SSD Makers start warning that Mining Products Like Chia Coin Will Void Warranty

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Apr 30, 2021.

1. Kaarme

Kaarme Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Nvidia 4070 FE
    Limited use policy is all around, and I've never seen it challenged. Although I'm not a lawyer, so naturally I don't actually follow such news. The most common example is perhaps when you buy any electric device/appliance. They very often say it's only meant to be used for domestic (at home) or equivalent purposes, not professional (industrial, commercial, etc). It's also not uncommon at all to find clauses stating that if abnormal use or poor maintenance is noticed upon item return, the warranty will be void and a service fee will be charged. I recently bought a new coffee maker. It had all of these clauses in the instructions leaflet. I don't think I'd win any court cases if I tried to challenge those specific points if I had clearly broken them.

Of couse I'm not saying an SSD manufacturer could forbid something after a person had already bought the thing.

2. k3vst3r

k3vst3r Ancient Guru

GPU:
    KP3090
    Pretty sure you can't change the terms and conditions of the product after it's sold to the customer. Lawyers will be rubbing hands in glee, it's like car manufacturer suddenly saying we won't warranty your car for it's 100,000 miles, because you took it off roading for few thousand miles, won't stand up against legal challenges.

Valken likes this.
  3. Venix

Venix Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Rtx 4070 super
    that's fine if the tbw reach the warranty limit then yes they did not even need to state that . What worries me is that they made that announcement in case someone say spend the 300 out of 600 tbw in a month and the drives break to use it to not honor the warranty .

4. Ssateneth

Ssateneth Member Guru

GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 980