question about sound in windows and linux

Discussion in 'Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats' started by anticupidon, Aug 4, 2011.

1. anticupidon

anticupidon Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Polaris/Vega/Navi
    hello fellows gurus!
    i am a noob when it comes to sound,i reckon from the start
    lately i started to listen more classical music and instrumental ....
    why i wonder there is such a difference in sound quality between windows and linux
    i use windows 7 pro and linux mint debian
    i may not have a dedicated soundcard but in windows sound is more,,,,clearer,crispier,better
    in linux with the latest alsa driver and sound tweaks ,sound is more ...muffled.
    now...cam anyone enlight me ?

again,escuse me for my noobishness

2. proteo

proteo Guest

GPU:
    PNY GeForce GTX560Ti OC
    Hi!

You would need to take a look at your Win 7 and Linux Mint audio settings, look if you have any enhancers, DSPs, number of channels enabled, Dolby PrologicIIx, virtual speaker, DTS Neo:pC or similar technologies enabled, bit rate and sampling, all this can change the way the sound is handled by your system.

Linux won't have all this options and the few that it does are hidden under more obscure settings in (sometimes hard to find) text files. Also the drivers can be responsible for the sound signature.

I have a dual boot system with Win 7 Ultimate and Ubuntu 11.04 (with some tweaked configuration files) and both systems sound different, on Win7 I have Dolby Headphone enabled, Ubuntu doesn't have this, but I managed to enable the Dolby Digital Live on both for the digital out (tip: A/52 encoder plug-in for ALSA). However, if I disable the Dolby headphone on Win and set everything the closest as possible between both OS, music sounds the same, this also happens with my laptop.

If you have a more specific question about Linux Audio, I can try to answer it or at least give you some suggestions.