The Witcher 3 driver

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by oGow89, May 11, 2015.

1. The Mac

The Mac Guest

GPU:
    Sapphire R9-290 Vapor-X
    dunno, im not a driver programmer.

just because the threads are busy, doesnt mean they are doing any actual work.

kind of like government employees...

lol

only thing i can say is it doesnt matter how much work you throw at the submission thread, it can only go as fast as it can go. Reducing the time (latency) it takes the batches to get accross the driver layer is the ony real option to increasing batch flow. Which im sure is what nvidia has done.

Last edited: May 15, 2015
  2. Fox2232

Fox2232 Guest

GPU:
    6900XT+AW@240Hz
    To be fair about TressFX, It runs adequately well to compute power of GPU as it is DirectCompute.
    Problem would be if AMD prevented TressFX to use GPU acceleration on nVidia which is not case here.

3. Noisiv

Noisiv Ancient Guru

GPU:
    2070 Super
    Exactly. But the issue was about Nvidia receiving final code in the last moment, just days before game release. Yet no drama, just an apology from Nvidia.

But if you replace DirectCompute with Tesselation, Tomb Rider with Crysis 2, and switch AMD for Nvidia - you'll see THE INTERNETS BLOW UP. With terrorist activity, literally!!
    From death threats to petitions for boycotting Crtytek/NV products. Remember that? All forgotten now that GCN has fixed VLIW slow-a** tesselation.

I know, I know... the key word is excessive, usage, right?
    Excessive is a relative term. What's excessive for you and me will be barely adequate for someone else.
    Global Illumination in Hitman and in Dirt Showdown is excessive for what it offers, yet again no drama when AMD does it.

Last edited: May 16, 2015
  4. theoneofgod

theoneofgod Ancient Guru

GPU:
    RX 580 8GB