13.1 Drivers with HD 4890 or..

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by agd900, May 6, 2013.

1. agd900

agd900 Active Member

GPU:
    Radeon HD 4890 XOC 1gig
  2. Danny Nissan

Danny Nissan Active Member

GPU:
    Radeon HD 4890 1GB
  3. gabrielinio_32

gabrielinio_32 Member

GPU:
    ati 4890+4870
    ati 4890 work in 3d ?

4. Radiopassive

Radiopassive Banned

GPU:
    Gainward HD 4870 1G
    Give 13.4 a try

The new Cat.13.4 seems stable, performance is sufficient - not having any real issue with them so the level of satisfaction has risen. The proverbial heads of AMD seem to be getting half-way out of their asses but I am no expert on this particular matter.

With 13.1 I've gone through tons of BSoDs (with prevalent atikmpag.dll issues) but it seems it was caused by some shady AMD HDMI driver which I promptly excluded during installation of 13.4.

Man don't I just loooooove those complete uninstallation processes of somehow faulty drivers with plethora of restarts followed by not only occasional BSoDs, unknowingly deleting important registry values in safe mode just "to be sure" every bit of previous drivers is pushing up the daisies, praying the "last known good configuration" to work etc..:infinity:

Jolly good moments..:bang:

5. kevsamiga1974

kevsamiga1974 Master Guru

GPU:
    EVGA GTX 580 SC
    The HDMI audio driver in Legacy 13.4 was changed from .7706 to 7708 (from out of catalyst 12.8 fixing the loss of audio on resume from sleep which was already available in 13.1R mod)

Use the HDMI driver from 10.6 if you have to for HTPC. (It's fine)

As for the driver itself, the changes in 13.4 are minimal at best and therefore no less crashworthy than either 13.1 or 12.6 (Try 3dmark 2013 cloudgate :) )

The atikmpag.sys of 13.4 is moreover the same and unchanged, with all the same clock bugs etc. Any driver past 12.3 is poor in DX10 crossfire for BFBC2.