196.21 WHQL Breaks AB and Precision...

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion' started by HeavyHemi, Jan 19, 2010.

  1. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,251
    Likes Received:
    0
    No control of any GPU frequencies on Nvidia GPU's.
     
  2. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,901
    Likes Received:
    2
    Bad luck for NVIDIA owners then. Don't expect a quick fix. I'm currently busy with more priority tasks, have AlwaysTroublesInside GPUs in all my home PCs and won't be able to start even to investigate it within at least a week.
     
  3. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay. I'll pass that along. Thanks for the quick update
     
  4. burebista

    burebista Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,693
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's good to put it in signature. :roll:
     

  5. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,901
    Likes Received:
    2
    In meanwhile, can somebody with NVIDIA card and 196.21 run Afterburner/Precison with /BE (Build Emulator) command line switch? It will capture NVIDIA driver's API state into special emulator file called NVAPIEmulator.cfg. I'd like to see the contents of such emulator file, probably it will point out a quick solution.
    After doing that, don't forget to remove the emulator file, otherwise Afterburner/Precision will function in hardware emulation mode.
     
  6. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here ya go


    [GPU0]
    DeviceID=05E310DE
    SubsysID=12883842
    Revision=A1
    ExtDevID=05E3
    BusID=2
    BusSlotID=0
    GPUID=2000
    TemperatureGPU=34
    TemperaturePCB=29
    PerfFlags=3
    PerfLevels=3
    PerfLevel=0
    PerfLevel0Flags=0
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain08Clk=300000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain08ClkDef=300000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain08ClkMin=75000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain08ClkMax=600000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain09Clk=100000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain09ClkDef=100000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain09ClkMin=25000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain09ClkMax=1680000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain0AClk=600000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain0AClkDef=600000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain0AClkMin=150000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain0AClkMax=1200000
    PerfLevel1Flags=2
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain08Clk=400000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain08ClkDef=400000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain08ClkMin=100000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain08ClkMax=800000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain09Clk=300000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain09ClkDef=300000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain09ClkMin=75000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain09ClkMax=1680000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain0AClk=800000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain0AClkDef=800000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain0AClkMin=200000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain0AClkMax=1600000
    PerfLevel2Flags=4
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain08Clk=720000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain08ClkDef=720000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain08ClkMin=180000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain08ClkMax=1440000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain09Clk=1390000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain09ClkDef=1390000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain09ClkMin=347500
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain09ClkMax=1680000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain0AClk=1620000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain0AClkDef=1620000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain0AClkMin=405000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain0AClkMax=3240000
    FanSpeed=40
    FanSpeedDef=40
    FanPolicy=8
    FanPolicyDef=8
    FullName=GeForce GTX 285
    ShortName=GT200
    [GPU1]
    DeviceID=05E310DE
    SubsysID=12883842
    Revision=A1
    ExtDevID=05E3
    BusID=1
    BusSlotID=0
    GPUID=1000
    TemperatureGPU=40
    TemperaturePCB=34
    PerfFlags=3
    PerfLevels=3
    PerfLevel=0
    PerfLevel0Flags=0
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain08Clk=300000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain08ClkDef=300000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain08ClkMin=75000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain08ClkMax=600000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain09Clk=100000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain09ClkDef=100000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain09ClkMin=25000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain09ClkMax=1680000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain0AClk=600000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain0AClkDef=600000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain0AClkMin=150000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain0AClkMax=1200000
    PerfLevel1Flags=2
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain08Clk=400000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain08ClkDef=400000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain08ClkMin=100000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain08ClkMax=800000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain09Clk=300000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain09ClkDef=300000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain09ClkMin=75000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain09ClkMax=1680000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain0AClk=800000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain0AClkDef=800000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain0AClkMin=200000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain0AClkMax=1600000
    PerfLevel2Flags=4
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain08Clk=720000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain08ClkDef=720000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain08ClkMin=180000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain08ClkMax=1440000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain09Clk=1390000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain09ClkDef=1390000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain09ClkMin=347500
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain09ClkMax=1680000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain0AClk=1620000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain0AClkDef=1620000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain0AClkMin=405000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain0AClkMax=3240000
    FanSpeed=40
    FanSpeedDef=40
    FanPolicy=8
    FanPolicyDef=8
    FullName=GeForce GTX 285
    ShortName=GT200
    [GPU2]
    DeviceID=05E110DE
    SubsysID=12843842
    Revision=A1
    ExtDevID=05E1
    BusID=4
    BusSlotID=0
    GPUID=4000
    TemperatureGPU=42
    TemperaturePCB=37
    PerfFlags=3
    PerfLevels=3
    PerfLevel=0
    PerfLevel0Flags=0
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain08Clk=300000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain08ClkDef=300000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain08ClkMin=75000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain08ClkMax=600000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain09Clk=100000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain09ClkDef=100000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain09ClkMin=25000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain09ClkMax=1680000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain0AClk=600000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain0AClkDef=600000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain0AClkMin=150000
    PerfLevel0UnknownDomain0AClkMax=1200000
    PerfLevel1Flags=2
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain08Clk=400000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain08ClkDef=400000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain08ClkMin=100000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain08ClkMax=800000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain09Clk=300000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain09ClkDef=300000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain09ClkMin=75000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain09ClkMax=1680000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain0AClk=800000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain0AClkDef=800000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain0AClkMin=200000
    PerfLevel1UnknownDomain0AClkMax=1600000
    PerfLevel2Flags=4
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain08Clk=648000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain08ClkDef=648000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain08ClkMin=162000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain08ClkMax=1296000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain09Clk=1161000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain09ClkDef=1161000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain09ClkMin=290250
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain09ClkMax=1680000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain0AClk=1404000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain0AClkDef=1404000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain0AClkMin=351000
    PerfLevel2UnknownDomain0AClkMax=2808000
    FanSpeed=40
    FanSpeedDef=40
    FanPolicy=8
    FanPolicyDef=8
    FullName=GeForce GTX 280
    ShortName=GT200
    [DISPLAY0]
    Name=\\.\DISPLAY1
    DriverVersion=19621
    GPU=1,0
     
