185.85 WHQL available

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by gjaegy, May 7, 2009.

  1. PhantomCracking

    PhantomCracking Master Guru

    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    7970 Ghz
    ..Well, i feel lucky, after reading through this thread.

    Decided to update since i was still running the 182.08 driver.

    So far, the 185.85's are working out pretty nice.
     
  2. Shaft2009bsc

    Shaft2009bsc New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce 260 (core 216)
    well 185.85 works good overall but i get crashes playing GTA 4 (game just stops and shuts down , even though my frame rates are above 30) any suggestions ? rollback?
     
  3. jindaman

    jindaman Guest

  4. Vichello

    Vichello Guest

    Anyone having problems with Fallout 3 with these drivers?
    When I use VATS to aim; its takes a while before i can select where to shoot ?; It zooms in, stutters a sec then its ok again, never had it on older drivers.

    Also, the music from the stations ingame are very bugged,
     

  5. exaslave

    exaslave Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA 560ti
    Those bugs are fallout 3 related not the drivers, the latest fallout 3 patch addressed the vats problem. And for the music if you are able to use Creative Alchemy try doing a profile for fallout 3 it will work 50% of the time (the other 50% just crashes after a few mins).

    That's been there forever in Vista, also Vista has no color graph which works perfectly fine in XP as well as apparently it caused issues too.
     
  6. Flyercan

    Flyercan New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Diamond/4850/512/CF
    Whats wrong with Aquamark3d to get a score to compare to? Yes it's old, but so are some of the games we still play with Nvidia graphics cards and if there are gonna be drivers released that hinder performance of older games and benchmark programs then they should know about it. As far as Aquamark being too old to use as a comparison, until 182.50 the scores of nvidia cards kept rising with it. Why, since these newer drivers, has the score dropped significantly? It's such a quick and simple benchmark. Nothing should make this benchmark go backwards. The strange thing about the test results are that it's not the GPU that drops the score, but the CPU. Why does an Nvidia driver make the cpu slow down? With 182.5 my cpu portion of the benchmark gets a score of 13,000 or so. Later drivers only get me a score of 5,000 or so.
    As for 3DMark06, the drivers didn't change a thing for me. I think newer drivers may have hindered my COD4 FPS, but I am not updating again for a while. I am back to 182.5 for now.

    Another subject I would like to ask about is if anyone has windows 7 64bit RC running in an sli setup? I have tried many things to get it working here to no avail. Works fine with one card, but when I install the second it just loads into a black screen after the windows logo display. I am not refering to my current machine by BTW.
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2009
  7. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080
    I have windows 7 64bit RC and i am running SLI just fine, meaby it is your older driver:)

    And all games plays good with newer drivers, Nvidia can not support all the old games a Programs for ever, they have to let the Geforce Cards work good with newer games.

    And if you want to play older games then just install the older driver, and sorry but, a little bit less FPS in older games is no problem, with newer GFX Cards, if he plays them 160FPS or 140FPS you can still play the old games without any problem.
     
  8. Flyercan

    Flyercan New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Diamond/4850/512/CF
    Nope. I installed the latest driver in that machine. Didn't realise the disadvantage till later. :p LOL.
    My setup is:
    EVGA 790i ULTRA, 2 XFX 9800GTX+ Black Edition 785MHz, G.Skill tri channel 6GB 1600MHz, Intel Pentium D 965 Extreme Edition Dual Core 3.73GHz. Oh and an Xion 1000WATT PS.
    Each video card works great alone, but both together don't work at all. :bang:
    Even an install of XP64 failed to work in sli. XP 32 is working fine. I used the drivers available online for windows 7 from the product site.

    Thanks though. Now that I know it's an issue here I will keep tryin.
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2009
  9. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080
    It is no issue, only you got that problem that SLI don't work.

    I know meany people that use Vista x64 and Windows 7 X64 and they all
    have no problems.
    - - - - - - - - - - - -- - - -- - - - - - - - -- - - - - - - - -- - - - - - -- - - -

    If you have Vista or Windows 7 then don't install nForce drivers, it can make problems
    and slowdowns, and Vista and Windows 7 don't need them.

    (Only with Laptops you need nForce Drivers)

    Also don't use the drivers from the CD or the Web site from Asus, but use the Drivers
    from The makers of your Audio chip and Geforce Chip.

    First uninstall the old drivers, then go to SaveMode and use Driver Sweeper to
    uninstall the rest of the files, that are still on your computer.

    Then install the new drivers and all works good.

    Driver Sweeper 1.5.5
    http://downloads.guru3d.com/Guru3D---Driver-Sweeper-(Setup)-download-1655.html

    Driver Sweeper 2.0.0 Beta
    http://downloads.guru3d.com/Driver-Sweeper-beta-2.0.0-download-2186.html
    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -- - - - - - - - - - - - - - -- - - - - - - -- - - -

    A lot of people have problems after installing the nForce drivers, so do not
    install the nForce drivers, i am using Windows Vista X64 for about 2 years now
    and without nForce drivers, and i have no problem at all, and i use Windows 7
    for about 2 a 3 mounts and also without nForce drivers, and it works like a
    charm.
    - - -- - - - - - - - - -- - - -- - - - - -- - - -- - - - -- - - - -- - - - -- - - -

    Also update your Spects, so that we can see what for system you have and can help you better.
    - - - - - - - - -- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -- - - - - - - -- - - - - - - -- - - -

    Also you must have identical cards, if not it won't work, or you get problems.

    Even if you got the same Cards but one is OC by the Manufacturer a little and the other one is
    not it won't work you get only problems, the best thing is to OC the other Card to the same
    Speed as the other one, or DownClock it to the same speed as the other.
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2009
  10. Flyercan

    Flyercan New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Diamond/4850/512/CF
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2009

  11. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080
    It looks like you MB is broke, i think your MB is the reason why it dos not work.

    I have a person hoe i help on the Asus Form and he have always black screens.

    But with a older Geforce Card he has no problem, so i think it's a MB problem.
    - - - - - - - - - - - -- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


    Have you try to update your Bios? if not then try this:

    With older Bios you can get a lot of problems.

    Also flash your Bios with a USB Stick and format the USB Stick to Fat32 and
    not with NTFS.

    Then put the Bios on the USB Stick and reset you computer, and then flash
    your Bios with the USB Stick in MSDOS or in your Bios .

    With my MB i can flash my Bios in the Bios with a USB Stick, with EZ flash.

    Thats the savest way to flash your Bios.


    You can also make your USB stick bootable, you can find the info here:

    http://www.filefactory.com/file/af0e5bh/n/HP_USB_Disk_Storage_Format_Tool_2_18_rar

    http://www.bootdisk.com/
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2009
  12. ryantt

    ryantt New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    back to 182.50 works like a charm .you guys should make a poll evey month of best drivers :)
     
  13. Flakman

    Flakman Master Guru

    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    gtx 1080ti
    +1 vote for the 182.50's ;)
     
  14. Flyercan

    Flyercan New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Diamond/4850/512/CF
    +1 vote for the 182.50's

    Another here...:)
     
  15. AmigaWolf

    AmigaWolf Master Guru

    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1080
    Another not here, i stick with this new driver, works like a charm.

    The strange thing is i NEVER have problems with drivers, they always work,

    I think it dos not work OK on other people there computer is, they are doing
    it wrong, or have hardware that is not totally OK with new drivers.

    So sorry for people it dos not work, better next time he.
     

Share This Page