any photo of it in use?
     
  15. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,502
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    I'm having some strange behaviour at idle.
    In Windows 7 the card said its idle, 0% use, all clocks are low, yet it uses 8%+ Power (reported by Afterburner) and the fans kept spinning up to put the temp under 42C.
    In Windows 10, the same but its idle power use is 11%+.
    This seems awfully high for a card thats supposed to not use any fan at idle, power use is high enough to demand they should be on.

    But as of today, the fans no longer spin up, even under load!
    I was testing RDR2 and the machine rebooted.
    When back in windows the GPU temp was 54C and the fans were not spinning.
    I told afterburner to use a manual profile and they spun up. Disabling the profile, the fans stop working again, no matter what temperature.

    I'm about to troubleshoot it, has anyone any useful info that might help?
     

  16. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,516
    Likes Received:
    3,326
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    did you maybe get 460.15 installed?
     
  17. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,502
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    456.38, Windows 10 installed it.

    I managed to solve the lack of fan, it was a logic flaw in Afterburner.
    As soon as I unlinked the fan speed of both fans they started to behave themselves again.
    But strangely they auto switch on at 50C in Windows 10, it was around 42C in Windows 7 (with a slightly newer driver).

    Is it normal in both OS's to use near 10% GPU power at idle with 0% use?
     
  18. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,516
    Likes Received:
    3,326
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    i'd have to get a 3090 in to be sure, but it depends on the screen resolution, whether or not you're using optimal or adaptive power management (optimal is negated by open web browsers or video players). notifications blinking items on the start menu, etc.

    if HAGS is turned on, then the gpu is actively managing itself so that'll minimally raise GPU Power % without registering on the Util %
     
  19. DannyD

    DannyD Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,624
    Likes Received:
    1,234
    GPU:
    MSI 2080ti
    I'm at 0% gpu usage and 30w.
     
  20. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,502
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    This is with fresh booted windows, minimal stuff auto loaded. ie n/w bw monitor, firewall etc, just basic stuff.
    I changed between optimal and adaptive but it remained the same.

    HAGS must make up for the difference between Win7 and Win10 (8% vs 11%), 3% power.
    Its what the other 8% is being used for and why?
     

Share This Page