3080 tuf OC ed. Same stutter in apex once/twice a game (w/frametimegraph)

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by kman, Jan 6, 2021.

  1. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,126
    Likes Received:
    8,639
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    No it is not a waste. It was reported more than once that disabling HT solved minor problems like stuttering. Just try it. It is quite easy to turn it back.
     
  2. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,323
    Likes Received:
    4,249
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    A cpu doesn't just power on through a general exception or memory corruption (without being a ECC enabled Xeon/Ryzen and running a server build of windows)
     
  3. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    1080ti Strix
    I have no explanation then.It's the only thing that correlates with what other ppl are having.They are randomly getting crashes/freezes and I'm not.
    Ok tried with HT disabled in bios and the game had like 2 minor frametime spikes but nothing big on the first game.(Was a short game tho so not enough time to test)

    2nd round the game locked my pc like 10 seconds in.Sound was still going on and I could alt-tab/move the mouse but couldn't close the frozen game which was taking my whole screen.
    Basically what alot of ppl where getting.This game def has issues.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2021
  4. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    1080ti Strix
    Is there any other pgrogramm that could possibly monitor and point out the spike besides latencymon?
    What's annoying is its always the same spike.Like when it happens live on the frametime graph I can tell its the same spike because of how it looks when it happens so whatever is causing it (be it something in-game or a process) it's the same thing doing it.
     

  5. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,126
    Likes Received:
    8,639
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    https://forums.guru3d.com/threads/simple-way-to-trace-dpcs-and-isrs.423884/
     
  6. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    1080ti Strix
  7. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,126
    Likes Received:
    8,639
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
  8. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    1080ti Strix
    Ok I installed the program
    > ran CMD in admin mode
    > cd "C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Kits\10\Windows Performance Toolkit"
    xperf -on base+interrupt+dpc
    > Ran game till I got the stutter
    > xperf -d c:\temp\trace.etl
    > Get error

    [​IMG]
     
  9. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,126
    Likes Received:
    8,639
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Have you created a folder "C:\temp" beforehand?

    PS I wrote an example in OP. You can save the trace file in any folder. I just used "temp" on the "C:" drive.
     
  10. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    1080ti Strix

    k I managed to get 1 stutter https://drive.google.com/file/d/1rgeHvEPA7CZQLUqxqbkpeuipSTX-iulA/view?usp=sharing.

    It's the same stutter as usual.Again happened randomly.It happened once in the round I was playing.
     

  11. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,126
    Likes Received:
    8,639
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    DPC summary:
    Code:
    Total = 4141025
    Elapsed Time, >        0 usecs AND <=        1 usecs, 1459800, or  35.25%
    Elapsed Time, >        1 usecs AND <=        2 usecs, 525138, or  12.68%
    Elapsed Time, >        2 usecs AND <=        4 usecs, 650419, or  15.71%
    Elapsed Time, >        4 usecs AND <=        8 usecs, 839214, or  20.27%
    Elapsed Time, >        8 usecs AND <=       16 usecs, 264349, or   6.38%
    Elapsed Time, >       16 usecs AND <=       32 usecs, 224553, or   5.42%
    Elapsed Time, >       32 usecs AND <=       64 usecs, 146948, or   3.55%
    Elapsed Time, >       64 usecs AND <=      128 usecs,  29136, or   0.70%
    Elapsed Time, >      128 usecs AND <=      256 usecs,   1457, or   0.04%
    Elapsed Time, >      256 usecs AND <=      512 usecs,      8, or   0.00%
    Elapsed Time, >      512 usecs AND <=     1024 usecs,      2, or   0.00%
    Elapsed Time, >     1024 usecs AND <=     2048 usecs,      1, or   0.00%
    
    and the culprit:
    Code:
    Total = 1547388 for module nvlddmkm.sys
    Elapsed Time, >        0 usecs AND <=        1 usecs, 1054964, or  68.18%
    Elapsed Time, >        1 usecs AND <=        2 usecs,  46238, or   2.99%
    Elapsed Time, >        2 usecs AND <=        4 usecs, 143246, or   9.26%
    Elapsed Time, >        4 usecs AND <=        8 usecs, 124088, or   8.02%
    Elapsed Time, >        8 usecs AND <=       16 usecs,  38536, or   2.49%
    Elapsed Time, >       16 usecs AND <=       32 usecs, 114134, or   7.38%
    Elapsed Time, >       32 usecs AND <=       64 usecs,  24658, or   1.59%
    Elapsed Time, >       64 usecs AND <=      128 usecs,   1474, or   0.10%
    Elapsed Time, >      128 usecs AND <=      256 usecs,     43, or   0.00%
    Elapsed Time, >      256 usecs AND <=      512 usecs,      4, or   0.00%
    Elapsed Time, >      512 usecs AND <=     1024 usecs,      2, or   0.00%
    Elapsed Time, >     1024 usecs AND <=     2048 usecs,      1, or   0.00%
    
