1st Witcher 2 review is IN!

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by sAAdC, May 11, 2011.

  1. Drunken Shooter

    Drunken Shooter Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,799
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    EVGA 2070 super FTW
    Hey guys what do you think about the dragon armor is it worth that 2300 orens or should I build the draug armor? I'm in chapter 2
     
  2. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,492
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    oh btw can someone rename this thread to Witcher 2 thread instead of it's current name? it's established itself as the main thread for the game and it's one of the top threads in the gaming section...
     
  3. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,492
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
  4. F1refly

    F1refly Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    970GTX-oc edition
    Does anyone know what happened to the Collectors edition? no one actually has it for sale. Amazon link takes you to the regular edition. Did they cancel it or what?
     

  5. Copey

    Copey Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,703
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    960 2GB
    Ive just beat the wraiths and trolls missions, pretty easy if you got somehalf decent gear, geralt is getting pretty potent now.

    Really good RPG i find, wasnt a huge fan of the first but this is pretty interesting.
     
  6. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,492
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    whatever happened to having to loot for your gear? the dlc gave me a lot better armour than I had. I would appreciate it a lot more if I found it after a boss fight. lame.
     
  7. Paulo Narciso

    Paulo Narciso Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    36
    GPU:
    ASUS Strix GTX 1080 Ti
    OK, some people already know this, but you should know that configurator program is broken and do not set ultra options despite you selecting them.
    You should open user.ini located in C:\Users\User name\Documents\Witcher 2\config and check if you settings are the same as this:


    [Rendering]
    AllowAntialias=1
    AllowBloom=1
    AllowBlur=1
    AllowCutsceneDOF=1
    AllowDOF=1
    AllowDecals=1.0
    AllowMotionBlur=1
    AllowRain=1
    AllowSSAO=1
    AllowScatterDOF=1
    AllowShafts=1
    AllowSharpen=1
    AllowVignette=1
    AtlasTextureDownscale=0
    DanglesLimiter=0
    DetailTextureDownscale=0
    Fullscreen=1
    MaxAtlasTextureSize=4096
    MaxCubeShadowCount=3
    MaxCubeShadowSize=2048
    MaxSpotShadowCount=3
    MaxSpotShadowSize=2048
    MaxTextureSize=2048
    MeshDistanceScale=1.0
    ShadowQuality=3
    ShadowedLights=3
    TextureDownscale=0
    TextureMemoryBudget=1000
    UberSampling=2
    VSync=1

    Pay special attention to TextureMemoryBudget because if it's set too low, there's some textures that don't load in the game. If you settings aren't the same as this, then you're not running at ultra.
     
  8. chanw4

    chanw4 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,362
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    NITRO+ RX6800XT SE
    Quen sign + dodging is good.
     
  9. JonnyCasino

    JonnyCasino Master Guru

    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1GB ATI 5650 Mobility
    Well despite the original failing to hook me this one kept me glued to the laptop from start to finish, really enjoyed it, it looks amazing even on my hardware, ran great and had zero crashes during the entire play through.

    Loved how the choices you make in this game felt like they were making much larger changes the following quests, characters and areas than they normally would in other rpg's, will definitely be giving this another playthrough with some radically different choices.
     
  10. sAAdC

    sAAdC Master Guru

    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX260M 1GB
    How does the game run on your laptop, and which setting have you turned off/on???

    Just wanna know the level of performance my lappie will offer in this game.
     

  11. Joohan

    Joohan Master Guru

    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus AMD Radeon R9 Nano
    Is "TextureMemoryBudget=1000" the right setting if you have 1gb memory on your gpu? Also does "UberSampling=2" mean ubersampling is off or on? If it means on, what number should I use to set it off?
     
  12. darrensimmons

    darrensimmons Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    95
    GPU:
    ZOTAC RTX4090AMPEXT
    Draut too hard to kill

    About to give up on the game as cant kill this stupidly hard boss, draut.
    Its such a stupid checkpoint(and boring)before it where it loads I just cant be assed to go through again and again just to get to the boss.
    What the FU.. am I doing wrong!:bang:
     
  13. Jkhan

    Jkhan Guest

    Am I the only one who finds witcher 2 boring compared to the first one ? They completely ruined the combat in this one. You can't even drink potions in the prologue for crying out loud :mad:. On top of that, there are some very ridiculous bugs & animation glitches going on :3eyes:.

