3.5ghz C2D bottleneck 3 8800gtx?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by LadiesMan32, Jan 11, 2009.

  1. LadiesMan32

    LadiesMan32 Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Nitro Crossfire
    hey everyone. I just upgraded my comp and now running 3 BFG 8800gtx oc's. But im wondering if my cpu is bottlenecking these 3 cards? i have an intel c2d e6750 oc'ed to 3.5ghz. would this be bottlenecking them? ive seen vids of guys with same cards and oc'd quad core playing crysis @ 1680res 2x fsaa very high settings, completely smooth, i do that and i get some fps slowdowns in parts, or is that just becuase crysis is a system hog? I normally play 1920x1080res everything on very high settings. The rest of my system specs are on the side. thanks for ur guys input, it will be much appreciated!!!!
     
  2. LedHed

    LedHed Banned

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 295 /BenQ FP241W
    If you are running at 1680 res then yes you would experience a huge bottleneck with 3 GPU's. If you could upgrade your monitor to a higher res then you could close this bottleneck margin, since higher the res means higher the GPU stress.
     
  3. Kollunz

    Kollunz Master Guru

    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Radeon 5870
    have you updated/properly installed the latest drivers?
     
  4. LedHed

    LedHed Banned

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 295 /BenQ FP241W
    Why in the world would someone even want to be running 3 video cards at 1680 though? One GTX 280 or 4870X2/GTX 295 can easily run any settings on any game at that resolution. Not to mention very few games even use the 3rd video card.
     

  5. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,151
    Likes Received:
    65
    GPU:
    1080 FE +200/+430
    if you want mroe out of that 3rd 8800GTX even sec one you need to get a bigger montior. Because there no reason to even SLI or CF any thing at that res.few more other cards can too, 1 8800GT, 1 4850 of couse not crysis.

    But still all your doing is wasting that SLI setup, and reinstalling drivers isnt gonna fix a bottle neck with 3 cards running at that res.

    The only thing that gonna fix that is a 24inch montior and or a 30inch.
     
  6. The Chosen 1

    The Chosen 1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 6870 MSI TwinFrozer II
    He is playing at 1080p... tri-sli is not a very good idea but if it works...

    For crysis i think that cpu is enough... i haven't tried with very high settings on mine so... can't really say...
     
  7. LedHed

    LedHed Banned

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    eVGA GTX 295 /BenQ FP241W
    CPU isn't even close to enough, Crysis loves higher clock speeds, meaning the Wolfdales (45nm) benefit or i7. Basically the fastest possible is what Crysis wants, not his older Conroe.

    But yes I read that resolution wrong, but still Tri-SLI is a dumb idea. SLI is plenty for anyone, especially only at 1920x1080. I play at 1920x1200 with one G92 8800 GTS 512mb, it's really not that hard.
     
  8. michaels

    michaels Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 7970
    hi all .. i wanna know if my bottlenecking my cpu at 4.0ghz intel c2d e8500 with 4870x2 in crossfireX ? .. i play games at 1920x1200res 24 monitor . thx you
     
  9. Raven^

    Raven^ Master Guru

    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Ati 4870 512mb (Stock)
    not by much mate but that 8500 will be alright and not bottleneck by much. I would check the i7 cores review and see how much fps they get with a 4870x2
     
  10. morbias

    morbias Don TazeMeBro Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,422
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    -
    He's running 2x 4870 X2s, even a C2D at 4GHz will be holding things back.

    When I had 3x 8800GTXs performance was still scaling with my CPU at 4GHz, even with 2x 8800GTXs there is a noticeable difference in performance between 3GHz and 4GHz, at high resolutions too (1920x1200).
     

  11. D-Cyph3r

    D-Cyph3r Master Guru

    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Intergrated (for now)
    Almost all modern GPU's are bottlenecked by the CPU, even at fairly high resolutions. My single 9800GX2 was still scaling all the way up to 4.5Ghz when I had my E8600.... It's quite astonishing really, GPU developement is really outpacing CPU's (all the more reason Intel SHOULD have had 4Ghz stock CPU's, we all knew the Wolfies were capable of it).
     
  12. LadiesMan32

    LadiesMan32 Member Guru

    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Nitro Crossfire
    thanks for the replys guys. I am playing at 1920x1080 on a 24inch moniter. I just tried the 1680 test cause i saw guys wiht the same setup as me run that test. So i should either OC my cpu even higher? or just get a new cpu?
     
  13. michaels

    michaels Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 7970
    hi again.. will increasing FSB help with the bottlenecked changeing fsb upto 550FSB but still on 4.1ghz i just lower the multiplier to 7.5 . thx you
     
  14. Belz

    Belz Master Guru

    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD5870 1GB
    The more cards in SLI, the more work your CPU needs to do for it to work.

    In your case i wonder if you wont have more performance with only 2 8800's then with 3.
     
  15. The Chosen 1

    The Chosen 1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 6870 MSI TwinFrozer II

    550 fsb... that is very high... your motherboard would probably fail before getting there... don't know... but it you wouldn't see much of a performance gain anyway...
     

  16. Flopster

    Flopster Banned

    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Club3D 8600GTS 256MB

    I'm not sure how much more can it be overclocked, so you should get a new cpu preferably quad core... But if you got bucks, you can go all the way to the i7's but, that's quite a large upgrade and it'll cost you.
     
  17. michaels

    michaels Active Member

    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD 7970
    i tested 550fsb about 1 hour and it very stable.. 575fsb it not stable
     

Share This Page