Computer Freezing in Intensive games

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by CosmicThing2, Aug 26, 2014.

1. CosmicThing2

CosmicThing2 Guest

GPU:
    MSI HD7950 3GB
    I purchased an MSI HD7950 9 months ago from Scan and was very pleased with the service, the card has worked fantastically up until these last couple of weeks. Recently however, whenever I start up a graphically intensive game such as Battlefield 4 or WatchDogs, my computer will eventually completely freeze (usually around 15-20 minutes in) resulting in me having to force shutdown the computer everytime.

I am a Computer Science student and built the system myself, it has worked fine for 2 years, I installed the card 9 months ago when I bought it and again, it worked fine until recently. I have run a number of tests on my other hardware to check that nothing else is causing the issue including memory and processor tests. I have also installed and reinstalled the latest AMD Drivers from the offical website but this made no difference.

My Hardware is as follows:

I5 3570k
    16GB Corsair Vengeance RAM
    120GB Samsung SSD
    2 1TB HDD's (WD and Unknown)
    MSI HD7950 3GB GPU
    TX750 Corsair PSU
    Corsair Watercooling/Radiator

I'm 99% sure I haven't installed anything that would do this, I am running MSI Afterburner to monitor the GPU as I'm fairly convinced that this is causing it.

Any solutions or ideas about how to fix it? I've only had it for 9 months so I could probably contact scan for a replacement if need be. Or does anyone know any test programs that could tell me?

All help is appreciated

Thanks

(One thing I didn't mention, it only does it on intensive games, I can run things like Hearthstone, Dota 2 and Minecraft all absolutely fine with no freezing)

2. nhlkoho

nhlkoho Guest

GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    If you're using afterburner, what are your temps like when playing?

3. Veteran

Veteran Ancient Guru

GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20