266.58 WHQL Out

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by burebista, Jan 18, 2011.

?

Better or worst than previous sets?

  1. Better

    64.4%
  2. Worst

    19.2%
  3. Same

    16.3%
  1. maleficarus™

    maleficarus™ Banned

    Messages:
    3,581
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX460 800/1600/4000
    Point is there blaming drivers when its not, its there hardware!!
     
  2. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    [​IMG]

    Lol, omg ...hahaha...wow.

    You all sound like a bunch of noobs waving imaginary e-peens around tbh....
    Why do some people feel the need to try and prove themselves when they first join a tech forum...??

    Jeez Louise...:3eyes:
     
  3. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Btw, back OT - have you heard or read anything about nvidia drivers causing a memory leak, cuz' I think I've got a bad one.

    PR went from 255mb up to 760mb in about 5 mins...
     
  4. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,923
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    70% say these are better. better than what? 260.99? that would be great, because those have been the best in a long time for my cards ...
     

  5. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080
    Yes it's the same with Mass effect 2, also capped at max 62fps.

    I got it in today Mass Effect 2, and i liked Mass Effect 1 better the Control
    was better, and i work t for The Citadel Council, and now for a terrorist, but i
    am just playing the game so many things can change, i looks better, but
    Controls are not so good as Mass Effect 1.

    Also no problems with the audio using Nvidia Audio with HDMI on a Samsung
    HDTV LED 40" TV.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  6. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080
    I have tested all Dolby Digital formats and also all DTS formats, and they all
    work perfect true HDMI using Nvidia Audio.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  7. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080
    Yes try the HDMI port 2 or 3 or 4, it's a know issue, that the HDMI 1 port can
    work bad with Computers on Samsung TV's.



    Wow thats a long time ago thats Sting, in the movie Dune (1984) good
    movie, i have him on DVD.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  8. Infinity7_00

    Infinity7_00 Banned

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVidia GTX580SC 1536mb
    In the past I've had a 40" Samsung LCD TV where it said right in the TV's manual not to use HDMI port 1 for a computer but to use either HDMI 2 or 3 for that.
     
  9. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Welcome to Guru3D....just ignore the idiots...;)
     
  10. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    Hmm, idk could be something with AA setting, its still kinda buggy with this set imo.


    @Aveon

    you can increase that cap found in engine.ini file
    bSmoothFrameRate=TRUE
    MinSmoothedFrameRate=22
    MaxSmoothedFrameRate=120 (this is 62)
     

  11. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    some one said yesterday that there was a memory l;eak wen using over 4xAA, just wanted a link to some info is all.

    Btw the last 2 or 3 driver installers haven't worked for me either.

    First I got a failed install, then "can't find file specified" error when manually updating. BUT I resolved that last issue by rebooting, after that it was no problem..
     
  12. Nomadspy

    Nomadspy Master Guru

    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Galaxy GT220 512MB GDDR3
    This is the only driver that makes my Black Ops to lag :biggun:
     
  13. jrolson

    jrolson Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    RTX 2060
    Just went back to the 260.99 drivers and running smooth again.

    And no more random stuttering in BC2...

    Dont use 266.58 if you play Bad Company 2 because they suck. They are suppose to increase performance for this game but they dont...
     
  14. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,495
    Likes Received:
    267
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    They do for lots of other people though, me included, BFBC2 was iffy for me with 260.99.
     
  15. Nomadspy

    Nomadspy Master Guru

    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Galaxy GT220 512MB GDDR3
    They are suppose to increase the SLI 500 series so they fock up everything else...
     

  16. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080
    They do not F*ck up everything else, i have 2x Geforce GTX 460 1gb and it
    works perfect, so i do not know why it's not good on your Computer.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2011
  17. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,495
    Likes Received:
    267
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    I meant they do increase performance with BFBC2 over 260.99, not that they don't.
     
  18. sudanmalkovich

    sudanmalkovich Member Guru

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX480 SLI 840/1680/4000


    Isn't one of TV's HDMI ports specially dedicated for PC use? (not the RGB one)
    Mine's also from samsung and it is HDMI port #1. Every other HDMI port could work as a PC connection but they don't guarantee it, well that's what the manual says.

    Anyway, my TV's a year old, so it can be different than brand new ones and maybe older models.
    Maybe he should find the PC dedicated HDMI port.



    EDIT; well, actually I don't remember whether port #1 or #2 is for PC :confused: Can't double check cause I'm at work right now...
    Anyway, there should be one for PC use, that's for sure.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2011
  19. Infinity7_00

    Infinity7_00 Banned

    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVidia GTX580SC 1536mb
    I just checked the manual for my Samsung LED TV and it says:

    ✎HDMI IN 1(DVI), 2, 3, 4, PC/DVI AUDIO IN
    xxWhen using an HDMI/DVI cable connection, you must use the HDMI IN 1(DVI) jack for video. A DVD, Blu-ray
    player, HD cable box, or HD STB satellite receiver may require a DVI-HDMI (DVI to HDMI) cable or DVI-HDMI
    (DVI to HDMI) adapter. The PC/DVI AUDIO IN jack is required for audio.
    xx If an external device such as a DVD / Blu-ray player / HD cable box / HD STB satellite receiver supporting
    HDMI versions older than 1.3 is connected, the TV may operate abnormally (e.g. no screen display / no sound
    / annoying flicker / abnormal color).
    xx If there is no sound after connecting an HDMI cable, check the HDMI version of the external device. If you
    suspect the version is older than 1.3, contact the provider of the device to confirm the HDMI version and
    request an upgrade.
     
  20. clawhamer

    clawhamer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 780 Classified
    Actually, if you play BC2 you should give these a try, solid, best performance yet here on the 580 and 470.
     

Share This Page