Really dissapointed at Thermaltake. Pictures inside.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Rurouni Kenshin, Aug 31, 2005.

1. Rurouni Kenshin

Rurouni Kenshin Master Guru

GPU:
    evga 6800GT AGP 256MB @416/1179
    When i bought my Thermaltake PSU silent purepower 560W, i bought it because i had read really good reviews about it and i was about to get a 6800GT. So anyway, the PSU lasted for a year, now its dead, it stopped giving sufficient power to the components or something like that.

I work as a part-time electrician so i got curious and opened it up, I could not beleive what i saw. MY god man, is this suppose to be the work of a company with such a reputation? For some reason i feel cheated when i saw this, so i took some pics for you all to see. Even I that i was shown how to solder only 2 times, i can solder better than that.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Well i ended up buying a OCZ 520W PSU in the meantime.

2. Tom F

Tom F Ancient Guru

GPU:
    Saab 900
    That is truly shocking

How much solder do you wanna use?!

3. Rurouni Kenshin

GPU:
    indeed, not a good sight.

4. Altazimuth

Altazimuth Maha Guru

GPU:
    Sapphire Vapor-X 5870
    They probably did it to cope with the heavy currents flowing there, but it's not done very well.

Btw, I hope you were aware of the dangers of opening up the PSU, especially with all those solder connections exposed. Even though the capacitors should be discharged, it's still a bit risky.

Last edited: Aug 31, 2005

5. S_Kinton

S_Kinton Ancient Guru

GPU:
    512mb 8800GT & 22" Samsung LCD
    That the worst soldering ive ever seen. I could solder better than that when i did electronics at school at the age of 14!!

Also, you might have a 3 year warranty with that psu. Ring thermaltake or look at the guarantee leaflet that comes in the box for more info

6. play2lose

play2lose Ancient Guru

GPU:
    2 X Diamond 7970's