280.19 BETA vcore increase on GTX580?

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by HeavyHemi, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    619
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    I noticed that after installing the 280.19 BETA driver that my GPU voltage was increased from 1.075 to 1.088.
    Dislosure: My cards are flashed to 850 core and 2050 on the memory at 1.075.
    I reflashed the cards and still Afterburner, AIDA64 and GPU-Z registered the increase in GPU vcore.
    I uninstalled the driver and reverted back to 275.33 and vcore was restored back to 1.075.
    As a test I flashed both GPU's to the same clocks at 1.063. Reinstalled the 280.19 BETA and after a reboot, by golly the GPU vcore was increased to
    1.075. Has Nvidia inserted a core voltage offset in the driver for the GTX580 based on reports of a small increase solving the issue for many having crashing in DX11 environments such as Crysis 2?
     
  2. RanCor TDO

    RanCor TDO Master Guru

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit 1080 GameRock
    I havn't noticed any change myself, my vcore was 1.006 on 275 branch and it's still the same now.
     
  3. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,832
    Likes Received:
    383
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    No change for me either. Both GPU-Z v0.54 and NVIDIA v1.9.5.5 show the same voltages as with the v275.50 drivers. I'm using the default settings though.
     
  4. Penal Stingray

    Penal Stingray Banned

    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 680 Tri-Sli-S27A950
    same Voltage here 1.025 hey hermi i see u on evga guess who dis? hehehe
     

  5. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    same as previos posts. i have a modded bios and my voltage is correct in inspector, gpu-z and afterburner. using current versions of all 3 programs too.
     
  6. civato

    civato Master Guru

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
    Mine to m8 , informed nvidia about it , it only occurs when you mod your bios voltage settings. If you use your default voltage bios settings there is no problem.
    (and only gtx580's and 570's)
    So overclocking with software from now on ?? I hope not .
     
  7. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,010
    Likes Received:
    30
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    nevermind wrong tread
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2011
  8. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    it looked the same on my custom 570gtx.
     
  9. DarKGuru

    DarKGuru Active Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 560 TI DCUII
    I've seen my vcore change on my 275GTX with beta drivers. It must be random, be careful.
     
  10. Amigafan35

    Amigafan35 Master Guru

    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX1080TI FE
    I run my gtx 470 underclocked anyway to reduce heat so my vcore is 0.900 in 3d clocks.
     

  11. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,419
    Likes Received:
    616
    GPU:
    Redacted by NDA
    The voltage is supposed to change under load.
    The ops post isnt about that though, is this what you mean?
     
  12. TFL Replica

    TFL Replica Master Guru

    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 970
    Why would nvidia do this for GTX 570s? I thought it was only the 580s that were crashing in DX11 apps. Mine certainly hasn't.
     
  13. Fr0stx

    Fr0stx Master Guru

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX780SC@1100Mhz 1.087v
    Same here,

    280.13,

    P0 was 1.000v is now 1.013v
    P8 was 0.825v is now 0.838v
    P12 was 0.825v is now 0.838v

    So this driver added 0.013v to all my core voltage. Bios as modified via Nibitor. Would realy like to hear about this from Nvidia.
     
  14. xaudiox

    xaudiox Member Guru

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX1080 GS
    Guys, your better off asking Mavke (nibitor creator) over at MVKTech Support Forums.
    It might me that the voltage range you modded is too small (or vice versa), would make sense as its only modded bios'es that are having the issue.
    Its not nvidia's fault !

    No problem here, i had Mavke mod my bios.
    He's quite helpfull, submit original bios and requested clocks and he will mod for you, I cant think of anyone better to do it for you.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2011
  15. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,334
    Likes Received:
    619
    GPU:
    GTX1080Ti
    Eh...No. I'm using NiBiTor, the latest version. You can only set certain voltage steps using the 'Fermi Voltage' in the menu. I've taken the base stock BIOS and ONLY changed the 3D voltage leaving he clocks alone. Regardless of what I set the voltage to when it is changed from ASIC controlled (default), there is a 0.012/13 increase over what I set in the BIOS. This happens ONLY when using the 280.19 driver. If I roll back to any earlier version driver and make no other changes, the voltage returns to where it is supposed to be.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2011

  16. rewt

    rewt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,267
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Yes
    Some 570s were crashing too. Perhaps they are selectively increasing voltage by BIOS version.
     
  17. Fr0stx

    Fr0stx Master Guru

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX780SC@1100Mhz 1.087v
    Wow, so they would add 0.013v to all voltage profile for one game. If this is true, they could have chosen to add voltage to only this game, not the whole thing.
     
  18. civato

    civato Master Guru

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xGTX570 sli on H2O EK
    Not only modded bioses got the problem , every bios that is not default nvidia bios got problems with 280.. ,(msi , evga , point of view ,zotac , ....)if the bios is changed by the vendor for a factory overclocked card it will have this problem !! , Nothing to do with NiBiToR !!! , If you revert back to older driver voltage is applied correct.
    ManuelG from nvidia didn't ask for my bios test for nothing , there is something wrong with the driver combined with non default nvidia bioses.

    I tested many bios versions with all kind of voltage settings , only one conclusion = if not default nvidia reference settings = voltage is not applied correct.

    And I'm not talking about oc'ing with software but bios editing.
     
  19. RanCor TDO

    RanCor TDO Master Guru

    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit 1080 GameRock
    My bios is not the default nvidia bios and hasn't had any voltage increase.
     
  20. xaudiox

    xaudiox Member Guru

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX1080 GS
    Thats strange, mine is fine !!
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2011

Share This Page