    I've put off playing it for the time being.
     
  14. shimyns

    shimyns Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE r9 290x Tri-X OC
    I have everything set to Ultra except uber sampling and my file looks like this:


    [Rendering]
    AllowAntialias=1
    AllowBloom=1
    AllowBlur=1
    AllowCutsceneDOF=1
    AllowDOF=1
    AllowDecals=1.0
    AllowMotionBlur=1
    AllowRain=1
    AllowSSAO=1
    AllowScatterDOF=1
    AllowShafts=1
    AllowSharpen=1
    AllowVignette=1
    AtlasTextureDownscale=0
    DanglesLimiter=0
    DetailTextureDownscale=0
    Fullscreen=1
    MaxAtlasTextureSize=4096
    MaxCubeShadowCount=1
    MaxCubeShadowSize=256
    MaxSpotShadowCount=3
    MaxSpotShadowSize=512
    MaxTextureSize=2048
    MeshDistanceScale=1.0
    ShadowQuality=3
    ShadowedLights=3
    TextureDownscale=0
    TextureMemoryBudget=400
    UberSampling=0
    VSync=1


    I see differences in:
    MaxCubeShadowSize (256, not 2048)
    MaxCubeShadowCount (1, not 3)
    MaxSpotShadowSize (512, not 2048)
    TextureMemoryBudget (400, not 1000)

    [Uber sampling is off so I believe 0 is fine]. But what about these 4 settings I listed. Do you know why they are different? BTW, my card had 1 Gb (x2) VRAM.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2011
  15. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,223
    Likes Received:
    685
    GPU:
    Palit RTX 3080
    I'm about two hours into Act II but is level 30 the maximum because my XP is 30,151 yet the bar still shows as full between 29,000 to 30,000? I'd have expected it to read 30,000 to 31,000 and for there to be a tiny 151 bit filled in. Also I have only a third of the skills from the tree so it is disappointing to not be able to see many of them. If 30 is the max level then I presume I'm not far from the end as I've just rescued:

    Triss.
    I intend replaying the game once the second patch arrives this week but can you resume with Geralt using the same abilities as the previous endgame or does it reset to 0?
     

  16. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,867
    Likes Received:
    2,794
    GPU:
    Inno3d RTX3070
    it resets to 0. i did get a magical armor and hood. maybe i already was in my possesion, but with the no weight mod, i got so many items at the end hehe :)
     
  17. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,223
    Likes Received:
    685
    GPU:
    Palit RTX 3080
    I'm on the Epilogue now and level 31 so it looks like what I saw before was a minor bug. So sad to be nearing the end though. :(

    I've found a chest protected by a red magical shield but cannot work out the order of the runes to remove it. Anyone does this yet? I only found two of the four books to decipher the runes.
     
  18. JonnyCasino

    JonnyCasino Master Guru

    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1GB ATI 5650 Mobility
    [​IMG]

    Just noticed I had decals at medium, they were set to high for the majority of the game, must have changed to medium when testing which settings had the biggest impact in fps and forgot to return it to high afterwards, I noticed no fps difference between high and medium.

    Vignette also made no difference to fps I just don't like the effect, hated it in the killzone games too, but couldnt do anything about it there, same goes for motion blur, didn't really impact fps but again hated the effect.

    With the above settings I was getting 25 - 35 fps which felt smooth enough for me to enjoy an rpg.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2011
  19. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    29,867
    Likes Received:
    2,794
    GPU:
    Inno3d RTX3070
    yeah, i found 2 of those chest. unlocked the first one. didnt unlock the 2nd one. was totally guessing the combination. gave up eventually and finished the game ^^
     
  20. Black_ice_Spain

    Black_ice_Spain Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    5700XT
    no bug there, just use ordered statistics xD.

    Rune 1, rune 2 rune 3 rune 4
    Rune 1 rune 2 rune 4 rune 3
    Rune1 rune 3 rune 2 rune 4
    rune1 rune3 rune4 rune 2
    rune 1 rune4 rune 3 rune 2
    rune1 rune4 rune2 rune3

    Change rune1 4 times and you got it

    If you are mad, you can use a paper to check which combo you did alrdy and put numers left to right and its done xD

    Max 24 try :p, and use quen to protect yourself from failures.
     
    Last edited: May 30, 2011

Share This Page