266.58 WHQL Out

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by burebista, Jan 18, 2011.

?

Better or worst than previous sets?

  1. Better

    64.4%
  2. Worst

    19.2%
  3. Same

    16.3%
  1. johnmambo

    johnmambo Master Guru

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX980
    So my performance in many games with these drivers is better, but in Dirt 2 its just terrible, i was running the game in 1080p full details with the last drivers just fine, but now with these drivers theres a huge performance drop.
    Anyway i like these new drivers, for most games its an improvement, but anyone have any hint for the Dirt 2 performance problem ?
     
  2. Sacrife

    Sacrife New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I play some FPS games at 1280x1024 on my 1920x1080 monitor because I want 75 hz.

    However, I want to have fixed aspect ratio but the option is not available for me because it recognizes the monitor as a HDTV/HDCP. So the only option I have is to resize the desktop which is not really helpfull.

    What do I have to do to turn on fixed aspect ratio? Or disable HDCP or whatever it is that's causing me not to be able to select that option?

    Using 9800GTX on Windows 7.
     
  3. funkmunky80

    funkmunky80 Member

    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Palit GF9800GTX+ 512MB
    Maybe he was looking at a lot of flesh? :banana:
     
  4. Jammed_Death

    Jammed_Death Active Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gtx560 TI Hawk
    can't play anymore with dead space 2...got error with "initializing video hardware" or something...

    played 2 days, no changes, now problems..

    :facepalm:
     

  5. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,754
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    Its not a lot really, mine hits 1GB+ daily when working ;)
     
  6. johnmambo

    johnmambo Master Guru

    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte G1 Gaming GTX980
    anyone ? :bang:
     
  7. The General

    The General Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,108
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    FirePro W5000 2GB
    These drivers perform better than the Quadro 265.90's. So i guess quadros are good, but not the best. Good Job Nvidia :)
     
  8. KingpinZero

    KingpinZero Master Guru

    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI Armor GTX1080
    quadros had awesome performance in dirt 2 with great overall on other games as well.
    I noticed a bit of downgrade with dirt 2 yes, but only on my old sli 9800m GTX (desktop 8800GT).
    With my GTX570 things are smooth enough, i mean, i cant really judge. Right now maxing everything out in ultra/dx11 im doing 106.66 as average.
     
  9. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080

    So you have a FullHD monitor (1920x1080) and you only play games in
    1280x1024)?

    1. 1280x1024 is 4:3 when you have a Wide-screen display and thats looks
    best on 1280x720 16:9.

    2. why do you want 75Hz on a LCD screen, you see no difference between
    60Hz and 75Hz on a LCD screen, and if you want higher Hertz buy a 120Hz
    LCD screen, they do not cost much.

    1920x1080 (FullHD) looks MUCH better then 1280x1024 or 1280x720.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011
  10. Sacrife

    Sacrife New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    That really wasn't helpful at all. I did not ask for an opinion. I asked for a solution as I know some people out there have the same problem.

    1. If you really must know. I specifically said i play some fps games. And 75hz is still 75 updates per second on the monitor while 60hz is well ... 60.

    On other games, I play in 1920x1080 as that looks best.
    One specific example:
    I play counter-strike with my friends from time to time and I have to play that game at 800x600 otherwise the spray/recoil from the gun is really weird (this is a known fact, one that every CS gamer knows). It's the way the engine is built, so nothing I can do about it.

    2. Also, 1280x720 would be a good option, but for some reason it doesn't support 75hz on my monitor, so thats out.

    3. And "Why dont you just buy a 120hz monitor" .... No comment there.

    4. Playing in a lower resolution also gives me a higher FPS which for me in the FPS games I play seriously on a high level matters way more than pretty eye candy. I want fluidity. My quake 3 looks like lego's and it's a reason for that.
    People have different preferences. Don't force yours on mine.

    However, I would still like the option to use fixed aspect ratio. On my older 1680x1050 monitor I can chose that option but it is disabled on my main monitor as it is detected as a HD TV or something.

    All I am asking is a way to disable that and/or enable fixed aspect ratio.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011

  11. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080
    Ow sorry, but your question does not make any sense.

    But i tested it just now on my computer and i can use 1280x720 on 75Hz
    without any problem, even 1280x1024 75Hz, only it looks like sh*t on
    1280x1024 on a Wide-screen (16:9) display.

    Just go to Screen Resolutions (thats not in NVIDIA Control Panel) and then set
    your Resolution on 1280x720 75Hz, or what you want on 1280x1024 75Hz and
    click Apply.

    Also do not forget to look in Advanced settings and then Monitors if it's on
    75 Hertz.

    Works perfect here.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011
  12. Sacrife

    Sacrife New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've tested it several times on my end here. My monitor simple does not support 75hz at that resolution, besides as mentioned above (edited post) some games I even play at a lower resolution where a 16:9 format is not an option at all.

    All I want is fixed aspect ratio :(.
     
  13. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080
    You can try one more thing, go to NVIDIA Control Panel then to
    Change Resolution then to Customize... and then Create
    Custom Resolution...
    and make you own resolution 1280x1024 and 75Hz.

    If you still cannot do 1280x1024 75hz like i had said, then i cant help you, then
    you have to wait for someone els that maybe have a fix for you, or look some
    more on the Internet or just buy a better Monitor.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011
  14. cricket bones

    cricket bones Master Guru

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    120
    GPU:
    EVGA 980 TI FTW
    1280×1024 is 5:4, not 4:3.
     
  15. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080
    OK, that still will not help this guy.

    But Sacrife have a Custom Resolution help t?
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011

  16. HaZe303

    HaZe303 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,944
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2070 Super
    With this driver, my GTX460´s wont go to idle mode. They are at 3d clocks all the time?
     
  17. cricket bones

    cricket bones Master Guru

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    120
    GPU:
    EVGA 980 TI FTW
    Things like MSN Messenger and having more than one monitor keep the clocks running full tilt.
     
  18. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080
    So they stay at GPU:675 MHz Shader: 1350 MHz Memory: 3600 MHz?

    On my computer they clock down to 2D mode.

    Geforce GTX 460 1:

    GPU: 50 MHz
    Shader: 101 MHz
    Memory: 135 MHz

    Geforce GTX 460 2:

    GPU: 405 MHz
    Shader: 810 MHz
    Memory: 1800 MHz

    My second Card will never go lower on this MB.

    Strange not with my Geforce GTX 460 Cards in SLI, they will stay in 2D mode
    when i use MSN or Firefox or listen to Music, only when i play clips in
    Youtube or look at movies he will go to 3D mode.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2011
  19. Gripen90

    Gripen90 Master Guru

    Messages:
    869
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    2x RTX 2080Ti SLi
    Any word on when a new official driver will be released ?
     
  20. cricket bones

    cricket bones Master Guru

    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    120
    GPU:
    EVGA 980 TI FTW
    I'm not at home at this moment, but now I want to switch off my second monitor to see how well my card clocks up or down and what makes it do so.

    The msn thing sticks in my mind as something that messed with my clocks, but it may have been the beta for the current one at the time I noticed it.

    In general, I do not notice 2d/3d clock problems because I have two 1080 screens and I'm always at full speed.
     

Share This Page