285.79 beta

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by SESnut, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. RavenMaster

    RavenMaster Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,196
    Likes Received:
    138
    GPU:
    1x RTX 3080 FE
    You have to say it in an Irish accent: 'shoyte'
     
  2. °L°

    °L° Master Guru

    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    do not believe him ;)
     
  3. killfactor

    killfactor Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX275 SLI
    Your problem is your CPU unfrotunately, the Q6600 even at 3.8Ghz is just too old and too slow for 64 player maps like Caspian border and firestorm.

    I know this because I have a Q9550 @ 3.8Ghz (same Mhz but faster CPU as its newer to the Q6600) and 560Ti @ 900Mhz and that CPU is holding the GPU back on the large 64 player maps.

    I also have an i5 2500K @ 3.3Ghz (stock) and it runs MUCH better using the same exact card (I have tested and swapped many times). So this i5 2500K at less Mhz (3.3 stock) is actually much faster in the big maps in BF3.

    I know its hard to believe but this is a fact... BF3 on 64 player maps is VERY VERY CPU demanding, and your CPU is holding back your 560Ti (that is why your getting low fps even on Medium settings).

    Lastly.... 9 out of 10 BF3 performance reviews are done on the SP (Single player) which is more GPU demanding... this is not an accurate representation of the 64 player MP BF3... therefore many people believe BF3 is purely GPU limited and any CPU does fine, this is not true in MP, but is true in SP.

    For a true review done on 64 player Caspian look here:
    http://www.sweclockers.com/artikel/14650-prestandaanalys-battlefield-3/5#pagehead

    I recommend you use browser like Chrome which will automatically translate from Swedish to English, or use Google to translate the page.. its a good article written by people who know that you must test BF3 in 64 player MP and not SP....

    Please see above, in 64 player MP BF3 is often limited by older CPU's...

    True.

    So summarise, BF3 is an awesome PC game that pushes most systems to the LIMIT.

    On 64 player maps such as Caspian Border it stresses your CPU, GPU and system memory including video memory... awesome game.
     
  4. Zer0K3wL

    Zer0K3wL Banned

    Messages:
    3,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 480 850/1700/2000 h2o
    installing.
     

  5. Pvfc-Epic

    Pvfc-Epic Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX560Ti DirectCU II
    thank you very much mate :)
     
  6. slickric21

    slickric21 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,458
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080ti SC / Gsync
    Wat Killfactor said about this game and CPU usage in multiplayer is correct.

    Its VERY CPU intensive in 64 player multiplayer.

    I can see this first hand using the Performance Overlay Graph whilst gaming.
    My Yellow and Green lines follow an almost identical path - indicating they are equally matched..... Or in other words both working as hard.

    If i was GPU limited and not CPU (as implied by much of the general review consensous) i would see an imbalance in the graph.

    So anyone claiming low GPU usage and an outdated CPU....... Well dont just blame drivers please, what do you expect ?
     
  7. cricket bones

    cricket bones Master Guru

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    81
    GPU:
    EVGA 980 TI FTW
    That is powerfully useful information.
     
  8. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]

    I hope its under control... I only have occasional stutter here and there, so far i noticed it in TF2, Withcer2 (occasional), Bf3 (a little), Dirt3 (occasional) and Sonic (mostly if i stop quickly or in Chemical plant)..
     
  9. phobus666

    phobus666 Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 5870 @ SM P2450h
    Thank you.
     
  10. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,753
    Likes Received:
    1,595
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    i think amd users have the same issue.
     

  11. HaZe303

    HaZe303 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    9.11.11.07, its new physx also. Propably for Batman AC
     
  12. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    ^
    They should move to 3.x already...

    like in Dirt3 and yet nv fixed loading crashing ;)



    but yea with Sonic i also think its game streaming issue..:pc1: -_-
     
  13. Steve30x

    Steve30x Master Guru

    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    XFX RX 5700 XT
    Did anybody test this in L.A. Noire?
     
  14. saulob

    saulob Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just tested with BF3. I still feel stuttering. Less stuttering for sure... but still there :(

    Damn, I'm on MW3 without any errors and fast as hell....
     
  15. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    btw these are from the same branch as 285.62


    285.62 [r285_58-0] VS. 285.79 [r285_58-2]


    hmm, now i really hope they fixed that occasional stutter.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2011

  16. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,529
    Likes Received:
    265
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    It's not for Batman, PhysX software only supports up to 2.8.3, and Batman AC is using 2.8.4 and doesn't need any software installed.
    Only games started since 3.0 was released will supported 3.x, so unlikely to get anything until the second half of next year using this.

    Tried with Shift 2, Fifa12 and Rage and seem's as good as the previous WHQL, nothing good, but nothing bad either, should of done a Mafia 2 benchmark though.
     
  17. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    So.. They better ditch this outdated crap soon.

    [​IMG]
     
  18. ManuKey

    ManuKey Member

    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 580
    OC your CPU to 4.4Ghz+ :thumbup:

    You are actually CPU-limited...
     
  19. Yxskaft

    Yxskaft Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,461
    Likes Received:
    115
    GPU:
    GTX Titan Sli
    Nice to see them not having abandonded DX10 users
     
  20. Quad4Life

    Quad4Life Member

    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx570 1.075v 870/2040
    Hey guys this worked for me. .. setting texture quality to high and leaving everything else on ultra kept 4x mssa and have the post processing on high with 1920x1200 Res stutters are gone. .bf3 is very vram. Dependent. Unless u have 1500mb of vram that's the only way your going to get away with having everything on ultra.
     

Share This Page