  7. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,901
    Likes Received:
    2
    From this dump it looks looks like NV changed clock domain IDs due to some odd reason (most likely there are more different clock domains coming in GF100 chips?). So it should be rather easy to fix.
    Under such conditions only shader clock control should be disabled in current Precision/Afterburner (I use domain ID checking for shader clock only and always treat the first two domains as core/memory clock domians). Is shader clock control slider the only clock slider disabled now?
     
  8. HeavyHemi

    HeavyHemi Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,251
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes the shader is the only one that is disabled and does not display frequency. If you try setting new clocks they return to their original values when you hit apply.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2010
  9. Wanny

    Wanny Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,480
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll follow this carefully. I need mah OCz + SLI support with Battlefield beta next week!!!
     
  10. pepi1974

    pepi1974 Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where did you find that drivers? on Nvidia page it is still 195.62 WHQL and 195.81 BETA
     

  11. Sieras

    Sieras Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,816
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get them here. Download links are in the first post.
     
  12. JEskandari

    JEskandari Master Guru

    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2010
  13. pepi1974

    pepi1974 Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I found it :)
    F5 solves problem :))
    Thanks
     
  14. theGryphon

    theGryphon Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unwinder will nail the solution soon, hopefully...
     
  15. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    12,901
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's absolutely expected with changed clock domain IDs, thanks for confirming.

    Which clocks are you trying to set? Without bumping shader clock core clock is limited by shader_clock/2. Don't think that NVIDIA changed anything besides that, try to boost core clock just a bit to stay within shader_clock/2 range,or change just the memory clock leaving core clock at defaults. Most likely it will work,
     

  16. upurz2

    upurz2 Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried what you suggested and still can't get the Shader slider to work. Unless I am misunderstanding your suggestion.
     
  17. kENSHu

    kENSHu Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having teh same problem here since i installed the 196.21 drivers... :<
     
  18. Hog54

    Hog54 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,031
    Likes Received:
    0


    It wont let you adjust memory clock even a little.As soon as you hit apply, it goes back to default.
     
  19. Wanny

    Wanny Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,480
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, can't even put +1 mhz, it will always go back to default. I'm not worried much for now since I'm not playing crazy intensive games like Crysis.
     
  20. civato

    civato Master Guru

    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    0
    Everest ultimate still reads all the clocks , so also the shader clock.
    But overclocking doesn't work any more , the voltage control is ok.
    Fan mode = ok
     

Share This Page