    ISR summary:
    Code:
    Total = 2032742
    Elapsed Time, >        0 usecs AND <=        1 usecs, 189477, or   9.32%
    Elapsed Time, >        1 usecs AND <=        2 usecs, 174914, or   8.60%
    Elapsed Time, >        2 usecs AND <=        4 usecs, 132120, or   6.50%
    Elapsed Time, >        4 usecs AND <=        8 usecs, 182669, or   8.99%
    Elapsed Time, >        8 usecs AND <=       16 usecs, 456297, or  22.45%
    Elapsed Time, >       16 usecs AND <=       32 usecs, 815560, or  40.12%
    Elapsed Time, >       32 usecs AND <=       64 usecs,  80091, or   3.94%
    Elapsed Time, >       64 usecs AND <=      128 usecs,   1612, or   0.08%
    Elapsed Time, >      128 usecs AND <=      256 usecs,      2, or   0.00%
    
    A bit better than DPCs but still high enough to be called a culprit:
    Code:
    Total = 1345478 for module dxgkrnl.sys
    Elapsed Time, >        0 usecs AND <=        1 usecs,      0, or   0.00%
    Elapsed Time, >        1 usecs AND <=        2 usecs,   3860, or   0.29%
    Elapsed Time, >        2 usecs AND <=        4 usecs,   2693, or   0.20%
    Elapsed Time, >        4 usecs AND <=        8 usecs,   8775, or   0.65%
    Elapsed Time, >        8 usecs AND <=       16 usecs, 434017, or  32.26%
    Elapsed Time, >       16 usecs AND <=       32 usecs, 814605, or  60.54%
    Elapsed Time, >       32 usecs AND <=       64 usecs,  79914, or   5.94%
    Elapsed Time, >       64 usecs AND <=      128 usecs,   1612, or   0.12%
    Elapsed Time, >      128 usecs AND <=      256 usecs,      2, or   0.00%
    
     
    fluidz likes this.
  12. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    1080ti Strix
    So its the Nvidia driver and possibly directX?

    If the culprit is the nvidia driver then I'm kinda stuck untill they address the issue right?
     
  13. mbk1969

    mbk1969 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,126
    Likes Received:
    8,639
    GPU:
    GF RTX 2070 Super
    Since DX is not a device driver I suspect the only culprit is NV driver. Or game itself. Or a combo of the game with the driver.
     
  14. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    1080ti Strix
    Well thanks for the help and pinpointing the issue.I guess all I can do now is wait for either Nvidia to release better drivers or for Respawn (apex devs) to fix their game.

    Well.Atleast I'm done chasing ghosts.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2021
  15. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,209
    Likes Received:
    1,941
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Have you tried to disable nv reflex ingame?

    I fixed 99% of the stutters in destiny2 with it off. New game update fixed the rest.

    Also disable fullscreen optimization.
     

  16. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    1080ti Strix
    Didn't work.Tried 3 games on the 3rd game I had it happen to me 3 times.[​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    It's the same 3 quick micro stutters.I have no idea whats causing the issue but whatever it is (be it ingame or not) it's the same thing every time.
     
  17. disq

    disq Member Guru

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    105
    GPU:
  18. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    1080ti Strix
    Yes as I'm using g-sync so v-sync is always ON

    My settings are

    * V-sync ON globally (NV controlpanel) off ingame
    * -3 fps limit (I usually use the nvidia fps limiter but it's currently not working properly https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforc...rametime-issues-with-latest-nvidia-drivers-o/) So I'm using riva tuner to fps limit to 141.

    This specific stutter never happened on my 1080ti on driver 442.59 (with the same settings) so I am wondering if it actually reflex causing the issue but I'm on a 3080 atm so I cannot go back.

    Also I "disabled" reflex with this command "gfx_nvnUseLowLatency 0" it definitely did something because without it the game caps at 138 fps and with it it goes back to 144fps.Maybe it doesn't fully disable reflex?
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2021
  19. disq

    disq Member Guru

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    105
    GPU:
    I'd say keep your settings but disable VSYNC and see if the same problem occurs

    Maybe. If they have that warning in the official NVIDIA blog is because of something, even tho the cap isn't there, dunno
     
  20. kman

    kman Master Guru

    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    22
    GPU:
    1080ti Strix
    Still happened with v-sync off.crap.

    It's an exact replica of the picture I posted earlier.

    Tried playing an hour of WOW and altought the game suffers from the occasional micro stutter I did not once get the this specific 3 in 1 micro stutter like in Apex.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2021

Share This Page