197.85 WHQL Quadro driver released

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by Cybermancer, May 21, 2010.

?

How is this driver working for you?

  1. Better than previous drivers

    11 vote(s)
    78.6%
  2. About the same as previous drivers

    1 vote(s)
    7.1%
  3. Worse than previous drivers

    2 vote(s)
    14.3%
  1. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,345
    Likes Received:
    290
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    its working :)

    [​IMG]

    these Cards are added:

    i dont know how to add more cards :(
    anyway it works^^

    just rename it to .INF again..or just delete.txt

    greetz Beta


    Edit..

    haha, they run better then the 197.45 whql :) at least for the gluxMark2 bench..

     
    Last edited: May 22, 2010
  2. SuperBill

    SuperBill Master Guru

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Dual eVGA GTX 580's - SLI
    That's fine with me honestly. 2-3 fps isn't really a deal breaker these days and whatever tweaks are implemented probably don't impact performance across the board and could potentially cause problems somewhere down the line.

    If anyone singles out which strings cause the performance increases I'd be more than happy to try them though
     
  3. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    well yea true, but i know i could run better with one driver and all the sudden i can't, just by changing inf.. and that what bugs me the most..




    edit: lol 2 lousy numbers and it works i just installed two times on top, 1st time using laptop2go set


    [NVIDIA_SetA_Devices.NTamd64.6.0]
    %NVIDIA_DEV.0615.01% = Section001, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0615

    [NVIDIA_SetA_Devices.NTamd64.6.1]
    %NVIDIA_DEV.0615.01% = Section002, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0615

    and it didnt work, now with std from 197.45


    [NVIDIA_SetA_Devices.NTamd64.6.0]
    %NVIDIA_DEV.0615.01% = Section004, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0615

    [NVIDIA_SetA_Devices.NTamd64.6.1]
    %NVIDIA_DEV.0615.01% = Section003, PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0615

    works and detects direct compute:rolleyes:.

    although i forgot to use these numbers in his inf, i used normal nvidias and added it...maybe i can get that boost too in his inf with my numbers, now that i know direct compute issue :nerd:
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2010
  4. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    and yea like i thought, it doesnt work in his inf when i use my real strings 0004 and 0003..almost at the end there is a error and it closes the installer..

    here is what i mean look ar max fps, ok i know its nothing, but there is a bottleneck in orig inf..

    i get same fps with both drivers 197.59 and 197.87, dont mind older one..
    [​IMG]

    now using nvidia string and look at max fps
    [​IMG]

    anyway if you want directcompute then dont use his inf, use one these posted here, for example BetA13's :nerd:
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2010

  5. anth_15

    anth_15 Master Guru

    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 3080
    These drivers run great!
     
  6. madx

    madx Active Member

    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 550 Ti SC

    I agree these are great drivers, especially for GTA 4.
     
  7. Soundcreepy

    Soundcreepy Member Guru

    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY 780 Enthusiast 3gb
    so...does directcompute do anything major?.....i guess what im trying to ask is for gaming does directcompute give any advantages....im using the inf from laptop2go and see improvements in SCC over any other driver but i don't want any adverse effects by using one that doesn't work with directcompute
     
  8. Radical_53

    Radical_53 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,983
    Likes Received:
    107
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3
    I just modded this .inf like I always used to and 3D apps work just like direct compute. The driver doesn't look shabby so far, benchmark results were at least fine. I'll take a deeper look into it if the 256 driver doesn't appear tomorrow :D
     
  9. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]
    the only thing that's using DirectCompute is StoneGiant demo, so yea you're not missing much:nerd:


    EDIT: i reported this issue about directcompute @ Laptop2go he said he will look at the prob and try to fix it :)
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2010
  10. TheHunter

    TheHunter Banned

    Messages:
    13,408
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSi N570GTX TFIII [OC|PE]

  11. Soundcreepy

    Soundcreepy Member Guru

    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY 780 Enthusiast 3gb
    nice...might test the new inf out later....but if DirectCompute isn't used by much yet...i might just skip for now...most likely wouldn't have even noticed :)
     
  12. GanjaStar

    GanjaStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,149
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI 4G gtx970 1506/8000
    whenstarting nhancer after installing these drivers there's an error warning of some sorts.
     
  13. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,461
    Likes Received:
    253
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Just done some testing with these, no immediate issues so far, all games working as usual, haven't fully benchmarked anything yet, but from the looks of things, no decrease or increase in performance, but these will probably be keepers as unlike the 197.45/57 these don't have the HDTV 16bit Colour issue.
     
  14. spike21

    spike21 Member Guru

    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970CF 16@2133mhz
    I'm running this driver,and Arma2 went from around 30fps to around 60fps,the same refresh rate as my monitor.I knew something was messed up w/nvidia drivers,and this one confirmed it...
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2010

Share This Page