266.58 WHQL Out

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by burebista, Jan 18, 2011.

?

Better or worst than previous sets?

  1. Better

    64.4%
  2. Worst

    19.2%
  3. Same

    16.3%
  1. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080
    Even with 2 Monitors (both FullHD, one 24" Monitor other 40" LED TV) my
    Geforce GTX 460 won't go to 3D speeds if i use MSN or Firefox or listen to
    Music, strange thing is when i look at a Movie my clock speeds go to 3D of only
    one Geforce GTX 460, not both, but maybe thats normal.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
  2. GSDragoon

    GSDragoon Master Guru

    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    163
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon RX 6800
    According to the release notes, this is hardware limitation (for all modern cards and brands). If you have one card and two monitors, it will always run at the highest speed/most power. It sounds like running with two cards doesn't have this problems.
     
  3. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,038
    Likes Received:
    562
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Early next month according to ManuelG on the GeForce.com forum.
     
  4. SlazsH

    SlazsH Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 2080 Trio X
    Make a profile of your web browser/messenger in NVCP and set them to adaptive power mode. This fixed the problem of flashplayer running at 3D clock speeds.
     

  5. INGINE

    INGINE Master Guru

    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia Quadro 2800m
    This driver gives a 0x116 VIDEO_TDR_ERROR BSOD with my Quadro FX 2800M (on a Lenovo W701 720QM 16GB DDR1333), computer still works for 5 minutes before the BSOD but starts with a black screen and a full input devices disconnect.

    BSOD occurs while working with 3ds max and Maya 2010; Back to 257.38.
     
  6. HaZe303

    HaZe303 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    Yup. But with 266.66 driver, idle mode works fine? No i dont have dual monitors or msn running? But could been something else, but doesnt matter 266.66 are fine. :)
     
  7. RedruM-X

    RedruM-X Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
    Seriously, how can I say this without sounding insulting, but you need to learn to read.

    Again for those who don't understand the problem, or think this is linked to something else, it isn't, NVIDIA has acknowledged there is a problem, and this has been happening since all drivers AFTER 258.69.

    MY BIG THREAD WITH PICTURES AND EVERYTHING, I DARE ANYONE TO EXPLAIN THIS BETTER !
    FYI : http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?app=core&module=search&section=search&do=quick_search&search_app=core&fromsearch=1

    I haven't tried it with this driver set, as I've gotten a bit tired of it and I only needed 75Hz for UT3 and now it's too late as season has passed for that game and it's dead.
    Will try it, but first some TDU2 etc and BFBC2 and WoW testing with these.
    Edit: Tested only TDU2 and started laughing immediately, stutter everywhere and crap performance, the Quadro 265.90 beat these drivers with their eyes closed lol ! No need to test any more games.
    I did receive a higher Vantage score haha.

    PS.: I wish "master guru" status and all those things weren't given just by nr of posts, because half of the time I see ppl with tons of posts who really give enormously bad advice to people, this comment is not related to my quote here btw.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2011
  8. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,405
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    ^
    so your problem is custom reso with fixed hz?


    well i had that 16bit problem once, i made a custom reso 1280x1024 @ 60hz, i needed it for Maifa2 and JC2 in both games it uses 75hz instead of my native 60hz (well i can use 75hz too, but its not good for my display's overdrive)

    anyway when i tried to revert back to my original reso (not forced) i got stuck at 16bit colour..

    The fix was this, i went to this location as on pic and changed there back to 32bit and it worked again.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. RedruM-X

    RedruM-X Master Guru

    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
    it's unbelievable how crappy these drivers are in TDU2 compared to the Quadro 265.90.

    EXTREME difference in performance, Quadro is really WAY faster and smoother.

    This driver set is really crap.
     
  10. Toramo

    Toramo New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus GTX570
    GTX 570 performance problem issue.

    GTX 570 performance problem issue.

    Hello there,

    This driver is bugged with some 120Hz screen.

    I have an asus GTX570 and a Samsung 2233rz.

    Here is my perf with this driver with a resolution set at : 1680*1050 120 Hz
    3DMARK 2k6 : 11K Points

    Here is my perf with an another resolution : 1680*1050 60Hz
    3DMARK 2k6 : 20.6K Points

    So i dont recommend this driver !
     

  11. Dublin_Gunner

    Dublin_Gunner Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Rx 460 4GB
    Do you have vsync forced?
     
  12. Dublin_Gunner

    Dublin_Gunner Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte Rx 460 4GB
    Well I was only asking a couple of questions as I wasn't aware in depth of your issue (to get a bit of background).

    Don't get your knickers in a twist ffs.
     
  13. ThEcLiT

    ThEcLiT Master Guru

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 460 1gb OC
    Soon new WHQL ?

    Patch notes

    Call of Duty: Black Ops

    * Shader Warming fix for compatibility with upcoming Nvidia driver
    * Additional stability improvements
    * Zombie levels DOA and Five unlocked
     
  14. wartexmx

    wartexmx Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RADEON HD 5650 1GB
    good drivers for me XP SP3 8800 GT
     
  15. The General

    The General Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    FirePro W5000 2GB
    These drivers work great with my new card. :)
    So i will stick with theses.
    Funny thing, i said that quadros were the best, well they were with my 9800gt, but no quadro driver works good with my 450.
     

  16. xankazo

    xankazo Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,839
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    EVGA 1060 SC (6GB)
    yes my friend. very good drivers. I haven't found better ones to replace it. :)
     
  17. The General

    The General Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    FirePro W5000 2GB
    Actually they don't work. GTA IV gives me weird looking colors and etc with the 260 drivers. I just use the Drivers on the Disc, to fix the problems.
     
  18. DarkUltra

    DarkUltra New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 470 1280MB
    I think i have the same problem. If there are a lot of HDD IO and cpu usage (premiere pro encoding video + opera paging in something from the pagefile) mouse lags far behind my movements and sometimes stops complete.

    The only difference I know is I have added som Windows 7 updates and are using 266.58 drivers.

    windows 7 64bit ultimate
    Core 2 Quad q6700 @ 3.2ghz
    gigabyte ga-965p-ds4 rev 1.0
    GeForce gtx 470 driver 266.58
    logitech mx518 setpoint 6.15.6
     

Share This Page